We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long layover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monarch Plaza Hotel
Ranked #22 of 147 Hotels in Taoyuan
Reviewed January 9, 2014

booked this hotel through an online booking service - consumer beware. The staff are great, they felt so sorry that we paid so much that they upgraded us which meant getting less amenities but more SF. Looks to be center Taoyuan, Community Arts Center about a 5 block walk, park to enjoy is directly across from hotel. breakfast is a slight east/west mix but leans more east. Room (suite) was fair sized, clean with just all amenities including robe and slippers. We had 4 bottles of water provided. All television broadcast is in Chinese including the writing on the remote. We were granted a late checkout (2p) and enjoyed the pricy lunch buffet. $450NTD cab ride ($15USD) with light to medium traffic from airport, upon arrival you will be greeted by a doorman, or two. Kids are not allowed to use public Jacuzzi or pool on 4th floor even with adult supervision, our 10 year old was disappointed with this policy as we're we.
I do recommend this hotel but book direct. The booking services will list a suite with prime amenities such as an in-room Jacuzzi, unfortunately the room is too small and you're better off with the simple suite at a reduced cost. I would include pictures but there wouldn't be much change from the professional pictures.

Room Tip: take a walk around, you'll see a very vibrant economy as this appears to be near the downtown ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 123 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

This hotel is relatively close to the airport and a good value. Clean, quiet rooms and good Internet service. You will see a lot of airlines' flying crews here. The included breakfast varies in quality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveFreeOrTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Hotel local is not prefect but just 1/2 hour away from Taipei 101 by bus. 20 minute to airport; Lovely staff, very friendly, make us feel like home. Try almost all their facility, most recommended is the health club since they charge annual membership for outside customer.

Room Tip: Park view room is very nice, the view is great, make sure request high floor since those rooms just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ckfjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed there on a business trip for 2 days. Room was ready when I got there after the long flight from the US. The room was probably the biggest room that I stayed in during this trip. Bathroom was huge, room had a separate area behind the bed which had a huge desk, along with fax machine and printer. Didn't use either one but this was a nice touch. Internet was okay. Breakfast was good. You could order eggs the way you wanted them. Fruits were fresh. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have had a bit of an Asia business tour and this was a hotel that I wa sin for 2 nights as it was close to a customer. It was OK and adequet, clean and nothing really to complain nor nothing either particulary spectacular!! The staff however very pleasent and helpful.
I did find the breakfast to be a bit of a bunfight so be warned if you do like a relaxing breakfast!! As i am not a breakkie person it didi not really bother me!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for business reasons and it was a good exp overall.
Like:
1. Rooms - amazing
2. Location - though far from city and work, mall next door is a good plus point
3. Service - good

Dislike:
1. Breakfast
2. Staff unable to speak English, which is fair enough but would be good if they could.

Overall:
If I have to stay in Taoyuan again, wont mind Monarch again. Great hotel overall

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank It55id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I am here on business and have had a very nice experience with this hotel and the staff! Everyone here is very helpful and friendly and make you feel welcome. The breakfast is nice and fresh and the food in the lounge is quite tasty. There is a lot to see walking around town as well as some very good restaurants and night markets. I want to thank Alice for all her hard work and hospitality, she is a great asst manager for the hotel. Hank and Lara are also very wonderful and helpful. The cleaning staff is great too, the room is always very clean and I enjoy the fresh fruit they leave in the room.
The only thing I would say I am not 100% happy with is the bed, I think it's a little too hard for me, but the pillows are nice.

Room Tip: for extended stays I would recommend a jr suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taoyuan hotels
6.5 mi away
Hotel Kuva Chateau
Hotel Kuva Chateau
#5 of 147 in Taoyuan
348 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Novotel Taipei Taoyuan International Airport
2.4 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Taoyuan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fullon Hotel Taoyuan
Fullon Hotel Taoyuan
#20 of 147 in Taoyuan
117 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taoyuan
8.0 mi away
Hotel Orchard Park
Hotel Orchard Park
#9 of 147 in Taoyuan
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Plaza Hotel

Address: No.300, Section 1, Chuang Ching Road, Taoyuan City, Taoyuan 330, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taoyuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Taoyuan
#6 Spa Hotel in Taoyuan
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taoyuan
Price Range: $121 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary buffet breakfastFree wireless internet access in roomFree Cancellation up to 24 hours prior to arrivalComplimentary welcome fruitComplimentary welcome drinkComplimentary daily newspaperFree parkingFree access of Monarch Royal Health Club facilities, such as indoor heated swimming pool, whirl pool, professional gym, sauna, steam room and baking room etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monarch Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Plaza Taoyuan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing