We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SG Premium Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SG Premium Resort
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Holiday break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was a holiday to celebrate my 65th. Our stay here was booked for my Ugandan wife by her cousin who works in Arusha and lives about five minuets walk away. We found the service very good apart from the speed of service in the evening. I would recommend ordering your food in advance. The swimming pool is good, it is non PC over there, I was playing in the pool with our guides seven year old black daughter, this would attracted the attention of the child protection squad over here. Over there a middle aged muzungo and a young girl is not considered to be wrong. Breakfast is very good and I was able to share my birthday cake with fellow guests after my sisters-in-law set it up. Seeing other comments about service maybe it helps to be black.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibanda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    31
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
11
22
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at SG resort on three occasions, as this hotel is the hotel of choice for climb kili. We stayed there for two nights before we climbed kili and a had a great room with a queen bed and two singles. On our return from climbing kili we stayed in a queen size bedroom with a spa bath and on our return from safari we stayed in just a queen size bedroom.

For the positives- the wifi was excellent and there were two computers with free Internet in the reception area as well- although only one was working when we were there. the hot water was good and the toilet flushed. when we returned from kili the hotel was able to turn around some laundry for us within three hours- although each article of clothing cost between 2-4 dollars so we were quite selective with what we gave. The pool was very nice! The food at the restaurant was ok- it's a self serve buffet for breakfast with enough choice and quite a wide menu for lunch and dinner. my husband did get sick eating there one night and he really did not enjoy the food. I thought is was ok, but I quite like plain food.

Now for the negatives- the location is not great. there is nothing nearby, except for the shoprite super market ( about 3km away) which was handy and its close to Arusha airport.

It's hard to put a finger on it but it was sort of the atmosphere and staff that were the biggest negatives about our stay. Not only did we find this but some of the people we climbed with also felt the same way. On quite a few occasions the staff lied to us about prices to try and make a profit, on two occasions staff tried to elicit donations from my husband for their supposed charities, and staff would never return hangs even if it far exceeded a usual tip. I know that Tanzanians in the tourism industry rely on tips and we are always happy to tip for good service but at SG resort you always felt like you were being slightly ripped off.

I would probably stay at SG resort again but I know my husband and some of the other people who were on our tour would not because of the staff behaviour.

Room Tip: Level 1 had a queen and two single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoriKim_290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is my first time at the SG hotel in Arusha. The sleeping room is very good with a good size bathroom. Staff are attentive and friendly. The hotel is currently being extended but there was no disturbance. Very good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgersFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

SG Resort label themselves as a "premium resort", but for me fell well short of premium service and food.

With the exception of the breakfast the food was not good and unfortunately i got sick after eating the chicken curry. Another guest got sick from the fish while I was there.

The behavior of the staff was generally quite poor ranging from "misrepresenting" prices to soliciting donations on behalf of orphanages. While I can understand a few incidents like this, it was pretty constant from the SG resort employees. We found the service much better at other establishments in Tanzania.

On the upside the rooms at SG Resort are very nice and spacious with hot water. The WiFi is free and always available. The pool area is also quite nice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CycleB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arusha hotels

Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were told that there weren't any standard rooms available and ended up having to pay for a much more expensive room. Though it seemed that there was hardly anyone staying there.

We couldn't get any WiFi in our room and had to go to the lobby to get connection.
We couldn't control the heat or A/C in the room, so we were cold most of the time, and the power kept going out, which didn't seem a problem for the surrounding buildings

Lots of construction.
Not really the pool that it shows as that is through the parking lot rather than attached to the hotel.

I have stayed in much nicer places in Arusha for a fraction of the price.
Would be fine for business, but would avoid for pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Not quite the tranquil haven we expected pre and post Kili climb.
The hotel is recumbently under refurbishment and therefore not at its best.
Given the choice I would avoid it until the work is completed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denisewright8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The restaurant staff was helpful and friendly. The food is fine. I stayed at SG Resort by myself on September 20,21 after climbing Kilimanjaro. Once the tour operators had left, the staff was no longer helpful. I was told the hotel was full an I was placed in a room which had no working key card. Not wanting to be an ugly American, I did not complain. I had to get a staff member to get me back into my room. This was a minor inconvenience, but I did not tip each time I was let into my room. On Saturday night I came down to the lobby to check my flight status. Having forgotten my itinerary, I asked again for entrance to my room. I was told the master key card was not available and I would have to wait. I said I did not want to wait, but was then told they did not know where the card was and it might be 1/2.hour before I could return to my room. The four staff members present were speaking Swahili, but it appeared they were discussing the situation. I was then told that the person with the key was off site getting gas. I continued to firmly raise objections. A security guard and a military officer appeared, and a,though not threatening, they were not helpful either. Finally after about 25 minutes one of the staff members who had been there the whole time produced the card and I was let back in. Nothing was missing, but this was a very unsettling experience. If you are with ClimbKili, a very good guide company, mention this to them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol_gerard60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.9 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
5.2 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#6 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SG Premium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SG Premium Resort

Property: SG Premium Resort
Address: P.O. Box 15824, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SG Premium Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your SG Premium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing