We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time safari in AFRICA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport
Ranked #21 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Menen, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“First time safari in AFRICA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

we stayed one night before and after the safari in the kia lodge.
it was only 3 min from the airport and we only heard the birds singing in the morning
we were welcomed with a drink after midnight. we stayed in lodge number 41.
the breakfast was served outsite.( group of 14 people)
we could see the kilimanjaro from the viewpoint by the pool.
after the safari we stayed in lodge nr 2 who was freshened up( very nice)
we enjoyed the pool. Dinner was very tasty. we spent some time at the bar and enjoyed our well-earned rest after a long journey from the serengeti
Breakfast was varied. toast-eggs-juice-pancakes-fruit ....
it was a surprise terurning to the kia lodge because we had to stay in the moivaro lodge at the end of our safari (reason ?). but we had a wonderfull time

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefstinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and for writing this nice review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

With regards from The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    133
    119
    55
    31
See reviews for
78
142
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Only a 5 minute drive from the Kilimanjaro airport, the KIA Lodge is a perfect place to start your trip in Tanzania. While the distance from the airport may be too close for some, don't be fooled! The air traffic is far and few between and will not disturb your enjoyment of this wonderful lodge.

Extremely peaceful and quite, the sights are fantastic with a perfect view of Mount Kilimanjaro beside the outdoor pool above the bar. The employees are extremely friendly and will to assist where ever possible.

The food was very tasty and enjoyable. Rooms were very clean and contained no bugs (which was a nice plus!).

I would highly recommend the KIA Lodge and would return again in a heart beat.

Travellers tip - don't forget to look up! The view of the stars above at night was magnificent!

Room Tip: Each room is set in a different part of the property and is very secluded. Enjoy the wonderfulness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RunnerJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Runner JT,

Thank you for your nice review of the Kia Lodge and for posting the same on Trip Advisor.

It is true that while we are a 5 minutes drive from the Kilimanjaro International Airport, the lodge is very peaceful and quiet with fantastic views of Mount Kilimanjaro on clear days.

Its great also that you enjoyed the food, our friendly staff team as well as the rooms and that you would return in a heart beat.

Thank you,

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

After two 8 hr flights from the US: MSP-AMS-then JRO followed by a night arrival to a hot immigration wait at the airport, all we wanted was a bed and shower. Viola!--only a 5 minute drive from the airport gate is the KIA lodge. Helpful staff, Maasai guard escort to delightful round 'bandas' with good mosquito nets, AC, and hot showers. Then awaken to a Maribou stork perching on the roof. A quick change into bathing suit for a cool dip in the rooftop level pool with a spectacular view of Mt Kilimanjaro. This followed by a buffet breakfast and then checkout with our tour operator waiting outside.

What a wonderful and restful start of a Tanzania safari. This is the third visit to KIA lodge for us and it won't be the last! Thank you KIA lodge for such a KARIBU!

Room Tip: Not a bad banda in the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear John T,

We want to give you a tremendous thank you for staying with us and for the great review!

It sounds like you enjoyed the short distance to Kia Lodge after your long flight, our friendly team and the spectacular view of Mount Kilimanjaro from our pool area.

We are glad that you had a wonderful and restful start at the Kia Lodge and look forward to hosting you again.

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed here for one night due to arriving a day earlier than my group to climb Mt Kilimanjaro. I was advised by my tour operator not to travel at night in Tanzania on my own (advices also stated on FCO).

The hotel is ideally situated next to the airport and offers a free shuttle bus service between the airport and hotel.

The hotel is basic and the room I stayed in was of a hut style (plastered walls) with air con, safe, bed with mosquito net and shower room but no tv. however, the air con turns itself off after 15minutes and you have to keep turning the unit back on. This issue was confirmed to me that it was not just my room by other guests having the same problem with the air con. The room is comfortable and convenient for a one night stayover.

The hotel has a bar, swimming pool with viewpoint onto Mt Kilimanjaro and a restaurant. The food in the restaurant for breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markw2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed there for only one night. Our flight arrived late at KIA airport, so we were happy not to have to drive far. A very convenient place to start your trip. The best was to get our first view of Kilimandjaro when we woke up in the morning!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Pierre,

Thank you very much for your nice review of the Kia Lodge, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

On normal clear days, Mount Kilimanjaro is very visible, and most of our guests enjoy this scenic view and take lots of pictures to take home with them! what a lifetime treasure.

We hope to host you at the Kia Lodge again soon.

Thank You,

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Not cheapest Lodge available but so convenient.
Arriving on the later flights this is the place to stay. They offer a free pick up/drop off service to the Airport some ten minutes drive away.
Comfortable clean rooms and pleasant staff. Good food and nice grounds to settle in to the Africa mood.
Booking direct with Moivara was quick and simple via Email from home or get your agent to do it for you.
Check in was quick and clean and in less than an hour from landing at KIA/JRO we were settled into our rooms. They offer Day rooms for outbound pax to clean up after Safari but we did not use this this time.
The grounds are well laid out, there is a pool for exercise if there for any length of time and given the convenience we feel it is value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed here on the way back from Kilimanjaro as I had an early flight. There's no need to stay for any reason other than the proximity to the airport but the pool is nice, the restaurant nice but uninspiring, and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnluckyTransfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
26.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
15.1 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
23.3 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
22.5 mi away
Moivaro Lodge
Moivaro Lodge
#14 of 149 in Arusha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
25.4 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#7 of 101 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport

Property: Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport
Address: Ngalo Rd | 3 km from Kilimanjaro Airport, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to KIA Lodge, 'your door to Tanzania' at less than 5 minutesdrive from Kilimanjaro International Airport. The lodge is situated on a secluded hill in the heart of beautiful savannah scenery that is so typical for East Africa. Guests can admire the vast views of the African plains and of course the grand Kilimanjaro Mountain that shows her snowy top mostly in the morning and at sundown.Because of its location, the KIA Lodge is an ideal safe haven for arriving and departing Tanzania,climbing the Kilimanjaro or traveling on to the northern safari destinations. The friendly service, Zanzibar style reception, typical African decorations, and indoor and al fresco restaurant offer a warm welcome to into the Tanzanian culture. Drink a Kilimanjaro beer in the open bar, enjoy over a hundred species of birds in the savannah garden, or relax at our hilltop swimming pool with great views of Mt Kilimanjaro, Mt Meru, the Blue Mountains and the Maasai plains all around.At KIA lodge we will ensure that you are looked after in a unique friendly and peaceful environment, helping you to prepare for your safaris or climbs and cosseting you on your arrival or return home. With our beautiful gardens we can honestly boast the fact that we are not just an airport hotel but also a true lodge where you can immediately get a real taste of Africa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kia Hotel Moshi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing