We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel that immediately made us feel we were in Africa”
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights before we started our Safari and then came back for a half a day just to have lunch and relax by the pool while we had a long wait for onward connecting flights.
The service was great, staff very attentive, and we loved the decor as well.It was a great place to start our visit to Tanzania

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank MarinaH114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed at the African Tulip for three nights, before and after our safari and after our Kili climb.

This hotel has all the required facilities to be a nice and relaxing retreat, but what really sets it apart is the familiar atmosphere and the exceptionally friendly attitude from all staff. The hotel manager welcomes all guests personally and the rest of the staff follows in the same way.

The restaurant adds to the atmosphere with international dishes with a local twist.

A perfect base for all activities in Arusha.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerW65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

While serving a law school internship in Arusha, our daughter stayed for 5 weeks at The African Tulip Hotel. The entire hotel staff did everything in their power to make her time in Arusha pleasant. The hotel is expertly managed by Anuj Sharma. He and his staff are dedicated not only to providing excellent customer service, but routinely went above and beyond her expectations. She was treated more like a family member than as a hotel guest.

We joined our daughter at the hotel prior to embarking on a Twelve-day safari with Roy Safaris (the hotel and the safari company are owned by the same family). We found the hotel to be as our daughter described it. The facilities are first class and the staff are professionals at their respective jobs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANTASPIRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in African Tulip before our start of our Northern circuit safari. The hotel had great ambience and decor, wonderful restaurant with great service and rooms were spacious and clean. We had arrived at the hotel without our bags as the airlines had bungled the transfer. The hotel staff were very helpful - they did a laundry in a couple of hours and also kept in constant touch with the airlines and made sure we got our bag before we started the safari

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vidyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a wonderful time here. It was such an oasis. Everything was decorated in the African handicraft handworked style, very authentic, and very relaxing. Our rooms were lovely and very comfortable. Best of all was the staff, so welcoming, and the manager was so helpful to us, making phone calls when we needed, and just all around efficient and accommodating. The food was excellent also. A fabulous place to stay and start or end your African experience. It felt very authentic, not touristy at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night before starting our safari. Lovely spacious rooms, with both shower and bath. Comfortable beds and tastefully decorated. The service in the restaurant was excellent with the manager going from table to table asking if there was any way they could improve our experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrottingchick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent a night here before going on a safari and then again afterwards, and I cannot think of a better place for doing so. The people are super friendly, food is great and the rooms are very nice, too. We needed two rooms (one for my wife and I, one for our two sons) and were given the family suite on our first night, which was huge and seemed more like an apartment. On the second night we couldn't have that suite, but two adjacent rooms instead, among lots of apologies by the reception manager that we couldn't get the suite again.
I don't know any other hotels in Arusha, so I cannot really compare. But I will certainly want to stay at the African Tulip again if I ever come back.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Andre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#5 of 45 in Arusha
646 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
487 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel
1.1 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
111 reviews
11.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: $230 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing