We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We only spent one night here before our safari but we loved it. We needed a calm comfortable place to rest after a long journey. The African Tulip fit the bill perfectly. They were very welcoming, the room was big and comfortable and the restuarant and bar were excellent. I would have loved to stay longer if there was more to do in the general area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mort2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

857 - 863 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2011

We are long overdue in putting up this review! We visited Tanzania in the Winter/Spring of 2010. Our stay at the African Tulip was extended as our daughter got very ill while we were on safari in the Serengeti. The African Tulip staff were incredible. They helped us find a doctor and a local hospital as well as reliable transportation. After our daughter got out of the hospital they were wonderful about bringing fresh linens to us and cleaning our room up to 3 times a day! Anyone who has had a seriously ill child can relate to how thankful we were for their kind attention. This hotel is a great spot , with yummy food and beautiful rooms. Arusha is a busy place and the African Tulip is a peaceful oasis.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLA2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

These rooms are huge. Concierge is professional and extremely accommodating. We actually cancelled our future reservations to stay with them bc of dependence on quality with the hotel. The food was great and having Roys safari next door is a huge Plus for booking your safari. They were great too. Very professional trips.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peteetrius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed at the African Tulip for one night either side of our 6 day safari arranged by Roy Safaris. It was such a pleasant surprise when we arrived there and was a great start to our trip. Staff were friendly, hospitable and went out of their way to help us. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at the African Tulip through Roy Safaris for one night before our safari began. We could not believe how well we were treated. It was like we were the only people in the hotel. We arrived late, and the dining room was empty. The cook and wait staff still waited for us and gladly took our order and served a great meal before they went home. The rooms were large, with AC, and a very modern bathroom. I highly recommend the African Tulip; what a great place to spend our first night in Africa.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoyt44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Great hotel, very spacious room. Staff was very attentive and kind. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IreneMc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Only negative is I don't see a reason for wi-fi or the business center to be so expensive. It should be a free service to clients.
Restaurant is very good with very attentative wait staff. Front desk very helpful. Bar (or poolside) is a nice place to unwind.
Would stay again although its a bit more luxury than I require.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbuddies_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
613 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
486 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
0.2 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
273 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#10 of 42 in Arusha
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: $227 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing