We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed in this hotel two years back. Its very neat and clean. I am a vegetarian and the chef cooked specially some very good Indian Punjabi food. The rooms are very nice and spacious. The staff is also very courteous. Great stay in a far and secluded place like this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hitenmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    235
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
223
336
56
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Near the Adirondacks in NY
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our tour companies, Africa 2000 Tours and Infinite Horizon, were the ones that suggested this hotel for our stay before and after our Meru hike and we were totally pleased. The service was outstanding and the rooms were extremely clean. We were pleasantly surprised on the large size of the rooms, including the upgraded mini-suite that we were given after our hike. The staff in all parts of the hotel were friendly and willing to help us with anything. The dining room offers some wonderful breakfast and dinner options. Internet is available in the business center near the lobby. We were able to have laundry done very quickly before we headed out to our safari. Would certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1adklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I stayed at the African Tulip Hotel with a group of eleven people. The hotel accommodations were wonderful. We felt like we were in colonial Africa with staff ready to meet our every need. Hotel management was visible and ready to help when needed. Check-in was easy, rooms comfortable, bathrooms large and well equipped. We didn't use the pool but it was lovely. Laundry was quickly done and returned to our rooms. The dining room food was great with a emphasis on Indian cuisine. Dining room staff were professional and pleasant to be around. Overall, a great hotel. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Both rooms were fine. The neighborhood can get noisy with construction during the day but overall t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathyadamsclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed at the African Tulip for 2 nights on either side of our safari. The hotel was recommended and booked for us by Roy Safaris (I have written a review on this company too).

On arrival, we were greeted by friendly welcoming staff, headed by the General Manager, Mr Anuj Sharma. As we registered, Mr Sharma told us we had been upgraded to the family suite, which turned out to be really spacious with a lounge area which had coffee/tea making facilities and 2 bedrooms, which were immaculately clean.

We used the hotel restaurant that evening and the food was really excellent - we mostly chose Indian from the menu. The restaurant manager, Anil was always at hand to ask for anything, or make any requests for special dietary requirements. The staff in the Bar were fantastic,

On our return from safari, we received the same hospitality, were given the same family suite and the staff were pleased to see us back!

As we had been away for almost a week, we were all craving for a really spicy curry. This was not a problem said Anil, and got the chef to come and talk to us about our requirement. I described the type of curry we wanted and which ingredients he should use. A couple of hours later, our wish was completed. The chef even paid us a visit at the table to ensure we were happy with the food.

A couple of examples of the exceptional service they provide. On two seperate occasions, we had forgotten to pick up some valuables as we left the dining/pool area. On both occasions, the staff rushed to us and handed over the forgotten items.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but if your are starting/ending your safari in Arusha - consider the African Tulip and I am confident you will not be disappointed. The service and the staff are exceptional. The only negative is they charge $10 for WiFI per day, but on a positive side, there is a computer room, which has free access to the internet.

Room Tip: For a family of 4, ask for the family suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DineshLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in July 2014. Room assigned was clean, large & bright. Bathroom also clean & large. Very pleasant & helpful staff. Indian dishes in dining room excellent & service very good. Staff seemed to be interested in one being happy. Wifi is free if one uses the internet room next to the desk. I had some difficulties with wifi but staff did everything to assist me. It worked very well. Would certainly recommend the hotel. Friends who have been there also loved it.

Room Tip: I have no knowledge about best room. Mine looked out into garden & swimming pool and was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabi131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We landed at KJO in Arusha on a Wednesday evening. Our safari company arranged for transportation from the airport to the African Tulip Hotel. It was dark at 8pm, so it was nice to have the prior arrangement. Upon arrival to the hotel, the front desk staff and owner Mr. Sharma were there to greet us and ensure we had a good stay.
The dining room is super, the breakfast buffet was great with many options! The outdoor patio area also has a pool and snack bar. The staff was so accommodating on our second night by arranging fire pits for us. Dinner is not a buffet, but self selected, and still preferred over eating out in the city.
The Heritage Cultural Center was a 20 minute drive away and a nice sight. The hotel has 4 computers in the lobby with 24 hr internet service. Staying at The African Tulip Hotel was a good layover before embarking on the safari.

Room Tip: Corner suites are spacious, good for families traveling. For couples, a room on the side is nice too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsalehbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel was perfect for the night we stayed before the safari and after for timing purposes. They were so attentive and welcoming. Hotel towels and welcome beverages were a lovely way to arrive. The beds were hard (as they are almost everywhere), but the hotel was very nice. The staff was incredibly helpful. The managers were so attentive to making sure we were happy. The night after the safari, we were actually upgraded from two double rooms to a suite with a common area where we could sit on couches private to our rooms. That was a nice touch! There was an ATM down the road which was convenient, and the manager had a security guard accompany us (which they assured us it was safe, it was just a precaution and we appreciated that). The restaurant was really nice and the food was very good. Christopher in the restaurant was especially wonderful! The only thing that would have been better was if there was wifi in the rooms for free. We weren't staying more than a couple of hours and then to sleep, basically, so we didn't want to spend the $10 on a 24 hour block of wifi. They did have a little computer room, but it would have been easier after traveling 24 hours from New York to just have wifi. Other than that, it was great!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sloane15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
572 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
433 reviews
1.1 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#9 of 42 in Arusha
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 42 in Arusha
386 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 42 in Arusha
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Property: The African Tulip
Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing