We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to be on cheap budget but safety first”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Aquiline

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Aquiline
Ranked #67 of 101 Arusha B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to be on cheap budget but safety first”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

I was on my way to Dar i decided to stay in Aquiline ,Food and accomodation was great , Nice East african hospitality the rooms were okay for me,, I stayed in room 204 and then 206. Both are standard singles with large bed, TV, refrigerator and hot water shower. A breakfast buffet is included, The location of the Hotel is not that ideal As most tourists do not stay in this part of town, you will not be accosted by touts, as happens in Arusha center

Room Tip: Never choose rooms near the dIsco its really noisy and not good if you value your sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
5
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

stayed at the hotel for 3weeks, they have a good service but most of it its night club on top hahahah! excellent music

Room Tip: room no 204,206
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights after getting back from safari. I wish we had stayed in it earlier when we were looking for a safari, but, before arriving in Arusha, we were put off as it is on "the wrong side of town", and beside the bus station. In fact, this did not turn out to be a problem. The advice is always to take a taxi at night so It does not matter where you stay (as lomg as taxis are available). This is a more interesting area during the day, and taxis are cheap and can take you wherever you want to go. Arusha is not so big, so there is little more than 20 minutes walk away. The restaurant balcony is a pleasant place to have a beer and watch the life at the bus station.

The hotel is modern, as described on the website, and very good value. There is internet available in the rooms if you bring your own computer. They will supply the cable if required, though a technician has to initialize the connection (no charge). It was great to get back to the internet after safari.

We booked after visiting several hotels in the area and comparing them. This was the one we chose. Their website is a bit irritating (music, fancy effects) and the food service is not very quick, but that is normal for the region. Excellent fish, though we were quite far from a sea or lake. When we arrived, the room we were initially given lacked some of the facilities of the one we had been shown (fridge, I think). We were instantly moved. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2009

The Aquiline Hotel is located in the center of Arusha, directly opposite the long distance bus station. It could be a noisy location, but the soundproofing is good. Security is also good, important in a city like Arusha where there are so many touts trolling for customers on the city streets.
The hotel is quite new, the rooms very nicely appointed, a decent size and very clean. The bathroom had a very fancy multi jet shower, but the shower door was stuck in the open position!
The restaurant serves decent food at appropriate prices.

The Aquiline is a good choice if you just need a central place to stay for a night, or if you are in Arusha on a business trip. I paid 53,200 TSh for a single room including breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.3 mi away
Meru House Inn
Meru House Inn
#16 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Naura Springs Hotel
Naura Springs Hotel
#31 of 42 in Arusha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Joshmal Hotels
Joshmal Hotels
#61 of 101 in Arusha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rich Hotel
Rich Hotel
#26 of 101 in Arusha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Dagnec Lodge
#64 of 149 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aquiline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aquiline

Property: Hotel Aquiline
Address: Zaramo Street | Main Bus Stand, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aquiline 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aquiline lies in the heart of Arusha City. Whether you are coming for business or pleasure, Aquiline is the best option for your stay. Accessing Major National Parks, Mt. Kilimanjaro and Mt. Meru is the easiest. The Hotel is just 45 minutes drive from Kilimanjaro International Airport and ony 10 minutes drive from Arusha Airport. It's located between Main Bus Stand and the Central Market, this makes it the best choice if you are intending to explore Arusha commercial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Jovago.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aquiline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing