We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and cheerful”
Review of Outpost Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Outpost Lodge
Ranked #8 of 125 Arusha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is an adequate option for a short stay in Arusha. Rooms are comfortable, but in the cold season, a little chilly. Food is OK, but no warm place to eat in the cold early mornings. Service OK, but slow.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Outpost Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 402 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Outpost Lodge was a wonderful place that I enjoyed staying at while in Arusha. The rooms provide a comfortable stay with a nice hot shower, a mosquito net, and there was even a television in my room. The restaurant made amazing food and had a variety of options to choose from at every meal. The wifi was a plus. There were many places to sit and relax, like in the dining room, at the pool, in the lounge area near the coffee place, or at the chairs/tables on the porches of some of the rooms. The set-up of the Lodge was unique and the staff was more than accommodating with any and every request presented to them. I would return again if I am ever back in Arusha!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McCormick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Much like another reviewer said, it's comfortable, gets the job done without being fancy. Not to say that this place is like a Motel 6 or anything because it's actually decorated with a personality of its own. The restaurant provides a lush setting with plenty of lounging and table options. A nice little pool with some lounge chairs on the side. It's definitely the landing zone for pre/post safari or Kili excursions. And it provides you with exactly what you need- a comfortable bed, hot shower and peaceful setting. The nightly entertainment is a little too cheesy for our liking--but you can't fault them for trying!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DhaleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Located ~10min walk from the clock tower, the outpost is comfortable, affordable and gets the job done without being fancy. Friendly service staff. This is a reasonable place to start or end a safari.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thiakx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Outpost has a great location in the city and offered everything I needed. A hot shower, comfortable bed, plenty of space to relax, and amazing food all made my experience wonderful. The meals were different every day and there were many amenities that I hadn't expected to find but loved like a tv in the dining room and a pool to cool off in. The service was great and the bar had a great selection of coffee to choose from. The staff took care of my extra luggage and laptop when I went away on safari and were always around to help me. Great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms near the entrance have wifi
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanner G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Outpost Hotel was a delightful experience. My room was lovely,overlooking the pool, mosquito nets provided, and a huge bathroom with a great shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I was going on a safari and I was allowed to feel excess luggage in the hotel's storage room until my return. This was a wonderful service and my belongings were returned to me safe and sound. A lot of the hotel's guests were launching their climb of Mount Kilimanjaro from the hotel and an atmosphere of sheer excitement hung in the air. Mucho fun hanging out in the bar. Food was great and inexpensive. I loved the chicken curry and nan!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A nice friendly place, great rooms, very friendly staff. Ample mosquito nets (not the cocoon type!). The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and a broad range of meals prepared with care, no "slap and dash" here. All round a very nice place to rest for the night. The only complaint was our shower failed to provide hot water, which on a cold Arusha morning was a bit rough, the manager was apologetic and offered another room to have a hot shower in, however we did not have time. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumosui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.0 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 44 in Arusha
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 44 in Arusha
985 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 44 in Arusha
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 44 in Arusha
452 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 44 in Arusha
95 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outpost Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outpost Lodge

Address: 37A Serengeti Road | P O Box 11520, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range: $68 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Outpost Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unpretentious, and truly 'value for money'. Clean and safe, beautiful tropical surroundings with quiet relaxed atmosphere... bar, restaurant, cafe, free wifi, laundry service, and free safe bagage store while on safari. A home away from home in true East African style. 20 minute walk from the downtown, satellite TV, genuine cafe and friendly helpful staff... welcome - Karibu sana! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Outpost Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outpost Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing