We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$280
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
$162
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$218
$187
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Korona House(Arusha)
$60
$45
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mvuli Hotel(Arusha)
$53
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$469
$455
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveler rating
109
216
88
22
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
216
88
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed hereg adventuresteam kilimanjaroon site restaurantplace to staysmall poolcold beerrooms are cleanpublic areasmaasai marketclock towerkili climbbusy cityplenty of hot waterpre and postquiet placecouple of nights
Filter
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 442 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2008

We traveled throughout Tanzania for the month of July 2007, and stayed at the Outpost at two separate times: for 3 nights when we first arrived in Tanz, and then for one night before our Mt. Meru climb.

The accommodations are basic, secure, and clean. Hot water was generally available when we wanted to shower. Try to get one of the cottage rooms rather than one in the main building--they are much nicer. If there are multiple rooms free, ask to look at a few because they seem to vary substantially.

The Outpost is perhaps a 20-minute walk from the downtown, and tourists are advised by locals not to make that walk after dark due to the prevalence of petty crime. The lodge's restaurant is adequate--slow and certainly nothing special, but the food will fuel you for your adventures.

The staff are reasonably helpful and friendly; we found that the front-desk staff and security guards were generally more so than the restaurant staff. However, my boyfriend was quite sick prior to our Meru climb and the restaurant staff did attempt to come up with a bland meal to settle his stomach and helpfully took it to him in bed (even though I offered to take it to the room).

During the day, we did enjoy making the walk into downtown Arusha, chatting with some of the local folks and checking out the hustle and bustle of the city. Do be prepared to get a lot of attention from street hawkers.

All in all, we preferred staying at the Outpost more than we would have liked staying in the city proper, and it is a perfectly satisfactory budget option for Arusha travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Kate3671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2008

We stopped at the Outpost Lodge on the first and last nights of our safari in Jan/Feb 2008. We found this lodge to be clean, friendly and a good overnight stop. A nice quiet bar/restaurant area and friendly staff. Our booking was messed up on our return from safari but was quickly amended by the reception staff with little fuss for us. Internet access was available. The surrounding streets were quite dark at night but we didn't feel the need to venture out as we were tired after a long flight from Australia and then tired after our safari. Had all we needed for a quiet overnight.

2  Thank capricorn_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

I found the Outpost Lodge to be a good budget option in Arusha. It is set in the leafy suburbs of Arusha and as such away from all the hustle and bustle of downtown Arusha which is just a couple of miles away. The ATM of Barclays bank is within walking distance as are quite a few restaurants though I am not sure how safe it would be to venture out after dark.

The hotel is set in well maintained gardens, is very secure and has the added advantage of a swimming pool - very inviting on hot afternoons.

The rooms are basic and clean and come equipped with mosquito nets and a TV. The walls are wafer thin so if your neighboring guests don't keep you up the pesky dogs outside sure will with their all night barking. The shower had hot water all day.

The restaurant served the traditional traveler fare of pizzas, burger and chips. Not the best option for eating in but not too bad either if you are stuck in. The service can be a tad slow so have a few cold Kilimanjaro beers before the food arrives.

The reception staff were very helpful and internet access is available for a small fee.

The hotel is used my many tour groups either on safari or the Kili climb and is a good place to meet other travelers.

If you are looking for a no frills budget option that is clean, secure and has helpful staff then I would recommend this hotel and let's face it Arusha has a real shortage of these.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Hagar_the_Horrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We passed through Arusha for a day on each end of a safari.

The hotel is located a long walk from downtown near a Barclay's bank and a working ATM. You are advised not to walk in the area after dark. As such you are quite limited as to restaurants unless you call a taxi and go elswhere.

This hotel's main virtue is that it's inexpensive. The rooms were marginally clean with what they call ensuite shower and toilet, mosquito netted beds (very comfortable) and safe grounds. At night the hotel grounds are very quiet except for the dogs that barked at about 2-3 AM on the nights we were there.

The restaurant was very very slow but the food acceptable--though somewhat pricey for Arusha. Breakfast was adequate.

This is a popular stop in Arusha. Not a bad value but somewhat quirky.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cycledoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews