We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good place to stay”
Review of Arusha Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arusha Crown Hotel
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good place to stay”
Reviewed December 16, 2010

well located, good restaurant, free internet and free computer, good room, but we had problems with the shower.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeromelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    24
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
19
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

This hotel has all the standard features of an international chain, including an in-room safe which can be hard to find in Tanzania. The airconditioning was a portable air cooler, which didn't do much but was better than nothing. The room was spacious and new, the bathroom very useable. The only down side was the mosque which gives a very loud and early morning wake up call - which can be rather unpleasant if you aren't already awake. The road noise can also be a bit loud, but that depends on which side of the hotel you are situated. Location is right in the middle of the town, but Arusha is not large, so location is not that important - everything is walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KXCAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We spent there two nights: one before and one after our safari.

The rooms were clean and good size. They also have free wi-fi in the lobby.

The breakfast was very basic, but OK. The restaurant had a good choice in the menu and the served food was good.

Staff was very helpful and kind. They're a big plus of that hotel.

Generally the hotel could be recommended for a short stay if you’re not too fussy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SlavD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
283 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2009

The hotel is a good option for an overnight stay before/after a safari at Serengeti/Ngorongoro. The rooms are clean and modern though the lower floor ones at the front may be noisy over the main road. Arusha doesnt have many 'must see' attractions and the hotel is at the top end of the town centre about a 15 minute walk from the clock tower. You'll probably need a taxi to get back if you go out at night (the roads arent well lit and there are quite a few holes). The breakfast at the hotel was ok and a plus point was that they let us leave a bag there while we went on safari (we stayed the night before and the night we got back). One small criticism was that the reception staff weren't what you'd call friendly. Efficient enough but never smiling and seemed a bit bored. In summary, a good clean option for an overnight stay but you wouldnt want to spend much longer in Arusha.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The North, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed here having travelled overland from Nairobi. It was just a single night as a jump off point for a 6 night safari. The hotel is immaculately clean, and cool. Our room had no aircon but or fan, but was cool because of a fantastic ventilation system and the buildings design. However it is situated between 3 mosques, and there is no escaping the sound of the call to prayer at daybreak. Not the start of the day we were hoping for.

It is however very convienient for Khans Barbeque garage. You must eat there if your only there for the one night.

Was great as a jump of point, but better hotels if staying in Arusha after a Safari of Killi Trek and need a little budget pampering and clean shower

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — The noise, not the alarm call you want on holiday
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chefknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arusha hotels

RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed in a double deluxe room in the Arusha Crown Hotel. It cost $78 per night (for 2 people) including breakfast. Breakfast was sufficent and included toast, eggs, fruit, juice, and coffee/tea. The deluxe part meant that we had an extra room that contained a small mini fridge but nothing else. I think the difference in price between the deluxe and normal was minimal (~$5 extra per night) and that is why we book it. It was clean and safe. It is about a 10 min walk from the more "touristy" side of town, which was nice because we did not get hassled by people selling tours or souvenirs every time we left the hotel. The only complaints I had was that the front desk has English was limited and could not help us with directions to place. Also the shower curtain did not reach the bottom of the shower so the bathroom extremely wet after every shower.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfliegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

We used this hotel after a 7 day camping safari. We booked it as a treat ($70 BB per dbl room) and were really pleased we did as one of us wasn't feeling too great. Bright room with comfy double bed, ensuite with hot shower, TV, freestanding air conditioner. Right in the centre of town proper rather than at he centre of the tourist bit. We had a corner room with big windows (with mosquito screens). I've added some photos of the view - so although the hotel doesn't have an African feel, you're right in the middle of things (don't be put off, Arusha's great and feels friendly and safe and it was nice watching the footie training). Photos of the rooms on their website are accurate. Good restaurant with huge portions (as usual it seems for Tanzania) and nice breakfast.
There are cheaper more rustic places to stay in Arusha that are perfectly great but this was great as a treat!

  • Liked — location, luxury!, service
  • Disliked — no real African atmosphere
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cls_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.6 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.8 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Peace Hotel Arusha
Peace Hotel Arusha
#30 of 41 in Arusha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Safari Hotel
New Safari Hotel
#27 of 41 in Arusha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Crown Hotel

Property: Arusha Crown Hotel
Address: Makongoro Road, P. O. Box 854, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arusha Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Arusha Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing