We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outpost Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$174
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$74
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveler rating
98
211
88
22
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
211
88
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe mambostayed hereg adventuresquiet streetplace to staysmall poolrooms are cleancold beermaasai marketpublic areasclock towermosquito nethot showerindian foodlaundry servicebusy cityclimbing mt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 426 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We arrived at the Lodge, as per our planned itinerary, 'in time for a late dinner'. Our flight was on time, and the transfer swift so no delay to the plan. The place was completely closed up, the guy on the desk was clearly not expecting us to want to eat, said everything closed up at 9pm, no drinks were available but he grudgingly offered us a bottle of water or said he could call a cab to take us to find a restaurant in town! We decided to go without. The room was OK, if basic but the bathroom was disgusting with a small, cracked basin and horrible shower with open, dirty drain hole. The taps were just wheels, the hot one getting so hot I had to use a cloth to close it again or risk burning my fingers! Staff were indifferent at best, and the breakfast was poor. A very bad start to our safari trip, which fortunately improved dramatically as we moved on. Unfortunately we had to spend another night there on our return and this time got a meal - and the same room. Never got an apology for what happened on the first night. Avoid this place - there must be much better available at a similar price in Arusha!

Room Tip: I doubt there is one!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katherine153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fisheaglepoint, Owner at Outpost Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We have been following up on all the issues you mention. We are sorry that this wasn’t brought to our attention before you left. We must, and do, apologize most sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed here before my 6 day trek up Kilimanjaro (for 1 night). I typically don't stay in lodges (usually full service hotels) but considering I was in a third world country, it did the job. The food was decent, good service. A little loud at night since it's located right in the middle of Arusha (dogs barking at night and roosters in the morning lol), as a light sleeper, I brought earplugs, that did the trick for me. Overall a good place to stay (it had running water and a toilet so that's bonus when in this part of Africa!).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie-France L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed here for a night either end of climbing Kilimanjaro, we were pleasantly surprised by the place as it was included in our climb so we expected a dive!! Staff were friendly and welcoming. Room consisted of 2 single beds with a good mosquito net with no holes, desk with TV and Kettle. The room and linen was clean. The first night we stayed the hot water took a long time to run through but did eventually and was lovely and hot, the second time we stayed the shower wasn't that warm.

Didn't use the pool but looked clean. Wifi available in the cafe and reception, though is quite slow. In a quiet area of Arusha, cash machine 1 minute up the road.

Breakfast is served 7 - 9am. Fresh fruit, cornflakes, toast (avoid the butter...it's like plastic!) and made to order omelets.

The cafe also serves yummy food and delicious fruit juices, we recommend the shredded lamb.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in a block, others in little huts. The huts were fun to stay in but both have similar rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExeterHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here two different nights shortly after arrival in Tanzania. We were very pleased with the service and hospitality. Exactly what we wanted and needed and an excellent place to stay in transition to our safari.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights before and 1 night after a Kilimanjaro hike. Rooms were clean and basic. The A rooms (annex) had no water the morning we left for our hike white the R (residential) rooms did have water; not sure why the difference. The A rooms have individual water heaters in each room. The R units have a central heater. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Laundry service is available. Easy walk to the town center. Wifi exists in the café area. Food was good (free breakfast consisting of omelet, sausage, coffee/tea, cereal, toast, and fruit). Lots of good Indian meals on the menu, opinions on the pizza were mixed. We didn't use the pool or see anyone else using it, but it appears nice. Ladies, bring your own shampoo/conditioner; the hotel provides shampoo but I was happy to have brought my own.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trixie449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews