We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better”
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Lovely welcome and very friendly staff. Lovely public areas and excellent WIFI speed. I slept very peacefully in the first room I stayed in however it had a toilet that couldn't flush and a shower head that sprayed all over the shower cubicle instead of on me. Housekeeping only came to check it when I returned to my room in the afternoon despite advising the front desk in the morning about my issues. The housekeeping said that engineering would come at 6pm. Then Front desk advised that there would not be any engineer on property that day.

Eventually got moved to a room on the other side of the hotel. Strangely every 25mins a loud vibrating noise went off especially at night time and lasted for 20mins which made sleeping very difficult. Pillows were another challenge. 2 hard pillows and 1 soft lumpy one. Then smells from the kitchen kept wafting into the room.....!

Environment at dinner on the last night was not pleasant as the chef kept shouting for about 30mins and spoilt the ambiance in the dining room. At one point all the guests kept quiet wondering what was going on.

Clearly need an eye-for-detail especially in the rooms - grime on bathroom fittings, lack of consistency of amenities, number of hangers different in each room, etc.

Best part of stay - the friendly Front Desk & Wait staff, and absolutely great food.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 12A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barefoot_Gachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharmaAnuj, General Manager at The African Tulip, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Thank you for sharing your valuable comments involving both the ups and downs of your stay.

We apologize for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay with us. We indeed had an unexpected situation caused by the intense power fluctuations the night before and wee hours of the morning, which have now been resolved.

All Maintenance crew were up all night and morning and were given a break for the rest of the day and evening.

All in all I am sure we could have handled your room situation better and do apologize for not having done so.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,

ANUJ SHARMA
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

Our group of 26 stayed in the African Tulip for 6 days. Their entire staff did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. They went above and beyond expectations for our group. The rooms were large and clean. We also had several meals in the restaurant and enjoyed each of them. We would highly recommend this hotel if traveling to Arusha.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lplunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I guess this hotel must be one of the very best in Arusha. This is a hotel of european very good quality.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlbernt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The African tulip is a beautiful hotel, artfully decorated with great African art. The rooms are incredibly spacious and immaculate. The food in the main restaurant was absolutely delicious and the staff were very polite and professional. The hotel is surrounded by greenery, giving one the impression of being in a mini oasis. It is centrally located so one can walk to downtown in about 10 minutes or a five minute cab ride for less than $2USD. Despite its central location, the hotel offers a serene environment. The lush greenery and perhaps the strong architectural structure of the hotel shields the noise. I'm a light sleeper and I slept like a baby given the lack of noise but also the very comfortable mattresses. There is central air and the rooms are fresh smelling. I would certainly return and I also highly recommend it to anyone in the Arusha area. Christine B.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBBPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

African Tulip is a little boutique hotel in the center of busy city of Arusha and a real gem. That's where we decided to spend our last night in Africa. We got to our big Zebra Room and immediately ordered cold Serengeti beer. Sat down in the bay window and toasted to our incredible trip to Tanzania. The African Tulip was a perfect place to do so and a real oasis of cool air, elegant interior, good drinks, outstanding service. The place offers big rooms and immaculate bathroom - perfect for washing off the dust of the Serenhget plains and celebrate in style.
The restaurant and bar offer variety of Indian dishes - the appies are to die for! SInce we are gluten intolerant we requested a menu with no white flour in it. To our surprise, the chef told us that he could do anything from scratch. He was super accomodating and superb as a chef! We haven't had such a delish Indian dinner since our trip to South India.
A little swimming pool is a perfect place to catch some sun, chat with the fellow travellers or chill out with G&T early afternoon.
The staff is outstanding! always helpful and very accomodating! They gave us a complimentary car with a driver. He not only drove us to Maasai market but waited there for us and even helped carrying the souvenirs.
Thank you African Tulip for making our trip even more memorable! Barb & Mike

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsondro_gatche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Recently I had the occasion to stay in first the Kibo Palace and then the African Tulip in Arusha. While both are very nice hotels, the Tulip is my favorite. The staff is OUTSTANDING! This is a beautiful hotel with beautiful rooms and the food is excellent. We traveled with Roy Safari next door which is also a wonderful and perfect experience. If you can pick a drive at Roy - ask for Eli!! I would highly recommend African Tulip as the best place to stay in Arusha.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieM22322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This place is clean, safe, and located right near the downtown area. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff are very friendly. And it's very near the Blue Heron Restaurant - you will want to eat there!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
632 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
510 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#8 of 45 in Arusha
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: $229 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing