We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hostel ujamaa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ujamaa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ujamaa Hostel
Ranked #17 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
1 review
“Hostel ujamaa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Awesome hostel. Very friendly, hard working and polite staff. Breakfast and dinner included. Good value for money. I stayed for a month there and had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HAMAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    16
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
11
52
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brighton, england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We had a great time at the Ujamaa recently,staying there as volunteers on our first trip to beautiful Tanzania.The hostel is comfortable and well-equipped, with a gorgeous garden and views of Mt Meru.The food is good and plentiful and we were looked after amazingly by the lovely girls who work there and sing all day long! Although we were the oldest by far, the other residents were lovely and we had lots of fun together, culminating in a night "on the town" before we left for safari.
The volunteers project we chose was the Dympna special school-- a brilliant, happy school ,which well deserves support and will remain in our hearts.We also helped with a picnic by the nearby river for street -boys and all had a brilliant time.
Shanga, a work-centre for deaf people, who create wonderful items out of recycled materials, is worth a visit -- go for lunch too-its yummy.

Room Tip: Book a bottom bunk, if you are "older", or you may be faced with a climb! The "girls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulineshenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

A great place to stay. Great location, great staff, great volunteer program, great owners, Carley and Gasper, for initiating the hostel and volunteer program and expect to have a GREAT time while staying at Ujamaa Hostel, Arusha!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

An excellent hostel, ideally located close to the city, with friendly staff, delicious food and comfy beds-with mosi nets. And for those seeking something more, fantastic links to volunteer projects, that really do make a difference! Asante.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

I must shamelessly praise the Ujamaa Volunteer Hostel in Arusha, Tanzania for their incredible hospitality, cleanliness, and connectedness to the community. I am a part of a volunteer group with The Juilliard School in NYC that, for the last three years, has come to Arusha for extensive stays. Owners Carley and Gasper have a very visible presence and nail the balance between professionalism and kindness right on the head. Hard. They are genuinely gracious people and business owners, and have been consistently receptive to all of our needs both in and out of the hostel.

As a trip leader, it is sometimes hard to find a place that can accommodate the needs of groups-- which unavoidably entails other complications (food, travel plans, our bizarre artsy fartsy members, etc). Still, Ujamaa has tended to all of our oddities swiftly and hospitably.

Furthermore, their 'Volunteer Experience'-- hooking guests of the hostel up with a project in the community-- creates an underlying pulse of good will with your bunkmates. This in turn cultivates a deep sense of family and community. The ' Volunteer Experience' itself is remarkably organized and oriented seamlessly by the staff. In a city that may seem daunting and unnavigable at first culture-shocked glance, Ujamaa makes you feel welcomed and incredibly inspired to get involved!

Another huge selling point is its location-- a short walk from the Clocktower downtown area, markets and transportation are easily accessible. You're 10 minutes from the Maasai craft market, a corner grocery, numerous internet cafes, delicious local restaurants, the Via Via night club . . . and quite frankly whatever else you may need. Still, the hostel itself is wedged beautifully inside of local daily life on a side road-- peace and quiet.

Did I mention the food is drool-worthy and cooked by the sweetest Tanzanian women on the planet? Well, it is.

But most importantly, I feel the staff trust me as a guest and have respect for me as a person. After three years, there is no other place I would choose in the Arusha area other than Ujamaa.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank in_jenna_ral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany new york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

I have fortunate to have traveled to the Arusha area five times. Ujamaa has much to offer and I highly recommend it. The location is optimal, as it is an easy walk to town. Carley and Gasper know all there is to know about the area from volunteering experiences to site seeing, local restaurants and nite spots. Carley is a wise, warm and lovely woman who is nothing but an absolute pleasure.

The food is good and you can not beat the place for the bed and food, laundry included in the price. Many folks return there time and time again. That speaks for itself!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianesara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Ujamaa was my second home. I loved the [female] staff and loved spending time with them getting to know them and gave me an opportunity to do some tutoring in English. They welcomed me 'home' after time away and I felt safe at Ujamaa. The rates very reasonable and included having my washing done. I enjoyed the walk to/from town each day as it gave me chance to interact with the local people, especially gave me the opportunity to speak with school children as I believe that through Education we can rid poverty. It also was great to find out about their daily lives. I've made some firm friends by staying at Ujamaa, and also a good understanding of project work being undertaken and I would recommend this hostel without reservation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJO16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
2.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
2.8 mi away
Meru House Inn
Meru House Inn
#16 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Green Mountain Hotel
Green Mountain Hotel
#8 of 98 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nyumbani Hostel Arusha
Nyumbani Hostel Arusha
#7 of 149 in Arusha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
3.0 mi away
Korona House
Korona House
#10 of 98 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ujamaa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ujamaa Hostel

Property: Ujamaa Hostel
Address: Njiro Block A, Plot 24, Arusha 1661, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ujamaa Hostel is for volunteers and travellers and is located in Arusha, Tanzania. We provide fun, safe, affordable accommodation where you can meet like-minded people, check out the Tanzanian culture and spend time volunteering in the local community if you want to. We welcome short-term visitors and travellers to the hostel for 1 night or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Ujamaa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ujamaa Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing