We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The African Tulip
Nearby Hotels
$204
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$115
$112
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$280
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kigongoni Lodge(Arusha)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$160
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,118)
Filter reviews
1,118 results
Traveler rating
829
262
22
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
829
262
22
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroy safarisbaobab restaurantanuj sharmawindow seatthe general managerboutique hotelno elevatorindian dishesbeautiful hotelpool barbaobab treethe hotel managerwould highly recommend this hoteltwo nightsspacious roomsafari tripbreakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
673 - 678 of 1,118 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The African Tulip for one night before beginning our safari and then again at the end with day room use while awaiting our late international flight. It's the perfect spot for transitioning to and from safari and represents very good value given the cost of many others in Arusha. The location is excellent if you're catching an early morning bush flight out of Arusha Airport. The hotel is beautifully designed with attractive, comfortable common areas; the staff is very welcoming; the rooms and baths (supplied well with all amenities) are large; the beds are great; and it is immaculate. There's a lovely pool amongst a garden to the rear of the hotel that would provide a nice spot to recoup from jet lag on a layover before going on safari. All around, top notch!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SH208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here one night before climbing Kilimanjaro and were pleasantly surprised at the convenience, comfort, great service and food. The rooms are spacious and very quiet, considering how close to town the hotel is. The restaurant has an excellent variety of food, from meaty hamburgers to fantastic Indian dishes, in a modern well-run setting. The bathrooms appear to be recently updated and were spotless with a good towel supply and reliable hot water. What stood out the most to me was the service. The hotel management greeted us on arrival and made sure everything we needed was taken care of. They were very accomodating and secure-conscious with our leave-behind items while we were climing Kili. It's a great, convenient, and affordable little hotel that's comfortable with impressive service and food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBNYC2DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Clean and large rooms. Spacious and modern bathrooms. Shared suite with sizeable common area with travelling companions, which added to our enjoyment. Staff very accommodating and friendly. Tasty and very appetizing menu. I would stay there again and highly recommend the African Tulip.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PabloB040646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very friendly staff who go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Nice spacious rooms and the pool is very nice, especially if you have kids. Great hotel to start of your safari! Nice indian food.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had 3 nights in the African Tulip at the start and end of climbing Kilimanjaro.
The hotel is very well presented, elegant restaurant and bar, good sized air conditioned rooms, with a swimming pool and pool bar. The real strength of the place is the enthusiasm and helpfulness of the staff. We had numerous examples of the assistance the manager and his staff gave to us, from accommodating us with food and drinks when we arrived very late on the first day, to allowing us to keep out rooms late to check out, running breakfast late for us the day we came off the mountain, and even offering to walk us to a local restaurant when we were unsure of directions. The hotel breakfast and evening menu was good, and the business centre gave us wifi connection. The hotel was around 15 minutes walk to the centre of Arusha

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyDivOvenGloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews