We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean rooms, helpful staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chuto Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chuto Plaza Hotel
Ranked #62 of 125 Hotels in Taoyuan
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, helpful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Checked in to this hotel first night in Taiwan. Prior to that I had a package delivered to this hotel and the sender arranged to have them safe keep until I check-in. After arriving I collected the package without any hassle and staff were also friendly to assist me. Rooms were clean and comfortable enough. Free wifi was also provided, that is a plus. Location wise was a bit quiet around the area, a lot of factories. A mini mart is nearby so that is fine, but if you are planning to go to town or night markets be prepared to take a taxi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wai_mun15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
12
3
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This may actually be the worst hotel in Taiwan. The location is among car repair shops and other small commercial shops, there are no food outlets you would want to visit within walking distance.

There is strangely enough always plenty of staff hovering around in the reception area, mind you the way they are dressed you are never sure if they are actually staff, all very smiling but hardly anyone can speak English or answer any questions.

The room numbering is rather confusing always leaving people wondering what floor they are going to when entering the lift. The rooms are spacious but with very hard beds, strange chemical shampoo and body-wash in the bathroom which makes you wonder if your hair will fall off after use. You got to love the photo of the Playmobil chef on the cover of the room service menu, doesn't exactly give you confidence in ordering that late night snack.

I have tried the restaurant a couple of times but wouldn't recommend it, once found a big piece of bone in the beef patties of the hamburger, really makes you wonder what else they put in there.

There is also a "gym", which is very 80's, at least that's when their equipment seems to be from.

All in all just forget about it and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HKexpat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taoyuan hotels

Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

This hotel seems quite nice, which it certainly was several years back, but since then it seems to have run down alot.
In Taiwan its typical that a consierge opens the door, as soon as your taxi arrives, but nothing - ok, I dont really need that, but its very unusual for Taiwan... Just take it at a first hint. At the front desk I had to wait some time, until the clerks finished talking - very untypical for Taiwan. In my last hotel (cheaper than Chuto) I waited 2 seconds at max and 3 ppl were trying to help me. Again, thats nothing necessary, but for Taiwan this is the scond hint for very bad service (by Taiwanese standards).
But the Problem started in my room. The hallway already smelled quite bad, but was nothing compared to my room. It was a strong musky smell and I'm pretty sure that its from fungus. This typical musky, moist smell, ehen you knoiw, something is really wrong. I thought: well, I'm here for only one week and I have already put up with much worse. Then I checked the room:
- Hair in the bathtub
- alot of Hair 15-20 pcs in the drawer (! How?)
- all tables, the bathroom floor and acessories had watermarks on them. And not only a little.

Well, I can live with some dirt, I can clean myself, but anyway I asked for a new room, mainly because of the smell. I don't know, if they didn't want to understand me, but they sent a maid to the room to clean. She was very kind, and unbelievably sorry, but didn't even wipe anything, she just put the vacuum cleaner in the bathtub...The other things she didn't even realize. That was the point where I thought, this is bad. Its OK, if you have forgotten something, but what I've seen in my room seems to be the usual case. I got some cleansing products and room scent from the nearby Family Mart to survive the night, and decided to check out into another hotel (even though farther away) the next day. Chuto Plaza, never again.

If you have the choice, take Chinatrust Landmark Hotel, its not too far, a little more in the center (5 min to the Railway, 3 malls close by and 3 night markets in 3 min walking distance.) and costs the same.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyNameTrip2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
123 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

The hotel tries, good service, kind and friendly people, but it's very unimpressive.

The room I had was a large room, but very musty smell, crappy internet, only a couple English tv channels, and very thin walls.

Service was prompt. Room service food bad. Breakfast definitely Asian, with runny eggs and sausage about the only western options in addition to bread.

While I was there, the hotel was overrun by Asian tourists. I counted 18 tour buses in the parking lot oone morning. Breakfast room was packed and a very hectic way to start your day dealing with sort of stuff.

I have stayed here a number of years ago and it wasnt' bad from what I recall, but when I go back to Taipei, I defintiely won't stay here regardless how close it might be to where I need to go to work.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank idontlikechina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2006

We stayed twice at the Chuto Plaza Hotel, compliments of EVA AIR; good modern hotel, right in the middle of a busy commercial street; I liked it, for a whole new world opened up, just outside the hotel doors; hotel staff was very helpfull, but sometimes had very little knowledge of the english language; most guests were Asian, but if you like to be immersed into a totally different culture, than this is a good hotel to stay at; the chefs in the restaurant, took great pride in the presentation of the food; interesting experience, to eat food and you do not know, what you are eating!! Hope to come back one day!!

  • Liked — all the comforts inside and a different culture and smells and scenery outside!
  • Disliked — limited english spoken by reception staff
  • Tips/Secrets — smile and they will go out of their way, to help you!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank clogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2006

Stayed there for a weekend waiting for a business meeting. There are 3 large buildings with plenty of hot water, good phone service, not noisy. Excellent Mitsubishi elevators. English spoken well at the front desk. A licensed money exchange, very handy. Free buffet breakfast with coupon entry 7 days a week, not super, but as good as Denny's. General quality resembles Ramada or Holiday Inn in USA. Shuttle service to CKS airport available, very reasonable. Neighborhood is a bit rustic, there are no sidewalks, but walking up and down the road dodging motor-scooters will yield many stores and restaurants with good values to be had.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bill_in_vc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taoyuan
2.6 mi away
Hara Zuru Hotel
Hara Zuru Hotel
#25 of 125 in Taoyuan
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
16.3 mi away
Beauty Hotels Taipei - Beautique
15.9 mi away
Pink Lotus Hotel
Pink Lotus Hotel
#269 of 543 in Taipei
3.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Beauty Hotels Taipei - Hotel B6
2.9 mi away
Fullon Hotel Taoyuan
Fullon Hotel Taoyuan
#17 of 125 in Taoyuan
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ying Zhen Hotel Taoyuan
Ying Zhen Hotel Taoyuan
#70 of 125 in Taoyuan
3.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chuto Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuto Plaza Hotel

Property: Chuto Plaza Hotel
Address: No.398 Taoying Road, Taoyuan City, Taoyuan, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taoyuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 125 Hotels in Taoyuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chuto Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Chuto Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing