We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“expensive hotel, limited menu” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport
Ranked #24 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Dalfsen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“expensive hotel, limited menu”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We paid 120 EUR (hotel.com) for a room with two persons, including breakfast. It felt too expensive, otherwise nice place, good rooms, but just not the right price. The menu was limited and the quality of the food can be improved.

Room Tip: Hotel charges per person. When travelling alone, the price is much more in line with the quality. Si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FvK1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    133
    119
    55
    31
See reviews for
77
142
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Arriving at the Kio Lodge is an experience of 1000 pot holes. Our driver went in the ditch to avoid the pot holed road. The air conditioner is just for show it was cooler outside than in. Take a flash light with you in the shower just in case all the power in the Lodge goes out for 1 to 2 hours
at a time while showering. Make sure what ever lights there are check when you enter your room as if not the desk says the handyman is busy for the next 2 hours. At a $165 per person
this place is missing a great deal except spiders we had a few of them March 2014

Room Tip: Get a room off the main path so you can open your windows to let in fresh air without everybody look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Rick W,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Kia Lodge on Trip Advisor.

We apologies that your stay at the Kia Lodge was below your expectations.

In addition to the Air Conditioners at the lodge, we also provide standing fans that may be used inside the rooms when the AC proves to be faulty.

While the Kia Lodge is fully serviced by the National Electricity Grid, the power cuts are quite severe that sometimes we run our two backup generators for hours on end, This has also resulted in one of our back up generators being out of service at the moment and we are currently waiting for spare parts from abroad to have it fixed.

Now that we are running on one back up generator, this necessitates the need for the generator to be switched off at times for it to cool off as well as being aware of our carbon footprint, we are forced to switch off the generator for a while.

We apologies sincerely that this happened during your time there and thus resulted in an uncomfortable stay.

We are optimistic that next time you stay with us these issues shall not be replicated.

Kind Regards,

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arusha hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

As always I'm looking at this lodge from the perspective of a naturalist. For the uninitiated I don't mean someone bent on naked sun-bathing, skinny dipping etc., rather someone who loves Nature - wildlife, biodiversity call it what you will.

From this perspective KIA Lodge, beside Kilimanjaro, i.e. JRO International Airport, should be your first and last call in northern Tanzania. Try to overnight here, or at least get your safari company to slot-you-in for a shower and an evening meal prior to your overnight flight international back to the "real world" where things, pretty much, still "go according to plan".

The best thing I can recommend at KIA Lodge is to sit and sip a cool drink, preferably at sunset, by the swimming pool, sunk in its own private kopje, and watch the birds of prey and the African Marsh Owls hunting over the long grass of the airfield, only 250 metres distant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesWolstencroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menen, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

we stayed one night before and after the safari in the kia lodge.
it was only 3 min from the airport and we only heard the birds singing in the morning
we were welcomed with a drink after midnight. we stayed in lodge number 41.
the breakfast was served outsite.( group of 14 people)
we could see the kilimanjaro from the viewpoint by the pool.
after the safari we stayed in lodge nr 2 who was freshened up( very nice)
we enjoyed the pool. Dinner was very tasty. we spent some time at the bar and enjoyed our well-earned rest after a long journey from the serengeti
Breakfast was varied. toast-eggs-juice-pancakes-fruit ....
it was a surprise terurning to the kia lodge because we had to stay in the moivaro lodge at the end of our safari (reason ?). but we had a wonderfull time

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefstinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and for writing this nice review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

With regards from The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Only a 5 minute drive from the Kilimanjaro airport, the KIA Lodge is a perfect place to start your trip in Tanzania. While the distance from the airport may be too close for some, don't be fooled! The air traffic is far and few between and will not disturb your enjoyment of this wonderful lodge.

Extremely peaceful and quite, the sights are fantastic with a perfect view of Mount Kilimanjaro beside the outdoor pool above the bar. The employees are extremely friendly and will to assist where ever possible.

The food was very tasty and enjoyable. Rooms were very clean and contained no bugs (which was a nice plus!).

I would highly recommend the KIA Lodge and would return again in a heart beat.

Travellers tip - don't forget to look up! The view of the stars above at night was magnificent!

Room Tip: Each room is set in a different part of the property and is very secluded. Enjoy the wonderfulness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RunnerJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Runner JT,

Thank you for your nice review of the Kia Lodge and for posting the same on Trip Advisor.

It is true that while we are a 5 minutes drive from the Kilimanjaro International Airport, the lodge is very peaceful and quiet with fantastic views of Mount Kilimanjaro on clear days.

Its great also that you enjoyed the food, our friendly staff team as well as the rooms and that you would return in a heart beat.

Thank you,

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

After two 8 hr flights from the US: MSP-AMS-then JRO followed by a night arrival to a hot immigration wait at the airport, all we wanted was a bed and shower. Viola!--only a 5 minute drive from the airport gate is the KIA lodge. Helpful staff, Maasai guard escort to delightful round 'bandas' with good mosquito nets, AC, and hot showers. Then awaken to a Maribou stork perching on the roof. A quick change into bathing suit for a cool dip in the rooftop level pool with a spectacular view of Mt Kilimanjaro. This followed by a buffet breakfast and then checkout with our tour operator waiting outside.

What a wonderful and restful start of a Tanzania safari. This is the third visit to KIA lodge for us and it won't be the last! Thank you KIA lodge for such a KARIBU!

Room Tip: Not a bad banda in the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear John T,

We want to give you a tremendous thank you for staying with us and for the great review!

It sounds like you enjoyed the short distance to Kia Lodge after your long flight, our friendly team and the spectacular view of Mount Kilimanjaro from our pool area.

We are glad that you had a wonderful and restful start at the Kia Lodge and look forward to hosting you again.

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed here for one night due to arriving a day earlier than my group to climb Mt Kilimanjaro. I was advised by my tour operator not to travel at night in Tanzania on my own (advices also stated on FCO).

The hotel is ideally situated next to the airport and offers a free shuttle bus service between the airport and hotel.

The hotel is basic and the room I stayed in was of a hut style (plastered walls) with air con, safe, bed with mosquito net and shower room but no tv. however, the air con turns itself off after 15minutes and you have to keep turning the unit back on. This issue was confirmed to me that it was not just my room by other guests having the same problem with the air con. The room is comfortable and convenient for a one night stayover.

The hotel has a bar, swimming pool with viewpoint onto Mt Kilimanjaro and a restaurant. The food in the restaurant for breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markw2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
2.3 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
10.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#6 of 98 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
2.7 mi away
Moivaro Lodge
Moivaro Lodge
#13 of 149 in Arusha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport

Property: Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport
Address: Ngalo Rd | 3 km from Kilimanjaro Airport, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to KIA Lodge, 'your door to Tanzania' at less than 5 minutesdrive from Kilimanjaro International Airport. The lodge is situated on a secluded hill in the heart of beautiful savannah scenery that is so typical for East Africa. Guests can admire the vast views of the African plains and of course the grand Kilimanjaro Mountain that shows her snowy top mostly in the morning and at sundown.Because of its location, the KIA Lodge is an ideal safe haven for arriving and departing Tanzania,climbing the Kilimanjaro or traveling on to the northern safari destinations. The friendly service, Zanzibar style reception, typical African decorations, and indoor and al fresco restaurant offer a warm welcome to into the Tanzanian culture. Drink a Kilimanjaro beer in the open bar, enjoy over a hundred species of birds in the savannah garden, or relax at our hilltop swimming pool with great views of Mt Kilimanjaro, Mt Meru, the Blue Mountains and the Maasai plains all around.At KIA lodge we will ensure that you are looked after in a unique friendly and peaceful environment, helping you to prepare for your safaris or climbs and cosseting you on your arrival or return home. With our beautiful gardens we can honestly boast the fact that we are not just an airport hotel but also a true lodge where you can immediately get a real taste of Africa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kia Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing