We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start or end your Safari”
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed two nights after a fabulous safari and was overwhelmed by the warm welcome and the service provided all over the hotel. They knew my name and always asked if we needed anything else. Rooms are very spacious with TV and kettle and hot water.
Food is plenty and lots of choice. But what is absolutely outstanding is the service, wether that be at the reception, restaurant, bar or in the rooms. It is a home away from home and I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
There are newer reviews for The African Tulip
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 983 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

Spent 2 nights here having been met at Kili Airport prior to starting a safari with Roy. Very comfortable rooms and helpful staff. Enjoyed New Years Eve party with a barbeque that was quite different!
Breakfasts were good with plenty of selection.
Management was very attentive and we appreciated that as you normally do not see them in an hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Habari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The African Tulip's number one priority is customer service, we stayed for a number of nights before and after Kilimanjaro expedition/safari and always enjoyed the welcome they gave us and the friendly assistance. In fact, we very much looked forward to coming back. The rooms are large and spacious and fully equipped - we could not have wanted more. The bar/restaurant are also very good. We would definitely come again, excellent accommodation!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MorganCharlotte23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This boutique hotel is delightful and very accomodating. The rooms are very well appointed, the swimming pool very relaxing, the dining both breakfast, lunch and dinner is very tasty. The staff is very helpful.

If there was anything that could be better it would be free internet although $10 a day is affordable, but with everyone using internet/wifi these days, it would do better to just be a part of the stay and not an add-on.

I would stay there again with out any hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terri_watson_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

UNBELIEVABLE rooms. After a grueling 8 day climb, we had a beautiful bathroom decked out with a huge walk in shower and a huge bath tub. The beds were great! HOT WATER all the time! FLAT SCREEN TELEVISION- that worked! The two prior sentences were a HUGE problem for others in climbing group - as they were staying at different hotels. So, we were sitting in luxury, if you ask me. PERFECT FOR POST MOUNTAIN. We stayed here a total of 4 nights. The food was fantastic. STAFF (especially the restaurant and hotel manager) were unreal. They loved us & we loved them for loving us. Great A/C as well! Provided abundance of water bottles.
The pool is great for relaxing. SO QUIET and PEACEFUL!
Also, the hotel is only a 2 minute walk away from the city center where the Maasai Market, and numerous other attractions are.

Room Tip: Top Floor for views!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeeMee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at the African Tulip before and after our safari and appreciated our stay. The hotel is comfortable. The food at the baobab restaurant was good and the kindness of the hotel staff was appreciated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arguimbau S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Following a 7 day climb up Mt. Kilimanjaro, The African Tulip (Luxury, boutique hotel) was exactly what I needed to seal a perfect trip. Upon checking in, it was evident that the staff's #1 priority was their hotel guests. I stumbled upon this little gem enroute to another hotel. The entire experience from check-in to check-out was sheer perfection. They gave me the option to pay in USD or shillings. The concierge greeted me with a refreshing beverage upon checking in.

The suite which I stayed in was immaculately maintained, spacious and included a balcony overlooking the pool. Water pressure and temperate exceeded my expectations in the shower. The WiFi was active 24 hours/day and speedy too. The food which was served at breakfast was fresh and frequently replenished. More importantly every staff member was pleasant with a seemingly positive attitude and willingness/eagerness to accommodate.

I look forward to my next visit in October so that I can stay at The African Violet. It's a bit pricey, but worth every penny. Furthermore, there's a Barclay's bank across the street which makes financial transactions fairly easy to process.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTWigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
590 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
462 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#5 of 43 in Arusha
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 43 in Arusha
266 reviews
11.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: $228 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing