We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
571 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“A nice escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Decent sized rooms, bar, swimming pool, hot water and friendly service makes it a pleasure to shake the dust of the day off and settle down. Average dinner, although pretty good for Africa really. Good breakfast though.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    218
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
199
315
48
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at the hotel before and after our safari trip. and it was a great way to finish our safari trip! the hotel is gorgeous. we stayed at one of the suites, it was a very large room, clean and comftorable.
The service in the hotel is very good and kind.
There is also nice pool.
The breakfast was very good and we took for the safari trip a lunch box which was also very good.
We will certainly come back and we highly reccomand this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liran80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here recently before and after our 'northern circuit' safari. And it was perfect. We felt immediately at home thanks largely to the smashing staff, the excellent accommodation and the relaxed atmosphere in the dining room (whether it was buffet or a la carte). We plan to return (and for longer) in 2013. Highly recommended.

Ash & Mika
UK/NL

Room Tip: Ask for a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This place r-o-c-k-e-d. I bought a Groupon package deal to hike Mt. Kilimanjaro (through Odyssey Safaris - but that's a separate review). While on the mountain we camped, but my first night in Tanzania and the last night before I left I stayed at the African Tulip.
This place definitely caters to Westerners and, while I pride myself on being a girl who can rough it, I have to say that this place was like a spa after coming off 8 days on the mountain without a shower. The African Tulip is a very nice hotel by any standards, but their service went above and beyond the call of duty. After coming in off the mountain, I was tired and beyond dirty. The manager met me at reception (as he did the first night I checked in) and inquired as to my comfort. I was served fresh mango juice while I waited, and looked on as a staff member "dusted" my pack. After being shown to my SPECTACULAR room (adjacent to my travel partner's room, both of which were segregated from the other rooms with our own private lounge) I saw I had a King sized bed, a soaking tub, and a separate shower (I made full use of all three within the first hour).
When I came back downstairs clean, refreshed, and in search of a celebratory Kilimanjaro Lager (available at the hotel bar) the manager again appeared and inquired as to my comfort and satisfaction with the room (pleasantly - not annoyingly). I had a great dinner at the hotel restaurant and a very restful night in my room.
The next morning the manager arranged for me a late checkout at noon (regularly 10) since my ride to the airport wouldn't arrive until 2pm. Given their pending reservations it was the best he could do and I gratefully accepted. I came down to the well appointed lobby at noon to wait for my ride. After about 1/2 hour, the manager came to inform me that one of his guests was going to be delayed in their arrival, and that he had made their room available to me to wait the remaining hour for my ride in comfort and privacy. He gave me a key to a newly cleaned and prepped room, just so I could be comfortable for the next 60 minutes!

I can't gush enough about this hotel. It was comfortable, safe (manned gate at the parking lot), beautiful, and every staff member from the bartender, restaurant service staff, reception attendants, cleaning staff, and the exceptional manager were accommodating, warm, friendly, and absolutely welcoming. Asahnte sana!!

Room Tip: I stayed in two different rooms - I'm not sure they have any "bad" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly2740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We took a shuttle from Nairobi to Arusha and checked into this hotel while on a safari organized by Roys Safari. It was a great start to our 10 day Tanzanian safari. We should have booked two days, however, because we were not ready to leave early the next morning. There were 12 of us and we all agreed this was a great start for our vacation. The food in the restaurant was good. The staff were friendly and helpful. The kids loved the pool. Rooms were elegant and comfortable. And, our shuttle bus dropped us at the hotel and then picked us up there 10 days later (Riverside).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldgypsy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night and were greeted by the manager on arrival! How impressive!....He was very warm and gracious, we had noted on our Hotel voucher a very late checkout so we enquired as our flight wasn't until the evening. The manager said the voucher was incorrect but what do what he could to ensure the latest possible checkout for us. And he did just that!....Keeping in contact with us that day and the next and we were able to stay as long as possible. It was so appreciated we couldn't believe how he went out of his way!....
Then we went to our room, and we had a huge room with 2 double beds and a balcony, and felt we were in heaven - after being on safari for a week just what we needed!
This is a lovely, beautifully decorated hotel - we just wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig and Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed there with colleagues as we were having a meeting in Arusha. The hotel is well place in a quiet street so you don't hear the noises of the traffic. It's clean and really comfortable. The rooms are big, with nice bathrooms. I had hot water and pressure in the shower. There's a safe in the room that works perfectly well. The business center can be used for free. You can also have a wifi connection for 10 USD/day. The staff is nice and friendly. the bed is gigantic and the sheets are clean and fresh. There's also a big swimming pool and a nice bar. I really recommend this hotel. I totally understand why it's the first ranked hotel in Arusha on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papachoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
3.2 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.1 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Property: The African Tulip
Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing