We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location just outside of Arusha”
Review of Tumaini Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tumaini Cottage
Ranked #6 of 126 Arusha B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. Andy the manager was very hospitable, rooms were clean, shower was very good and it's quiet. The only downside is the location is a little out of town but it's only a cheap taxi ride away. Andy also helped us organise an excellent last minute safari.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finddom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tumainicottage, Guest Relations Manager at Tumaini Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Hello from Tumaini Cottage Arusha accommodation family,We are glad you got home safe? Thanks for enjoying your Arusha Tanzania stay,we are glad we could help make it better and satisfactory with connecting you with a reliable tour company, provide clean rooms and our hospitality.You always have a home in Tanzania now and hope to see you,family,friends should they touch down at "The land of mount Kilimanjaro" .Till we meet again...."Hakuna Matata"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 170 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

A very friendly welcome by the owner and his family. He picks you up at the airport if you want and a nice home cooked meal is waiting for you on arrival. Clean rooms and nice garden. Very good place to start your African adventure with.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reau_Reau77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very nice place for our plans near Arusha: Mount Meru and Kilimanjaro. Andy took me at Kilimajaro airport at 04h. Good meal for breakfast and for dinner. Very friendly. They allowed us to leave our baggage when we climbed Mount Meru and Kilimanjaro and when we enjoyed a 3-day safari.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We arrived in the early evening after being delayed on our journey; Andy, our host, met us with drinks of fresh fruit juice to refresh us after our travels. We enjoyed the hot (!) showers and then a light supper as we were too tired for anything more.The staff are very helpful and friendly and make you feel welcome straight away.
The following day Andy kindly offered us a lift into town as he was taking his wife in and then showed us where we wanted to go in Arusha centre, which was very helpful and kind of him.
The accommodation is very clean and fresh but a bit out of town; if you want to pop in and out of the centre you will need a taxi, or catch a Daladal as we did,which drops you on the main road not far away

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here after our safari - we were very warmly welcomed by Andy with fresh mango juice and looked after well by the attentive staff. The room was lovely and clean, but the shower was amazing - so warm and powerful (so powerful in fact that the shower cubicle got slightly inundated!). The food was really tasty - I had fish and chips - and breakfast was good too. It's a bit out of the way, but was great for our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bod123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here before and after our safari as a couple. Was great to come back to a very clean room, great showers etc. Andy was a very welcoming host and wanted to know every detail about our stay.

Ate dinner one night which was fairly disappointing and quite expensive. Next time I would always go to one if the recommended restaurants or via via. Breakfast was good however with some fresh fruit and eggs.

Overall, a good stop over and would go back although not for dinner,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gjy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We (a group of four, female) loved this place! Upon our arrival on 1 June 2013, we were greeted by friendly staff with fresh mango juice. The porter was very helpful. Later on, to our great surprise and joy, a local family came here to hold a wedding. Beautiful!

Andy is soft-spoken, polite and friendly. Rooms are spotless clean. We especially appreciate the nice and hot shower. Food is varied and delicious. The waiter is considerate and polite, always greeting you with a big smile.

Thank you for a wonderful stay. Take care, everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 43 in Arusha
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
0.0 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#7 of 126 in Arusha
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Outpost Lodge
Outpost Lodge
#8 of 126 in Arusha
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tumaini Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tumaini Cottage

Address: Sakina Area, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range: $50 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tumaini Cottage accommodation is located in Arusha Tanzania Sakina area, our cottage has 8 en-suite rooms offering single, double and triple rooms all with a TV, a refrigerator, comfortable beds & pillows, hot and cold water, large size bathroom etc.Mbalamwezi restaurant offers Ala Carta made to order menu includes fruits, fresh squeezed juices,delicious African and international cuisine.Our Boma conference facility offers a wide range of meeting services for Ngo's and startups available on 24 hour notice.Airport pick up is an option for a separate charge, free breakfast, free Wi-Fi internet, free parking, free safari/mountain climbing consulting and booking for our confirmed guests in Arusha.Welcome to our home, our city and our country. Enjoy Tanzania "Hakuna Matata. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing