We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, quiet and a good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monarch Plaza Hotel
Ranked #17 of 136 Hotels in Taoyuan
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet and a good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

This hotel is relatively close to the airport and a good value. Clean, quiet rooms and good Internet service. You will see a lot of airlines' flying crews here. The included breakfast varies in quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveFreeOrTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    53
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
18
10
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flushing, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Hotel local is not prefect but just 1/2 hour away from Taipei 101 by bus. 20 minute to airport; Lovely staff, very friendly, make us feel like home. Try almost all their facility, most recommended is the health club since they charge annual membership for outside customer.

Room Tip: Park view room is very nice, the view is great, make sure request high floor since those rooms just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ckfjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gjwoodsjr
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed there on a business trip for 2 days. Room was ready when I got there after the long flight from the US. The room was probably the biggest room that I stayed in during this trip. Bathroom was huge, room had a separate area behind the bed which had a huge desk, along with fax machine and printer. Didn't use either one but this was a nice touch. Internet was okay. Breakfast was good. You could order eggs the way you wanted them. Fruits were fresh. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gjwoodsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
157 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have had a bit of an Asia business tour and this was a hotel that I wa sin for 2 nights as it was close to a customer. It was OK and adequet, clean and nothing really to complain nor nothing either particulary spectacular!! The staff however very pleasent and helpful.
I did find the breakfast to be a bit of a bunfight so be warned if you do like a relaxing breakfast!! As i am not a breakkie person it didi not really bother me!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for business reasons and it was a good exp overall.
Like:
1. Rooms - amazing
2. Location - though far from city and work, mall next door is a good plus point
3. Service - good

Dislike:
1. Breakfast
2. Staff unable to speak English, which is fair enough but would be good if they could.

Overall:
If I have to stay in Taoyuan again, wont mind Monarch again. Great hotel overall

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank It55id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
262 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I am here on business and have had a very nice experience with this hotel and the staff! Everyone here is very helpful and friendly and make you feel welcome. The breakfast is nice and fresh and the food in the lounge is quite tasty. There is a lot to see walking around town as well as some very good restaurants and night markets. I want to thank Alice for all her hard work and hospitality, she is a great asst manager for the hotel. Hank and Lara are also very wonderful and helpful. The cleaning staff is great too, the room is always very clean and I enjoy the fresh fruit they leave in the room.
The only thing I would say I am not 100% happy with is the bed, I think it's a little too hard for me, but the pillows are nice.

Room Tip: for extended stays I would recommend a jr suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minato, Japan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

PROS:

- Reasonable proximity to airport, roughly 15-20 minutes by taxi
- Room was upgraded to a suite upon check-in (booked direct through hotel website)
- Very friendly, helpful front-of-house staff
- Westerners will find the comparatively soft beds far more comfortable than several other area hotels
- Lots of breakfast choices and an evening nightcap ("welcome drink") were both included in the price
- Very fast internet service with a dedicated in-room router
- Fantastic and efficient airport transfer service experience

CONS:

- Carpet in my room was FILTHY with stains everywhere. It looked like a crime scene
- No power outlets for electronics anywhere near the bed
- Although it didn't bother me, some may find the hotel's location a bit isolated
- I noticed several mosquitoes in the downstairs bar, but this seems to be normal for Taipei

Summary: Others may disagree, but in my view the pros far outweighed the cons. Hopefully they will replace the room carpeting before too much longer.

Room Tip: The suite I stayed in was quite spacious and probably well worth the normal rate for those who value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalTrekPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taoyuan hotels
2.4 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Taoyuan
5.7 mi away
Hotel Novotel Taipei Taoyuan International Airport
6.5 mi away
Hotel Kuva Chateau
Hotel Kuva Chateau
#5 of 136 in Taoyuan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel Orchard Park
Hotel Orchard Park
#6 of 136 in Taoyuan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taoyuan
2.0 mi away
Monarch Skyline Hotel
Monarch Skyline Hotel
#14 of 136 in Taoyuan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Plaza Hotel

Property: Monarch Plaza Hotel
Address: No.300, Section 1, Chuang Ching Road, Taoyuan City, Taoyuan 330, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taoyuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Taoyuan
#6 Spa Hotel in Taoyuan
#9 Luxury Hotel in Taoyuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary buffet breakfastFree wireless internet access in roomFree Cancellation up to 24 hours prior to arrivalComplimentary welcome fruitComplimentary welcome drinkComplimentary daily newspaperFree parkingFree access of Monarch Royal Health Club facilities, such as indoor heated swimming pool, whirl pool, professional gym, sauna, steam room and baking room etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monarch Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Plaza Taoyuan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing