We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a quick stay over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rivertrees Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while going from one safari to another. Nice staff good but not great food (I'd go for the pizza's). The room is a little bit bare but overall nice, safe and clean. Good place to relax before or after a safari. Grounds are very nice but not a whole lot to do around here mainly a good stopover spot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaK_travels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Rivertrees Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 462 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

After flying from Australia we were very tired when we arrived for our 2 night stay on Oct 3rd&4th.
Our room was very clean, lots of hot water and a comfy bed.
Food was excellent, loved our oven cooked pizzas.
Staff were very friendly, however their understanding of english was not great (maybe it was our aussie accents ?).
We spent a day at Arusha National park which was excellent.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidCarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a gorgeous place, but one that is going through some serious employee problems. We spent two nights and most of 3 days here trying to adjust to the time change before heading out to safaris. The grounds and the rooms are very nice, well maintained and clean. The staff, however, are very problematic. They were nice and polite and ... well, not into service. If you needed things like salt or butter or even utensils or coffee, you could ask 3 or 4 times and whatever it was that was needed, could be obtained by getting up and going to the kitchen and getting it yourself. Our last morning there, no one had bothered to clean off the tables. When it came time to leave, no one told us our ride was there or helped us out with our bags. The food and breads were very pretty, but flavorless. The pizzas that others had raved about prior to our visit were, likewise flavorless. Someone had recommended asking for a cabin by the river, which we did, but our requests were, thankfully, ignored. When we walked by the river there were tons of mosquitoes. I'm so glad our cabin was back from the river. So, in conclusion, of the 7 places we stayed in Tanzania, this was among the most beautiful, but the service left so much to desire. I hope their management figures out how to remedy this very serious problem. At any rate, I won't be coming back.

Room Tip: Avoid the cabins on the river - and don't believe the staff when they tell you they don't ha...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NursefromPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivertreesGM, Manager at Rivertrees Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Nurse from Pittsburgh
Thank you for your candid comments, we at Rivertrees always strive to exceed our guest expectations, however on this occasion we have fallen short of your service expectation levels and for this I must apologise. However, please note that various training programs have been put in place to address the issues that you have raised.
I really am sorry that you were troubled by mosquitoes on your river walk – we do aim to take care of our beautiful natural environment and thus we refrain from utilizing harmful chemicals along the river.
Our rooms however do have mosquito screens on all the windows, coupled with huge mosquito nets that elegantly drape our beds. As an added measure all our rooms have insect repellent for your personal use.
Aside from the service issues you experienced I trust you had a rewarding African experience during your time in Tanzania.
Happy future travels and should you return to Tanzania we would be happy to welcome you back!
Best regards
Michelle Audie-Cowan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here after flying overnight from London to Kilimanjaro via Zurich. It is very peaceful, clean, comfortable and well appointed. The massages were excellent. The food was also very good. There is a local village nearby that makes for an interesting guided walk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent a total of 5 nights here on and off returning after climbing Kilimanjaro and going on Safari's. The facilities are excellent set among peaceful grounds and the staff were very cheerful and helpful. My only criticism concerns the transport costs into Arusha and the high Laundry charges. I would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waynesworld1nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We know how tired we are after flying from the US into Africa so we stay for one night in Arusha to reset our internal clocks before Safari started and this was our first time at Rivertrees. We arrived too late for dinner but found the breakfast very good, the room was clean, bug free, comfortable bed, the grounds were scenic for photos, and there was a pool if you have kids with you that like to swim (we were only there for sleeping then out in the morning). It was 302. per night for two ppl including breakfast and dinner so we thought that was pretty reasonable even though we didn't have the dinner. I would return here as a stopover hotel again.

Room Tip: Find out times of dinner if you plan to eat when you arrive so if you arrive too late they can set s...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Rivertrees is a gem of a place. We stayed 3 nights to get adjusted to time zones before safari. The location is ideal for visits to Arusha National Park and day trips to Arusha for shopping or Moshi to see Kilimanjaro.

They have delicious food and quiet cottages in a lovely setting - A throw back to former colonial estate times. Rivertrees is great value. We all enjoyed the stay so much and could have happily stayed and relaxed for a week.

Francis, a student trainee, took care of us at meals and we throughly enjoyed him. While all the staff was kind and helpful, Francis made us feel extra welcome.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms. Single room cottages and little houses for groups or families. All a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.4 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
11.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 44 in Arusha
985 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 44 in Arusha
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 44 in Arusha
453 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#9 of 44 in Arusha
137 reviews
12.4 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 44 in Arusha
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertrees Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertrees Country Inn

Address: Near USA-River Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arusha
#4 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: $197 - $707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an old coffee estate, Rivertrees is now a charming country inn nestled in abundant foliage with the Usa River flowing by. Set in the foothills of Mt Meru, conveniently close to Kilimanjaro International Airport and a short drive to Arusha, its location proffers a wealth of natural wonders to explore. Comprising the original Farm House, an elegant River House, luxurious River Cottages and several beautifully appointed Garden Rooms, it also serves delicious garden-fresh cuisine in its stunningly set restaurant. The swimming pool and spa are tailored for relaxation, and friendly personalised service ensures a memorable stay, whether for a one-night stopover or much longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rivertrees Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivertrees Country Hotel Arusha
Arusha Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing