We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fit for purpose for Arusha layovers”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Outpost Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Outpost Lodge
Ranked #6 of 101 Arusha B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fit for purpose for Arusha layovers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Totally acceptable hotel with decent, relatively clean rooms and a good kitchen. We stopped over here on our way to and from hiking up Kilimanjaro and for that purpose, Outpost lodge works fine. Its relatively close to the city if you decide to explore Arusha a little.

Room Tip: Try to get a room outside of the main building. The main building rooms are a bit worn and can be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    199
    80
    19
    7
See reviews for
54
145
39
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

3 of us stayed at Outpost lodge a day before and after our Mt Kilimanjaro climb 1st week in October. I must say that our stay was pleasant, the atmosphere is so peaceful. I love the dining area, pool area and the little sitting area, it is so cozy. The rooms are spotless and we had a good stay. Only thing is that it would have been nice for the wifi to work in the rooms as well, but it was good reception at the pool area. Our luggage was stored away until we got back. The workers are friendly, and very helpful. Thank you, I definitely recommend anyone to stay here, not forgetting it is value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLinda333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at the Outpost Lodge two days prior to my Kili climb and then stayed another night before and then after my safari. I found the rooms very basic and clean, just as expected. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant had a very wide selection of options and I found every meal prepared very well. I would come back to Outpost Lodge and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorrisDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed for one night before we went out on safari. Grounds seemed safe, but all info given in the room said basically don't leave the grounds without security - as in don't even go to the bank a couple hundred meters down the street. Unlike most places in Tanzania, person who brought bags to room pretty much asked for a tip rather than just split the tip one usually leaves at end of stay that gets split communally. Room was basic, as said in other reviews. Pool was nice to soak our feet and sit around with a soda. Power went out for a while during the night, and believe they were burning trash or something as smelled of smoke for some of the night as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fisheaglepoint, Owner at Outpost Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to let us know about your stay at The Outpost.

We had no idea that staff carrying luggage to rooms were soliciting tips. There is, in fact, a central tip box which is split between all staff. We sincerely apologize that you were subject to this experience and we are following up to ensure that this habit does not continue.

It is not our intention to frighten guests into staying on our grounds and security to go out-and -about is certainly not necessary! Our notice in the rooms is intended purely as a reminder to be sensible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here for two days before I climbed Mount Kilimanjaro and a day after.

I arrived late at night and there was someone at reception to check me in & help carry the bags to my room. The room was basic but functional, and had all the amenities I required. I was on a backpacking trip so I wasn't looking for luxurious surroundings. The room could have benefitted from some renovation, the door didn't fit properly and there was a large gap underneath it that a small animal could have fitted through so I didn't feel particularly secure. Also the wifi service which was advertised was not available in my room, though the people next door could get it. I also had no hot water in the shower for the first two days, though I did in the basin.

I had a different room after the climb and it was much better. The door fitted properly, the room was better furnished and I had lots of hot water. I also got wifi in this room.

What you cannot escape in this establishment is the howling of the neighbourhood dogs at night . All three nights I stayed the nearby dogs howled and barked all night, so sleeping soundly was therefore ruled out and it made the area seem slightly intimidating.

I never used the pool so can't comment on that though I did see someone cleaning it every day. I also left luggage here while I climbed Kilimanjaro and it was held in a secure place and labelled etc.

The food at the B&B's cafe, Cafe Mambo, was good and the service was very reasonable. Our food arrived fairly quickly after being ordered and was hot and tasty. The menu was extensive and catered for all dietary requirements, prices were very reasonable and the staff were very pleasant.

Given I wasn't on a trip where I expected luxury then the accommodation was perfectly adequate and acceptable for my purpose.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EtiveGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The outpost lodge is used as a starting point for safaris or expeditions to Kilimanjaro. We stayed there for one night at the start and one night at the end of our safari. The rooms are very basic, reasonably clean but not well maintained. We waited for an hour after ordering food before it arrived and even then they got it wrong. When you rely on tour operators to book accommodation you are really at their mercy unless you know the area. I would not go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that is not overlooking the kitchen area or you will get little sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Outpost lodge for 3 nights during our recent trip to Tanzania. It was a good and safe option to stay in Arusha and better than some of the other lodges we looked at, though nothing really special. The rooms were nice and clean. The bathroom was clean and big. Basic amenities were provided. Staff was quite helpful and helped us find rooms even though they has some issues with our booking dates. The restaurant food and service were okay. The wifi connection was spotty though. So overall a pleasant experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pyxdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
3.2 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.0 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
11.5 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outpost Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outpost Lodge

Property: Outpost Lodge
Address: 37A Serengeti Road | P O Box 11520, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Outpost Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unpretentious, and truly 'value for money'. Clean and safe, beautiful tropical surroundings with quiet relaxed atmosphere... bar, restaurant, cafe, free wifi, laundry service, and free safe bagage store while on safari. A home away from home in true East African style. 20 minute walk from the downtown, satellite TV, genuine cafe and friendly helpful staff... welcome - Karibu sana! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Outpost Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outpost Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing