We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Arusha
from $1,050.00
More Info
from $288.00
More Info
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveler rating
169
65
20
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
169
65
20
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews precious stone mine shaft beautiful gem informative tour loose stones short documentary small museum no pressure to buy great place to learn blue stone beautiful pieces buying something arusha coffee lodge great museum short visit shopping experience well worth the visit
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 259 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

The Masai Mara experiance is so fulfilling & then when you cross over into the Serengetti the story is un-ending......
The beaty & the beast are captured so perfectly that you are mesmerized & the memory is stuck up high that only another trip to Africa can sub due it.
Africa specially Kenya & Tanzania can never ever be erased from my memory they remain as the strongest ever recorded on my travels.
Loved Every Moment of It.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank jude leo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzanite E, Guest Relations Manager at Tanzanite Experience, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Hi there,

That is a lovely review about your experience in Tanzanian wildlife! However, you may have gotten the wrong page.

We deal with the gemstone Tanzanite and have museums and stores where visitors get to experience the process by which Tanzanite is extracted from the mine, how it's cut and polished and finally how it is set in beautiful jewellery.

When you visit Tanzania in the future it will be our pleasure to welcome you at the Tanzanite Experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

We were met by a very friendly and knowledgeable staff who gave us a tour and told us the history of tanzanite. They offer a nice selection of certified loose stones as well as jewelry. Between the video, tour of the mock mine, and looking at the different items for sale, we spent around 1.5 or 2 hours there. They have a wide range of styles and prices, ranging from $$$ to $$,$$$. They take credit cards though so no worries.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank JandTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzanite E, Guest Relations Manager at Tanzanite Experience, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Hi there,

It's so delightful to hear from you, we do appreciate your having taken the time out to leave us a review!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to welcome you once more in the future.

Thanks :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

We escaped from totes and men constantly hassling us, to this place that was cool, clean and well run. The staff were professional and courteous and we were offered free coffee or cool water. The water was a welcome refresher coming in from the heat and dust.
We were shown into a cool room to watch a video of the history of Tanzanite which was interesting. We wandered out to look at the very bling jewellery and were offered a further tour by Theresa. She was very thorough and passionate about the subject as well as polite and warm.
She showed us through the tour and then back to the jewellery which was way out of our league. She didn't pressure us at all and was so nice.
She even gave me a small gift of some tiny rough stones (not precious) and when I offered to pay her for all her help and the gift she simply asked that I review her place of business.
We asked her to recommend a restaurant for lunch and she actually walked us to the place, which was amazing as you don't get hassled by totes when with a local. The place she brought us is known as a good eatery that is safe for our delicate Western tummies. She did this out of kindness and for no reward. I pushed a note into her hand anyway as of all the people we've met and tipped, she had been by far the kindest and most generous.
The museum is well worth a visit. Very interesting to learn how this precious stone was discovered and is mined. And if you have money, the jewellery is worth a look. Tanzanite is 1000 times more valuable than diamonds so the price is probably quite acceptable if you're in that market

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank happygolucky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzanite E, Guest Relations Manager at Tanzanite Experience, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Hi there!

We are so very delighted to hear from you, we greatly appreciate your detailed review!

I'm sorry you didn't have the best experience whilst you were about the town and we are glad Theresa kindly offered to show you around :)

Thanks for sharing your words of appreciation for the beautiful and rare Tanzanite and we hope to welcome you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

Our guide brought my fiancé and I here on our first day in Tanzania. This exhibit was very interesting and the lady who gave us the tour was phenomenal. The end-game is to get you to buy some tanzanite but they are not pushy about it and are very respectful. Worth checking out if you have a day to spend in Arusha.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Sandsman1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzanite E, Guest Relations Manager at Tanzanite Experience, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Hi there!

Congratulations on your engagement and we are so delighted you stopped by to leave us a review!

It's our pleasure to make customers feel as comfortable as possible when they visit us and we are glad you felt so!

Thanks :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

I visited the tanzanite experience with 2 friends and wanted something special for my birthday. The staff (& my friends) were extremely helpful and knowledgable about tanzanites. They helped me choose a very special stone and explained everything about tanzanites....and I couldn’t be happier! We also got great coffee!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank mitalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzanite E, Guest Relations Manager at Tanzanite Experience, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Hi Mital,

Thanks so much for your detailed review!

We are so glad that you enjoyed and it is our pleasure to take our guests around and share with them the legacy of Tanzanite! 

We hope your stone will serve as a lifelong reminder of your Experience with us!

Karibu sana to you and your friends :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews