We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The African Tulip
Nearby Hotels
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$74
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$148
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$246
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$169
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$53
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
1,106 results
Traveler rating
822
258
22
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
822
258
22
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroy safarisbaobab restaurantanuj sharmawindow seatthe general managerboutique hotelno elevatorindian dishesbeautiful hotelpool barbaobab treethe hotel managerwould highly recommend this hoteltwo nightsspacious roomsafari tripbreakfast buffet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
919 - 924 of 1,106 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We booked this hotel for a recent trip to Tanzania. We stayed at the African Tulip for 2 nights before heading out on safari. It is on a quiet side street and within walking distance of the market and shops of Arusha. The rooms were nice, clean and big. The decor was very cool and the staff was fantastic. We also really liked the restaurant -- dinner was good and breakfast was outstanding. The pool area and bar was nice. My only complaint overall is that the water in the pool was too cold to swim and Roy's Safari had some big vehicle running for a few hours...so we got to suck in the exhaust fumes.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank dani11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The African Tulip is a lovely hotel set down a quiet lane.
We only had one night in Arusha after our safari and discoverd this by chance but it truely was a very enjoyable stay.
I myself work for a boutique hotel in zanzibar and have very high standards which this hotel definatly exceeded.
The bedrooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable with satalite television and a mini fridge.
I would definatly recommend the resturant where we had a fantastic indian buffet with great fast service at a resonable price.
There is also a divine pool area and bar and a very chic zanzibar style lounge/bar for drinks.
I cant fault this hotel for anything and would like to say a huge thank you to Anuj the general Manager and his team for taking excellent care of us. I will definatly return :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Based on TA rating, we booked this hotel for 5 couples for our last day in Arusha. The hotel is lovely and the staff went above and beyond. Most of us were ill from some sort of stomach bug. They immediately took my husband to our room so he could get into bed. The next day we had asked for a late checkout so we could stay in our rooms and rest. They allowed us to all stay and did not charge us for the additional time. I would definitely stay here due to location and staff, also near Maasai Market, which unfortunately, we did not get to visit due to illness!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be fine. The suites were lovely and spacious!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DINKS521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We were visiting our son, Nick, who was on a project in Arusha and stayed for nine nights (three weekends) in the African Tulip. From start to finish the service was excellent and the staff friendly and always on hand to help with a smile. The restaurant was both reasonable and food good with breakfast always a treat to start the day with eggs cooked to order. The rooms were quiet, large, exceptionally comfortable and clean. There was an easy to use, personal safe, large enough to house a laptop in our room which made things secure and gave total peace of mind. We would always end the day relaxing by the poolside with a cool "Killi" in hand. The management of the hotel were extremely courteous and always helpful.
The location next door to (sister company) Roy Safaris was very convenient. Roy Safaris being an excellent safari provider, with good vehicles, exemplary service and incredibly well organised. If you are interested look out for our review on Roy Safaris.
I have never before been so compelled as to write a review and do so in appreciation of the high standard of overall service provided by this hotel.
Robert & Carolyn

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms will be to a high standard ours Nos. 6 was great.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We only spent one night here before our safari but we loved it. We needed a calm comfortable place to rest after a long journey. The African Tulip fit the bill perfectly. They were very welcoming, the room was big and comfortable and the restuarant and bar were excellent. I would have loved to stay longer if there was more to do in the general area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mort2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews