We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arusha's best kept secret accommodation..”
Review of Tumaini Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tumaini Cottage
Ranked #6 of 130 Arusha B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 14, 2010

I visited Africa again this time with a mission to go on a safari,celebrate my girlfriend's birthday and proposing to her.I have been to Tumaini cottage before and enjoyed so much ,so i had no doubt in my mind this will be the place i would go down on one knee.Andy and Lilian welcomed us with open arms once again,i had advised them what i had in mind and they came through for me.They arranged all the little details including rose petals all over the bed after i proposed.Thanks again guys you are #1 on my charts,me and my girl are grateful for you and anytime we come to Arusha Tanzania we know we have a place to stay.
Anyone looking for a clean,safe,secure,spacious rooms,friendly,excellent customer service,Hot water(Always),good food,beautiful garden and affordable place "This is it". We felt so welcome,so at home Andy even cooked some traditional food for us called "ndizi" which is bananas mixed meat mhhhhh!!! so tasty.Bravo to Lillian with all the food you cooked for us.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArushaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 173 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2010

If you're looking for a safe place, quiet, best service, big garden, clean rooms and just outside the busy centre of arusha, this is it. We stayed there more than a week, after the safari and after climbing the Kilimanjaro we just needed a home.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayra82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

My friends and I stayed at Tumaini Cottage for two nights before a safari in the Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the food was excellent, the service friendly and solicitous, and the prices reasonable. I would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a low-to-moderately priced accommodations in Arusha.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wl110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Tumaini Cottage was the perfect spot to stay on our way through Arusha to the Serengeti. It is quaint and charming and the owners treat you like long time friends. Owned by local Tanzania's, who know their Country through and through, Tumaini Cottages is a place you can feel good about supporting and a place that a makes you feel good for coming. The service is personable and the food is stellar, from hand picked coffee beans picked by the owners themselves, to the fresh Avocados and Mangoes that grow just outside your rooms porch, Tumaini Cottages is a place to remember. Highly recommended for any length stay in Arusha.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honuzenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Beautiful grounds, quiet neighborhood, and picturesque view of Mount Meru just a few minutes from downton Arusha! Every morning we had a wonderful breakfast of fresh tropical fruit, toast, eggs, sausage, and the finest Tanzanian coffee. There were fresh linens, towels, and room service everyday. Andy, the owner, was always accesible and desired to help his guests anyway he could. Far more than a guesthouse, Tumaini Cottage is a home away from home!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kharns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I spent a couple nights here recently, and I could not be more pleased. The owner, Andy, and his wife will take care of you. The rooms are lovely, and all come with hot water and mosquito nets. The food they cook is great. You can have all your meals here if you wish. There is also internet access. Oh, and you get to have great conversation with Andy about all sorts of things.

The hotel is a little hard to find, but it's well worth it. When you are in Arusha, be sure to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarad2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed at Tumaini Cottage in Oct 2009 for 2 nights. The owners were very friendly, hospitable and helpful. Breakfast and dinner were delicious, rooms very clean, with mosquito nets. The property is app. 15 mins drive from Arusha town (you can easily arrange a taxi), in a quiet, secured area. We would definitely recommend this place to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matangi_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
0.0 mi away
Christina House
Christina House
#8 of 130 in Arusha
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
White House of Tanzania
White House of Tanzania
#2 of 130 in Arusha
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
613 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tumaini Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tumaini Cottage

Address: Sakina Area, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range: $50 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tumaini Cottage accommodation is located in Arusha Tanzania Sakina area, our cottage has 8 en-suite rooms offering single, double and triple rooms all with a TV, a refrigerator, comfortable beds & pillows, hot and cold water, large size bathroom etc.Mbalamwezi restaurant offers Ala Carta made to order menu includes fruits, fresh squeezed juices,delicious African and international cuisine.Our Boma conference facility offers a wide range of meeting services for Ngo's and startups available on 24 hour notice.Airport pick up is an option for a separate charge, free breakfast, free Wi-Fi internet, free parking, free safari/mountain climbing consulting and booking for our confirmed guests in Arusha.Welcome to our home, our city and our country. Enjoy Tanzania "Hakuna Matata. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing