We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions of tasty food”
Review of Khan's BBQ

Khan's BBQ
Ranked #3 of 112 Restaurants in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Huge portions of tasty food”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

A great, relaxed atmosphere with huge portions of food! Worth bearing in mind that alcohol is not served here.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottishgal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    151
    38
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent food at an excellent price”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We visited Khan's BBQ in Arusha, TZ for the second time in February 2012 (previous visit was in 2009). Khan's is an auto parts supply business by day, but at night they roll out the barbecues and cook chicken, beef and mutton on long skewers, along with fresh salads, sauces, and delicious non-alcoholic drinks (NO alcohol is allowed on the premises). The food is excellent, and the price is reasonable. Khan's also does a thriving take-away business. This is my #1 place of choice to eat in Arusha, and I look forward to eating there again on my next trip.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyrider_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Indian Cuisine in the heart of Africa”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Good localized Indian food in the middle of Africa. Auto shop by day, BBQ restaurant by night, this restaurant offers a genuine back-alley Africa-style experience for foreigners. Highly recommended even by various travel books.

Make sure you get a chance to speak with the Khan, he's the boss. A very friendly chap that will greet you with "Karibu" (Swahili: welcome) and he'll make sure you get your food in a timely manner.

Ask Khan if you're unsure on what to order. I highly recommend the standard tandoori chicken, Zanzibar pizza, chipsi (Swahili: fries), naan bread, and mix veggie (available at the main table along with various types of sauces\gravy)

This place is quite dark after sunset so it's best that you go with a local or with a friend that knows the area.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank imran_jaafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Langley, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow - I'd go here again!”
Reviewed December 13, 2010

This was a highlight in Tanzania... eating outside and eating great chicken outside. It was authentic, real and excellent. If i go back I'm bringing more friends. Might have even been the meal of the year!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dmacsuburban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dinner in the gutter”
Reviewed March 4, 2010

This place is an auto shop by day, restaurant by night. They serves grilled meat (we had chicken & mutton), breads, and salads. We went with friends that live in Arusha... after they told us the place had been written up in Lonely Planet or one of the big guide books.

The meat was good. The bread they called "naan" was strange. I have had all kinds of naan and what they served was not naan. Terrible.

The main thing I would say is that it felt like eating dinner in a dirty gutter. You get the feeling that the guy cooking the meat might not have washed his hands after handling auto parts. The foot traffic on the street is high.... and since your basically sitting in the street it's like having dinner with everyone walking by.

The "salad bar" is a bunch of bowls of salad on a table .... right on the street. Nothing is covered so if you don't mind flies on your food... then it's perfect.

I would suggest constantly reminding yourself that the place was written up in a big guide book as a way to help yourself get through it...

I'm all for the local flavor but I didn't like this place at all... Good chicken in East Africa is an easy find... So, that's not enough to make it worth it. I have spent a lot of time in Africa and can take the dirt and grit just fine... Not at all sure what people like about this place. One thing I will give it tho.... I didn't make me sick. I tried several kinds of salad. Didn't love any of them but they did not make me sick so I will give them that.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank cmeliw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khan's BBQ also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Khan's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing