We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beginning to Tanzania Safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rivertrees Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beginning to Tanzania Safari”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Rivertrees was the perfect place to start our Tanzania trip. After our long flight from the US, we were so happy to first rest up and adjust to the time difference at Rivertrees before heading to our safari in the Serengeti. We stayed at the River House which was an incredibly spacious and beautifully appointed lodge next to the river. It was very peaceful and secluded, yet at the same time the place has a great sense of community conveyed by the amazing staff. The staff were so friendly and attentive, always going out of their way to make sure we were very comfortable and taken care of. The food was terrific (it's so good that even locals come to the restaurant to eat). One of the highlights of our stay was when they prepared a special private dinner for us. They set a table out on a deck by the river so that we could dine by candlelight under the stars - truly magical! Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer, and they even packed us a meal to go when we had to leave for the airport early the next day.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank GetOutExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    138
    26
    10
    0
See reviews for
99
192
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed in this lovely, relaxing setting for two nights, before our safari. The grounds were beautiful and well tended. The staff was courteous and attentive to our needs and the food was excellent. It was perfect to stay there after the long airplane flight...just to relax!!

Our room was quiet, large and nicely furnished. The bed, complete with mosquito netting, was very comfortable.

The hotel was about a 45 minute drive from Kilimanjaro airport.

Room Tip: We had a room with a central lobby adjacent to several rooms, that could be used as a gathering plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We landed in Arusha to start off our Safari, tired from the long flight we have been droven to Rivertrees Country inn.
We were very looking forward seeing the place in real since, i have to admit i had fallen in love with their website .. breaths peace to me (that is very subjective).
Once arrived all my expectations have been met !!
The staff welcomed us with a drink and gave us a quick brief on how the place is working and where all amenities could be found.
The room (little cabin : Snail) was spectacular, the design is very homie and rustic at the same time , very high end , just loved it !!
We also had a little garden table and chairs under this beautiful tree.
The bed was unbelievable as well ..so confortable, could have slept in til noon..
Waking up with the sight of trees and birds was just heaven to us, knowing we leave in a huge buzzing city (Shanghai)

We had book a table for dinner in there lovely and green garden, the set up was very romantic !
The food was surprinsingly amazingly good and the dish presentation deserved a High 5 !!!!! (Italian fusion food).

We will wake up with a beautiful and warm smile from the staff for breakfast ..outdoot breakfast was delicious and so relaxing !!

The staff was so kind, helpful and very quick..all our wishes would be taken care of within 5 minutes, just unpecable service. (Big thanks to Samson and the couple managing the place)

I would recommend a nice lazy afternoon in the living room area facing the front or back garden with a nice house red wine and your favorite book.
Wish I had asked the name of that red wine since i could not stopping drinking it ...

Go for a walk around the property behing the pool area there is a small litlle path along a river.

Not enough words to describe our feelings !! just try it for yourself it is def worth spending !

Perfect place to recharge your batteries after a long flight and start your safari!

I have attached photos ..

Room Tip: Choose a room not too far from the lobby ..it gets very dark at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VillardTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We started our safari by having a night's rest in Rivertrees - after Nairobi and the flight from the uk it was just right. And Amos, who couldn't do enough for us was just the best welcome from the UK. We were in a cottage which was quiet and as we were there for only one night, it was fine. It would have been nice to have seen more of the area - you can rent bikes etc, but we were off on our adventure!

We had to have breakfast at an ungodly hour as that it when the flight was leaving for the Bush and the staff were all happy to be up and making breakfast - a real pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank remillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

After a long flight from Europe this lovely retreat was the perfect start for our Safari-Vacation. We had great rooms in the old plantation building, very spacious. And the surroundings were ideal to calm down. Food was good as well and everybody was very friendly, including the kitchen-staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernhard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Setting nice, but room nothing special & a bit tired looking. Dinner & breakfast ok but had better elsewhere. Unfortunately had to wait a long time for room to be ready despite booking a twin but it was made as a double, not great after long trip.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bl19uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Nice room (we had a cottage) but at over $300 a night it was not worth it. The food was OK, the grounds quite nice the atmosphere relaxing but it was nothing special and certainly not worth the money. You can hear the road from the cottages (we were in No 1) which is also a bit of a disappointment.

We also stayed in the Colobus Lodge (a third the price and OK) and the Arusha Coffee Lodge (a bit dearer but much better). Rivertrees fell badly between the other two.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShropshireOldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
11.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
916 reviews
8.8 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
417 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
6.3 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 41 in Arusha
133 reviews
12.4 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertrees Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertrees Country Inn

Property: Rivertrees Country Inn
Address: Near USA-River Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arusha
#4 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an old coffee estate, Rivertrees is now a charming country inn nestled in abundant foliage with the Usa River flowing by. Set in the foothills of Mt Meru, conveniently close to Kilimanjaro International Airport and a short drive to Arusha, its location proffers a wealth of natural wonders to explore. Comprising the original Farm House, an elegant River House, luxurious River Cottages and several beautifully appointed Garden Rooms, it also serves delicious garden-fresh cuisine in its stunningly set restaurant. The swimming pool and spa are tailored for relaxation, and friendly personalised service ensures a memorable stay, whether for a one-night stopover or much longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rivertrees Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivertrees Country Hotel Arusha
Arusha Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing