We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Metro African Spot”
Review of Kitamu Coffee

Kitamu Coffee
Ranked #2 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Arusha
Price range: $0 - $8
Description: Kitamu is a Coffee and Dessert Brand that provides authentically Tanzanian coffee coupled with exotic cakes and a friendly ambience at their Kitamu House and Kitamu Cafe. Kitamu is all about excellent African hospitality and the best Kilimanjaro Coffee
Restaurant details
Description: Kitamu is a Coffee and Dessert Brand that provides authentically Tanzanian coffee coupled with exotic cakes and a friendly ambience at their Kitamu House and Kitamu Cafe. Kitamu is all about excellent African hospitality and the best Kilimanjaro Coffee
Reviewed August 23, 2018

I enjoyed breakfast here prior to journeying into Lake Manyara. It felt like a typical NYC coffee shop with window views of a bustling city outside, Afrocentric and diverse paintings on the wall and customized high chairs with polished wooden tables. The coffee I got was tasted like a refreshing herbal blend of something relaxing. The menu included typical continental breakfast and myriad African snacks and entrees.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jascaliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 41 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2018

Had lunch there today. Had the beef Makanga and it was delicious. It comes with chips (nothing special, really, but still good) and I asked for the salad as an accompaniment. The salad had a vinegary dressing. Tasty, I just pointed that out so you don't expect a heavy mayonnaise -based dressing, this was light. I also had the banana-strawberry smoothie. VERY thick and delicious.

Wi-Fi is available and free. People sitting around with their laptops. About 30,000 shillings fell out of my pocket without my realizing it and one of the locals at a table told the staff who told me. Greatly appreciated, they could have just waited for me to leave and walked over and picked the bills up off the floor.

The bill was 16,500 shillings, I left 2500 as tip because the food was great and the staff was very nice (and I'm an American and we tip normally. You don't have to).c

I'd definitely go back, and probably will. Can't do better than that.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

Very friendly service
And the long wait was worthwhile for a very delicious vegetarian dinner.
We also brought a bottle of wine and they didn't charge us corkage.
They sell delicious home baked cookies & cakes and organic coffee.
Dinner with a bottle of water for 2 was only 19,000/= or about $8 !
Will recommend this restaurant to others.
Thank you again.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Porini64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2018 via mobile

Lovely little cafe in the heart of Arusha. Reliable and good WiFi, friendly and helpful staff, and great food. Easy place to to just sit a work or read for a few hours. Try to Samosas and the Beef makange - highly recommended.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Gatto3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2018 via mobile

We had meetings nearby and would pop in to eat and work on our laptops. Good Wi-Fi! Enjoyed the food, nice quiet place.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Kath_dT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitamu Coffee also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Kitamu Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing