We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but Great Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Flamingo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Flamingo
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Basic but Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Not the fanciest place you'll ever stay in, but if you're just looking for something simple and clean, you won't go wrong here. It's absolutely no frills but very evident that the employees care about the hotel and they care about you. Recommended if you're not looking for pampering and just want a home. Yes the mosques were loud but I found that I slept through the prayer calls okay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
27
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night here. But found the experience magical. Rooms are well presented & breakfast was great, loved the tea. But the staff just made it. They were friendly and very helpful Recommend to any travellers on a budget

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 2 nights here, staff are excellent, vfm is great, hot shower and en suite is brill. My single room is a good size, mozzie net and tv. Breakfast is good. Location is easy to find, next to stadium, and a short walk to Arusha attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pearlkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Thanks to your information we stayed at the Hotel Flamingo in Arusha Tanzania. It was everything the reviewers stated. The location was fine and the rate almost unbelievably inexpensive. Ian the owner is very accommodating and will help in any way he can. It is "barebones" but clean. The mosque is with ear shot but not enough to make the stay unpleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerrySchroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
242 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

3 of us spent 3 nights here, nice location, clean. Friendly English speaking staff. Close to market, internet cafe, bus station. Modest prices/night included breakfast.Be aware of the 5am wakeup call by the chanting over the loudspeakers from nearby mosques! Recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garywing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is close to the main area and we found everything we wanted within walking distance, little supermarket, ATM, local restaurants (give Kharns BBQ a try), fruit market, local shops and airline office. The hotel staff have excellent English and are very keen to help and sort out any travel problems you may have. The rooms are simple with table, chairs, bed with excellent moscuito net, shelves and very comfortable. The bathroom is basic but functional and there is hot water unlike other places we stayed. The doors are secure and big windows provide fresh air. Everywhere in this hotel is spotless with ladies constantly cleaning. Breakfast was good with homemade banana jam for the toast, fruit, egg with tea or coffee. There is a tv room and outdoor sitting area. At $35 a double this has to be a bargain. As other reviews have stated the mosque is loud and it does start early (5am) but if you know it is going to happen I think it is easier to put to the back of your mind and keep sleeping. It didn't worry us. Ian the hotel manager/owner is excellent with a hands on approach. We highly recommend this hotel with its value for money and friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Our room (15) was upstairs and had a view of mountains in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busybee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I chosed this hotel because it was very close to the bus station. I paid $25 for 1 night single room with breakfast included. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was very nice. The girl at the reception was very kind and disposed to answer my questions.
The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is the fact that he's situated between 2 mosquees and that they are yelling untill 11PM and start again at 5AM... but if, like me, you just stay for 1 night transfer it doesn't matter ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTrotter7410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.2 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#7 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meru House Inn
Meru House Inn
#16 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo

Property: Hotel Flamingo
Address: Kikuyu St., Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing