We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price quality ratio”
Review of Arusha Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arusha Crown Hotel
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Everyone moves a bit slow but this is Africa :) You pay a fair price for the services provided. Worth checking out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TanzanianSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 51 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2011

This hotel seems to aspire to a kind of blank anonymous international chain-hotel feel, and it succeeds. This is fantastic in a country where most hotels I've stayed in for business (granted, at half the price or less) have some combination of cockroaches, sudden startling noise, holes in the mosquito net and weird posters featuring fruit or Jesus. The Arusha Crown Hotel is dignified and tidy, clean, whole and well-functioning. My room (nr. 201) has everything you need and everything works.
I booked here having read the other reviews, and asked (repeatedly) for a quiet room. The one I got overlooks the street, so there's enough traffic noise to warrant earplugs at night, but no enthusiastic roosters, motorbike repair shops or small-business turf wars. The three reported mosques don't really bother me.
The restaurant features attentive staff but indifferent food and no booze. Nice Africafe-standard breakfast (you know it's real good when they give you a cafetiere): but they also provide cocoa so you can mix your own instant 'mocha'.
The view is of Mount Meru to the right and, the only downside, the hangout of streetkids on the steps of the Stadium in front. This makes you contemplate the vagaries of income distribution and is quite sad, but not a flaw of the hotel as such. The afternoon street markets are only a block away if you need any useful household goods, vegetables and fruit, tailoring services or second-hand clothes.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LinTinTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed here on our way from Amboseli to Dar es Salaam. Manager was very helpful with our arrangements. He arranged early breakfast at 5am for us to catch our 5.50am bus. Ordered us a taxi and arranged escort to nearby ATM on out arrival night. Dinner was great. Room is a bit simple but sufficient. Free stable wifi throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bobui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

well located, good restaurant, free internet and free computer, good room, but we had problems with the shower.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeromelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

This hotel has all the standard features of an international chain, including an in-room safe which can be hard to find in Tanzania. The airconditioning was a portable air cooler, which didn't do much but was better than nothing. The room was spacious and new, the bathroom very useable. The only down side was the mosque which gives a very loud and early morning wake up call - which can be rather unpleasant if you aren't already awake. The road noise can also be a bit loud, but that depends on which side of the hotel you are situated. Location is right in the middle of the town, but Arusha is not large, so location is not that important - everything is walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KXCAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We spent there two nights: one before and one after our safari.

The rooms were clean and good size. They also have free wi-fi in the lobby.

The breakfast was very basic, but OK. The restaurant had a good choice in the menu and the served food was good.

Staff was very helpful and kind. They're a big plus of that hotel.

Generally the hotel could be recommended for a short stay if you’re not too fussy.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SlavD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

The hotel is a good option for an overnight stay before/after a safari at Serengeti/Ngorongoro. The rooms are clean and modern though the lower floor ones at the front may be noisy over the main road. Arusha doesnt have many 'must see' attractions and the hotel is at the top end of the town centre about a 15 minute walk from the clock tower. You'll probably need a taxi to get back if you go out at night (the roads arent well lit and there are quite a few holes). The breakfast at the hotel was ok and a plus point was that they let us leave a bag there while we went on safari (we stayed the night before and the night we got back). One small criticism was that the reception staff weren't what you'd call friendly. Efficient enough but never smiling and seemed a bit bored. In summary, a good clean option for an overnight stay but you wouldnt want to spend much longer in Arusha.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.6 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 43 in Arusha
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Point Zone Resort
Point Zone Resort
#32 of 43 in Arusha
17 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 43 in Arusha
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Meru House Inn
Meru House Inn
#21 of 43 in Arusha
42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Safari Hotel
New Safari Hotel
#30 of 43 in Arusha
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Crown Hotel

Address: Makongoro Road | Besides Amri Abeid Memorial Stadium, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range: $49 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arusha Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing