We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to start the safari and good comfort to end.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good place to start the safari and good comfort to end.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at African Tulip – the hotel owned by Roy Safaris. Our stay was very pleasant and comfortable.

The rooms were clean, spacious for a family of 4 (we had 2 queen beds) and bright with huge windows. Bathroom was very clean and spacious.

A special mention about food is required. Food was fantastic and we did not feel that we are out of our home country. We will not forget Mr. Anuj Sharma the General Manager and his other colleagues, for their wonderful support to our requirements.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sethuraman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    215
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
197
312
46
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clive, Iowa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The African Tulip Hotel is an outstanding boutique hotel in Arusha and a perfect jumping off spot for a safari with Roy Safaris. Our group from Iowa found this hotel an ideal place to spend some time after eight days in other parts of Africa before we viewed the wild life of Northern Tanzania. The staff was helpful but not overbearing, the food was good and the rooms very nice. We all agreed that the African Tulip was a flower fo Tanzania

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Excellent idea of touristic agency to invest money in own hotel. From the gate with 24/7 guards on duty, you will have impression where you are, small details bring the soul of Africa to you. Excellent service, polite personnel with smile are for your service there. General manager was whole day around, taking care of each guest, so result of hotel is visible on the walls, according our members and votes there is a lot awards, and hotel staff are proud to have them. Zanzibar lounge and bar offers to guests relax in decorated with soul area, also Serengeti pool bar is calm, quiet so you can relax also there. If you are hungry there is always Baobab restaurant. It is interesting after dinner when guests exchange their experience from daily trips, with tips how to spend a day more efficient, Recommendation from reception is always helpful but before trip always clear with driver about program and is there hidden costs?
rooms are quiet, large, with a designer sign. My pictures will bring a more information. Congratulations to General manager Mr. Anuj Sharma for all efforts and hospitality. This hotel deserves our awards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeprodanovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Argentina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked the hotel for three nights before starting our safari. The place is comfortable, looks amazing and the breakfast is great. You are minutes away from the center of the town.

Our luggage didnt arrive at the airport when we landed and I mention this because the hotel staff helped us talk to the airline and locate the bags. I am not sure we would have had our bags in time for our safari without their help in the matter.

They are always checking if you are comfortable or need anything, they are very attentive!

It is definitely a great place to start your safari and do a little of Arusha sightseeing. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clauz_y_Marian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I'm not sure how we picked the African Tulip, but I am glad that we did. We got there at 5:30 am after a very early flight and were whisked to our rooms. Clean, well-appointed, fashionable rooms. The views were very nice from the back of the hotel towards the pool, but marginal towards the front. Beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was awesome and had an excellent ventilation fan so that we could use the mirror after a shower.

The hotel itself is beautiful from the moment you walk in. Staff is all terrific, with not a problem in any area. We wanted to eat lunch by the pool, so the pool table was set to the dining room standards. Drinks at the bar with tasty and priced correctly (maybe even a little cheap, but they DID make up for it in the room price). Buffet breakfast had all of the staples and an egg station, so we can't complain about that, either!

The week after our safari we returned for a day room prior to our international flight. Again, everything was ready for us to walk in and enjoy. Rooms were similar to the week before and dinner was included this time!

Now, their regular menu was good, but a bit western. Noting that the management staff was Indian and that an entire page of their menu was devoted to Indian cuisine, I had the good sense to pick....Indian! And it was excellent. Every last bite. I ordered three meals and (somewhat ashamedly) ate them all.

The African Tulip is beautiful, comfortable, and efficiently and pleasantly staffed. Please give it a try.

Room Tip: We had 4 over two days. They were all good. Rear facing rooms had a better pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley
Level Contributor
145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Arrived at African Tulip Hotel late on Sunday after two days of traveling. We were registered quickly and off to our comfortable room for a good nights sleep. The next day we encountered a problem with an electrical power strip that we had brought from home. presenting our problem to the front deck they sent someone into town to secure a replacement. The staff could not do enough to please us and see that our stay exceeded our expectations. We arrived back at the end of our safari and received the same, first class, treatment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Tulip at the start of our three week trip. The hotel is spotless, safe, has a very nice pool and good restaurant. The people, including the manager, could not be more friendly or helpful. We came back for day use of a room on the day we flew home. I think anyone would feel at home and comfortable here. We were with our 17 year old niece and were given a room well suited for three that also had a huge balcony. The hotel is a great place to start your trip, and end it!

Room Tip: Several rooms have lovely terraces or balconies. There didn't seem to be an elevator (not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madcttravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.9 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
3.2 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#6 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Property: The African Tulip
Address: 44/1 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
#4 Best Value Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing