We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable and reliable!”
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The African Tulip in Arusha, Tanzania is a wonderful boutique hotel with a friendly staff. Located about 45 minutes from JRO, about 15 minutes from Arusha airport and walking distance to Arusha town, it is a great location. We have stayed at the African Tulip 3 times in 2011 and 2012 before and after safaris. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, have a television and turn down service. Some (if not all) rooms have a small balcony, which is a nice place to have a quiet cup of coffee in the morning. It is located on a side street so it is quiet and has a gate, making it a safe place to stay. There is a small pool, pool bar, dining room and lounge. The food is good, coffee strong and reasonably priced. The service in the pool bar can be a bit slow, but it may have felt that way because we were jet lagged and just wanted a quick bite and a beer on 2 of our trips. There is a 'business center' with computers for use, with a fee and there is a fee for using the WiFi. The African Tulip can be booked on Hotels.com, by contacting the hotel directly by email or through a tour operator. Definitely recommend the African Tulip for stays in Arusha as home base or for your pre/post safari stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nimett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

It may not be the most modern or trendy hotel in town but from what I have experienced its still the best. A small comfortable hotel with fantastic and welcoming and kind staff. I stayed for nearly a week and have nothing but good experiences. I had a very large room indeed with terrace and sturdy wooden furniture with African touches . Very comfortable bed. Nice bijou pool and outside area.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay again and my colleagues who were staying at a variety of other hotels in town were jealous .
It's also peaceful and lovely to wake up to the dawn chorus of birdsong and nothing else

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwynethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The African Tulip was recommended as a worthy upgrade by our Kili guide company - from what I heard about other hotels in Arusha from tourists on the mountain it was certainly worth the extra cost.

We stayed for four nights in total: before and after trekking Kilimanjaro and also after Safari, which was New Year's Eve. After climbing Kili we were congratulated warmly and given a free upgrade to a suite, which was excellent for spreading out our damp things and reorganising our baggage for the rest of our trip. Having said that, the standard double rooms were perfectly comfortable and spacious with both shower and bath and all the other services that you would expect of a 4* hotel. All three rooms that we stayed in as well as all other areas of the hotel were beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.

All food consumed at the African Tulip was excellent, particulatly the NYE gala dinner with tandoori barbecue (the mangement is Indian) as well as many other savoury and sweet dishes. Breakfast buffers were also excellent with everything you could hope to eat on offer. Restaurant staff and chef were as friendly and courteous as all other hotel staff, who went out of their way to ensure that everything about our stay around Arusha went well, even volunteering to call other tour agencies to check on pick-ups etc..

The hotel is very close to an ATM, which is very handy for when you need to stock up on TZ shillings but don't want to walk far with bundles of cash before. It is also a short (20-25 min) walk from the city and we were able to visit Arusha's museum and central markets on foot.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor if you have trouble with stairs as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicolaoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel is small and pretty but old. The windows are not made to withstand the noise from the nightclub next door. Do not stay here on a weekend if you want a good nights sleep.
The staff were polite and helpful. The breakfast buffet was average. The rooms were large and basic, it is good value for the money just remember your earplugs!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank betsy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharmaAnuj, General Manager at The African Tulip, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Betsy2009

We have read your posting with regards to your recent experience at The African Tulip. We note that you have been disappointed due to music that was playing within the vicinity of our hotel environment. We too were deeply concerned of the development at the time. Every effort was made to communicate our concern to the organizers of the party but it seems like our plea was not headed. In an effort to ensure that matters like these are not allowed to happen again, we did have a joint discussion with the concerned hotel management to address this problem. I would therefore like to view this as one off occurrence as otherwise we have never had situation like this in our 4 years of existence. On behalf of all of us at The African Tulip, we would like you to accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that have happened to you.

Best regards

Anuj Sharma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Africa Tulip, before starting our 6 day Safari with ROY Safari.
The hotel was perfect - super calm, clean, pretty, great service. The staff was super friendly, they went out of their way to make sure we were happy with our stay.
Rooms are large and comfy. Beds are good. AC work well.
We ate the hotel restaurant the 3 days we were there : breakfast buffet is huge, everything you can wish for. Location is minutes from downtown Arusha. (walking distance).
I would not hesitate to go back - excellent hotel. (and I am a fussy traveler).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxane11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was a lovely hotel, set out well with lovely areas for relaxation, helpful staff and lovely rooms / bathrooms. The beds were the best after camping in Kili for 10 days - very clean and soo comfy.

Very helpful reception area and good laundry service - although please note that they do not check whether items should be tumble dried so do so before you hand it in (it didn't cross my mind as we were in Africa).

Food in the hotel was lovely and had a variety of options for breakfast which was served in a nice way and in a very clean restaurant.

Owned by Roys Safaris next door so handy if you are planning a trip through them - they can help get good rates too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vixsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

very good service friendly and amazing staff and the gm anuj is just perfect very accomodating to clients needs would reccomend hotel to all clents local residents and tourists the food is great especially their breakfast
Big up
Saida Kessy from Arusha

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Saida K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
613 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
485 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
0.2 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
273 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#10 of 42 in Arusha
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: $227 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing