We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a tranquil retreat for rest and relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rivertrees Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a tranquil retreat for rest and relaxation”
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We used this hotel at the beginning and the end of a 7 day Mt Kilimanjaro ascent via the Machame route ie. two nights. The hotel is well outside of Arusha and so not really suitable if you want to see the city sights or go out at night. However for R&R it is excellent with large well tended grounds with mature trees and a stream and it is set well away from the main road so no noise and you feel you are miles from anywhere. There is a nice airy dining area and bar, with very reasonable prices. Dinner is a fixed course menu but lighter menu options are available for lunch or anytime. The hotel is privately owned and service and attention reflects this. Staff are very friendy and helpful, but can be a bit shy. Accommodation is in separate thatched bungalows and has separate patio areas for relaxing and privacy. Both nights, we had tastefully furnished rooms with all usual facilities incl. plenty of hot water and firm comfortable beds and mosquito nets. Unable to think of anything that needed improving and reasonable room rate.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    134
    26
    10
    0
See reviews for
95
191
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Rivertrees was our first stop when arriving to Arusha and the final two nights after our safari. On both visits, it felt like so very comfortable .... homey, cozy, serene, beautiful, relaxing. Service was fantastic. The gardens beautiful. Food - delicious! A perfect way to start and end our journey in northern Tanzania. Highly recommend an afternoon of relaxation beside the pool.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adlai_n_Ewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham. NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

I visited here after a tiring flight to Tanzania and later after a safari. The inn is located next to a river and in spacious gardens that provide lots of opportunities for gentle walks and sightings of local wildlife. Prior to the safari I stayed in one of the cottages in the gardens and after the safari in one of the rooms in the main house. The rooms are furnished with a wonderful mixture of furniture from various periods. The vases of fresh flowers, colorful fabrics and mosquito netting add to the ambience. The staff members were very welcoming and accommodating. The meals were of excellent quality and variety. In short, a superb experience.

Rivertrees was my favorite of the inns where I stayed during my Tanazian trip. It is definitely on the list of places to be revisited.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Rivertrees is an excellent, relaxing base before/after a safari or Kilimanjaro climb. The property is set on a coffee plantation with gorgeous, landscaped grounds -- perfect for wandering with cup of tea in hand. The cottages are charming and clean (with hot water), and the breakfast/lunch/dinner menus are fantastic. Plus, there's FREE wireless Internet for guests bringing a laptop -- a rarity in Tanzania! Note: The inn can arrange transportation for those eager to explore the local area or Arusha, which is about 35 minutes away.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AIReMOE2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Our safari company, Thomsons' safaris arranged this hotel stay for us at the end of our safari and it was exactly what we needed at the end of a long and dusty safari. Hot showers, good food and warm hospitality. The Rivertrees Country Inn really is an oasis just outside a very intimidating bustling African city. We were only booked one night, but would have loved to stay longer. The cottage that we were in was very spacious, yet cozy. The grounds are nicely manicured and the only sounds that you can hear are that of African birds and crickets. You would never know that it is located in such a bustling, noisey city! If you are going on any safaris that start or end at Arusha, then RIvertrees is an absolute must.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed at Rivertrees at the very end of our safari holiday - final night before flying back to Britain. We found it to be a very pleasant hotel in pretty grounds. The food was very good, though the dining room is half open on all sides which on winter evenings was pretty chilly. The room was a cottage set to one side - 2 double beds, prettily decorated. The bathroom was a little shabby looking, and the toilet seat was wobbly, but that was the only downside. There was a small terrace with a sofa and we were able to sit there watching te monkeys in the trees.

The main reason I wouldn't stay for more than a day or so is simply that we were not a massive fan of Arusha, but it was well-placed for the airport, Kilimanjaro and for heading off to National Parks.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed one night while transferring from an international flight to a safari, and wished we had a second night. Food and service were wonderful with a comfortable room. Sadly we arrived in the dark and left early the next morning so didn't have the opportunity to explore the tranquil looking gardens.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balmain74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
11.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
8.8 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
6.3 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
12.4 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#5 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertrees Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertrees Country Inn

Property: Rivertrees Country Inn
Address: Near USA-River Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arusha
#4 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an old coffee estate, Rivertrees is now a charming country inn nestled in abundant foliage with the Usa River flowing by. Set in the foothills of Mt Meru, conveniently close to Kilimanjaro International Airport and a short drive to Arusha, its location proffers a wealth of natural wonders to explore. Comprising the original Farm House, an elegant River House, luxurious River Cottages and several beautifully appointed Garden Rooms, it also serves delicious garden-fresh cuisine in its stunningly set restaurant. The swimming pool and spa are tailored for relaxation, and friendly personalised service ensures a memorable stay, whether for a one-night stopover or much longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rivertrees Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivertrees Country Hotel Arusha
Arusha Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing