We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”
Review of Hotel Flamingo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Flamingo
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Reviewed February 20, 2011

I would recommend this little hotel to everyone. It is very clean, spotless, hot water runing, the breakfast was good and mr. Ian, the manager, replied fast to me.
There are 2-3 mosques in the areea, so prepare to wake up at 5 in the morning.
30 usd/ per night for a double room with breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 73 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2010

We've just spent best part of a month travelling throughout Tanzania and cannot recommend this place highly enough. For the price (USD30 per night for Double) it doen't come better than this.

We stayed 2 nights pre Safari then headed back for another couple nights post Safari. The rooms are of basic decor, nice sized with en suite hot showers, table, couple chairs and mozzy net. beds were comfortable and linen spotless. Open shelves/wardrobe for your stuff. The whole place is constantly being cleaned by the small, totally dedicated army of women who seem to do nothing else from morning till night! Staff very helpful and always available to call taxis, answer questions, deal with any laundry, etc. Breakfast was fine with eggs, fruit and tea/coffee although we chose to venture out and explore alternatives most mornings. There is a TV downstairs across from reception where you could often find Premier League matches showing, a small bonus.

Location is good with the main market only a stones throw from here. There is a small grocer's next door for basic stuff such a s drinks, snacks, etc and the Khans chicken place (mentioned in rough guide) is one street up from here. Loads going on rights outside your doorstep. We were advised to get taxis in the evenings which we did.

All in all, great experience and yet to be fully discovered by many visitors to Arusha...this place doesn't seem to get mention in the main guide books so is less used than say Arusha Backpackers (which we checked out and weren't that impressed with). You can email them on flamingoarusha@yahoo.com for prices, availability, etc as there is no website.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisbon73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Hotel Flamingo has to be the best budget accommodation in Arusha if not all of Tanzania and East Africa. You will not find a cleaner place to stay for the price; at the time of this writing a double went for 30k TSh and a single for 25k TSh with breakfast included. We reserved via email with Ian who replied promptly and professionally. When we arrived, our spotless rooms were waiting. The staff are genuinely nice people, not the I-want-to-sell-you-something-type of nice and their focus is providing their guests with quality service.

The sheets and towels (which they replace with new ones each day) are a crisp white; they even go to the extent of replacing the soap with new ones daily. Compared to other budget accommodations where you kind of cringe getting into bed, speculating on how clean the sheets are, etc., we had every confidence that our bed was clean. Pricier hotels do not work as hard as the staff at Flamingo does at maintaining such a high level of cleanliness. In fact, you will see the staff mopping the floors several times a day.

Unlike other places, we were not pressured to use other additional "services" they provide. When we asked them where the Maasai Market was, they kindly showed us the location on a map and gave it to us to use for the day. There was no "I can arrange a guide to take you" sort of deal, which is a refreshing, and appreciated change.

Other perks include:
1. the cheapest laundry service we found in East Africa (pants/shirts for 500 TSh)
2. conviently located near Khan's Barbecue, the best cheap dinner in Arusha and a short walk from the central bus station
3. brewed coffee at breakfast, not coffee house good but not instant either
4. 24 hour hot water with good pressure

The only negative to staying here is that it is near a mosque and the pre-dawn call to prayer will sound like it comes from next door. But there are many mosques in Arusha and chances are that you will be sleeping near one anyway.

Hotel Flamingo is one of those places we felt really glad we stayed at and we can't say enough about it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shadowtorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

very clean, good linen, en suite bathrooms with hot water. breakfast is impressive (by comparison with other hotels of this price). a very good option, currently charging Tsh 25000 (about $20) for a double.

it gets booked up in advance so it is worth giving them a call the day before.

can't recommend it highly enough over the competition (we had a horrid night in the arusha backpackers, don't go there if you can avoid it.)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d4014e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Rooms are clean and simple. Bed linens are nice and mosquito netting adequate. Stayed here twice, one night before our safari and another night after. The first night we stayed in one of the corner rooms which was incredibly spacious, as was the bathroom. The 2nd night we stayed in one of the row-side rooms and it was about half the size. Paid the same price for both so it's worth taking a look at the room before paying for it. Very nice breakfast served in the morning. Staff was incredibly helpful. They helped us call a cab at 5am to catch an early bus and were very knowledgable about the area. Hotel is in a very easily accessible area of town, but be prepared for a pre-dawn wakeup call by several of the local mosques. I guess that means you won't miss the early bus to Dar Es Salaam if that's where you're headed after Arusha.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThereIsAWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Single TSh 20'000, double TSh 25'000, breakfast (Coffee or tea, toast or bred, fruits, egg, jam) included.

Place was very clean. Staff was friendly. English skills very limited. Got a single room. Bathroom was fine, the room and the sheets were clean. There were shelfs in the room, a small table, a chair and a moskito net. Hotel has Laundry service. Good location except that it is very close to a mosque which can be very disturbing at 4am.

I definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilou_clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

Caveat: for budget travelers only. The Flamingo in 2/08 was 18,000 tsh single and 20,000 tsh double. The room is basic, containing only two twins with clean white sheets and duvets, mosquito net, built-in shelving and the standard goatskin-bentwood chair. The private bath has a hot water shower -- use it before TZ's famous rolling blackouts kill the power to the water heater! Breakfast included.

The property is immaculate, scoured hourly by a team of women who never seem to stop dusting, sweeping, mopping...

It's close to a mosque, so you'll be awakened by the 5 a.m. call to prayer. It's also one street away from the most amazing street food I've ever had: Khan's Barbecue, on Mosikiti Street, an auto parts store by day, makeshift restaurant by night. The men who run it are wonderful and the food is spectacular.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly5612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
2.1 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 42 in Arusha
103 reviews
4.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#5 of 42 in Arusha
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
98 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
505 reviews
5.7 mi away
Christina House
Christina House
#8 of 132 in Arusha
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo

Address: Kikuyu St., Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing