We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect R'n'R after a lon flight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivertrees Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The perfect placd to chill out And get over your jet lag when you arrive Jb Tanzania. Great food, service and setting. They made an extra effort for our honeymoon by putting rise petals all over thd baths and bed. Very sweet. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenobia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 476 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at Rivertrees Country Inn for one night before safari in Arusha National Park. Although the grounds are beautiful and well maintained, the rooms are another matter. The floors which were polished cement were dirty and you had to wear flip flops or else your socks would be dirty from the dust. The shower area was not clean and the grouting was mouldy and needed replacing. The shower fixture was useless because it would not adjust and instead flew over your head into the shower curtain. You either had to be 6 ft 4in or else hold the shower by the hose in order to have a proper rinse. The toilet too looked old and needed replacing. All in all, not what I would expect for a luxury stay. The staff try hard but as noted in previous TripAdvisor comments they do require proper training. There were mixups with dinners and other issues. I would attribute these shortcomings to management and not to the workers, Breakfast was limited as far as yogurts and granolas but overall the food was satisfactory. The forno oven was a nice touch and we did have pizzas. Not sure how this place compares to other hotels in that area so I cannot say that I would come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stefanop54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

nice lodge in a setting next to a small river, attentetive (but slightly clumsy) staff and - as most hotels around Arusha - skighty overpriced. We stilk had a goid time, especialky after eating their Pizza.

Room Tip: Check out their Puzza as they have a decent stone pizza oven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A_true_European
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

As we arrived at Rivertrees, it looked picture-perfect: large and lovely grounds, rooms in individual buildings, and an outdoor restaurant with a huge wood-burning oven. Our room was lovely: large, with a king-size bed, and the Internet worked in the room. One thing was a bit odd: the toilet and shower were behind only a partial stucco wall, open at the top and the side. Then we had dinner at the outdoor restaurant. The menu was traditional in a Western sense--nothing that even hinted at being in Africa. So we shrugged our shoulders and ordered the filet: the meat was so tough it should have been stewed. We ordered ice cream with sauce for dessert, and it came without the sauce. We persisted, and it eventually came. We discovered at bedtime that the sheets were so nubbly they felt almost like sandpaper, and the pillows were thin. There was no hot water in the morning. Breakfast the next morning was poor: chemical-tasting juice, tasteless tomatoes, and weak coffee. All in all, and compared to other places we stayed in Tanzania, this one was at the bottom.

Room Tip: Choose a different lodging
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bev046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here in July for one night upon arrival at Kilimanjaro airport before a safari. Staff is wonderful, providing a warm welcome and gracious service. Common rooms are very comfortable and the grounds are incredible. When I walked into my cottage room, I was amazed by the furnishings and spaciousness of the room. Quiet and filled with birdsong. Close to Arusha, but if fills like it's miles away. My only regret is that I only spent one night. Look forward to returning to enjoy more of the grounds!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be well-located on the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had the pleasure of returning to Rivertrees again recently - our favourite place whenever we’re in the Arusha area. We love the tranquility and the feeling of being away from it all... This time we had a sneak peek at the new River Cottages – delightful! They're situated right on the river, which trickles by peacefully along the back verandahs. And the creative, rustic elegance of the furnishings and decor are superbly done: spa-like bathrooms...tiny adjustable reading lamps on the headboard with switches and everything INSIDE the mosquito net....a choice of soft or firm pillows...well, you get the idea. A lot of thought has obviously gone into the new accommodations - the big and little details that elevate your experience from just good to simply exceptional. Wireless high speed internet enabled me to get some work done too. And of course the staff - as always - were very friendly and helpful, the wine was excellent, and the chicken, spinach and brie pizza was top notch!
Keep it up Rivertrees, we look forward to seeing you again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaribuCapricorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a stunningly beautiful facility that makes you feel like stepped onto the movie set of "Out of Africa." The buildings, furnishings, and grounds are very lovely and relaxing. There were three of us staying in a great cottage, however, the bathroom facilities sat behind a partially enclosed stucco wall which lacked privacy and took some negotiation between members of our party in terms of accessing the sink, toilet and shower. The hot water was also on the lukewarm side. The cottage that my sister and her husband stayed in had a more traditional bathroom set-up with the facilities located behind a full floor to ceiling wall with a door.

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch, including pizza cooked in an outdoor oven. The breakfast omelets were out of this world. I selected a vegetable pasta for dinner over the lamb--it was fine, but not excellent. Serving sizes are way too big and the wait staff made you feel a little bad for not finishing a dish.

I loved the grounds, walking around the vegetable garden, and the wonderful mainroom and library.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DakotaSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
11.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
1,012 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
11.1 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
455 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#9 of 43 in Arusha
137 reviews
12.4 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 43 in Arusha
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertrees Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertrees Country Inn

Address: Near USA-River Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arusha
#4 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: $197 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an old coffee estate, Rivertrees is now a charming country inn nestled in abundant foliage with the Usa River flowing by. Set in the foothills of Mt Meru, conveniently close to Kilimanjaro International Airport and a short drive to Arusha, its location proffers a wealth of natural wonders to explore. Comprising the original Farm House, an elegant River House, luxurious River Cottages and several beautifully appointed Garden Rooms, it also serves delicious garden-fresh cuisine in its stunningly set restaurant. The swimming pool and spa are tailored for relaxation, and friendly personalised service ensures a memorable stay, whether for a one-night stopover or much longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rivertrees Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivertrees Country Hotel Arusha
Arusha Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing