We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“...it was a relief from an almost unpleasant stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Chine Hotel Taoyuan

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Chateau de Chine Hotel Taoyuan
Ranked #2 of 136 Hotels in Taoyuan
Certificate of Excellence
manila
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“...it was a relief from an almost unpleasant stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

It was the only hotel that saved us from having an awful stay at Today hotel..it was clean,well priced,buffet breakfast was ok though not that much of a variety.. well,i had to book it online to get a room,since the reception told me they were fully booked. My family was able to rest well during our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kuromi1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    123
    33
    2
    8
See reviews for
88
51
29
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baroda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Great accommodation, very comfortable and spacious. Staff is just way too good and even though language is a bit of a problem you can get by without a problem.
Advantage that there is an Indian Restaurant close by by the name of Ali Baba which makes the price evn more worth while.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prathit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

The hotel is close to the town center and the railway station (not high speed train station) is just a 10-minute walk away. Though the neighborhood is not particular appealing, the hotel is quite a pleasant surprise. Its rooms are very clean and spacious. The breakfast provided by the hotel is very good.
The hotel may not be up to 4-star standard, but if you take its price into consideration, Taoyuan Chinatrust is certainly a good bargain.

Room Tip: One of the best choices in Taoyuan, Taiwan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milanolarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

My extended family and I went to the Cantonese Restaurant in this hotel on a Sunday night for the dim sum dinner. There was 5 of us at dinner: 3 of us were visiting from the U.S. and 2 lived in Taiwan.

The dim sum choices were very sparse--only a few carts making the rounds and one of them was a dessert cart--even though the restaurant was full. You would have thought they would have sent out more carts to serve all of their customers. No, they did not. It gave us a bad feeling and we should have left but we didn't since we were trying to be polite to the relative who had invited us to dinner.

None of us were impressed by the selection or quality of the food. My husband and I were surprised since almost all of the food we'd had so far after 2 weeks of vacationing in Taiwan had been marvelous. But this place was no better than the worst dim sum place we'd eaten at in the U.S. It was barely mediocre.

The wait staff were also snotty, short-tempered and ignored you until you were practically waving your arms in their face. And, as if that weren't enough, the bill for the dinner was WAY higher than any other restaurant we'd eaten at in the last 2 weeks, including a 9-course dinner of excellent seafood at a place on the harbor.

If that wasn't enough, the worst was yet to come. My husband and aunt were the only ones who had dessert. She had a pudding with a brown sugar glaze on top and he had a white-colored almond pudding. By 1am, my husband was VIOLENTLY ILL in the bathroom. HE THREW UP 4 times! His stomach also hurt for 4 days after that.

We can only conclude that it was due to FOOD POISONING from the almond pudding. There was something wrong with the milk they used for it or with the water or the ice that was used to chill it.

I highly caution you to AVOID the Cantonese dim sum restaurant in the Chinatrust Watermark Hotel. Do yourself a favor and leave the hotel and eat at one of the many other good eateries in Taoyuan or Taipei.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpottedPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2009

I went to this hotel with a Rotary Delegation. The hotel has a great breakfast buffet, western and Chinese delicacies, dimsum, noodle station, western cold cuts. Yum! The hotel is hollow with an indoor atrium and great views of Taoyuan. The rooms are big by Taiwan standards, my bathroom (separate shower and bath was even bigger than some of my previous hotel rooms. Ref, hot water dispenser. 2 blocks from the computer supermall and the train station. It also has decent wi fi trhroughout the hotel

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FilipinoBusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinfelden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

Was in the hotel for 5 nights. Rooms (had one of the corner room, 1609 with an additional window in the bath room) are big and fitted with everything of a good standard of a business hotel including free internet access (RJ45, wire already in the room). The minibar is empty and the room service has limited service hours (this is my minus for services). Staff is very friendly and attentative. Everything is very clean. The breakfast buffet is good and offers many different type of food. The big plus is the coffee machine they have, making excellent coffee. All in all, I was fully satisfied. - Due changes of my business trip I left the hotel four days earlier than booked, without any charges for the booked nights. - If you have to stay in this city, than I recommend this hotel in the centre of the city, just a five minutes walk to the railway station.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter-1959-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

There is really no good reason to be in Tao Yuan but for business. For a hotel that is supposed to be "4 stars" (some sites named in 3 stars), it is terrible! First off, the hotel has a weird smell to it. The lobby has nasty looking fish tanks out front. They look like amateur fish tank making the place look dirty and unprofessional.

The hotel rooms really started at floor 9 and above. The hotel rooms have a seperate atrium. That too is disgusting with a weird smell. They have various giant fake plants that just look moldy/dusty. The carpet in this atrium is severly stained. I do not want to know what's stained it. Looks too nasty I dont even want to step on with my shoes.

Now, let 's talk about the roooms. The first room we went to was a smoking room which had..yes you guess it..a weird smell. (though we repeatedly asked for a non smoking room). The front desk staff was courteous and immediately moved us to a different room. The non-
smoking room smelled OK, so I took it. The carpet again is stained. The bathroom tiles are chipped with random stain and weird (yellow colored stuff) on it. The furniture are very tired mostly chipped. The windows are so dirty, it looks like the out side is permanently foggy. The bed is hard as rock. The sheets are OK clean, but the bed cover is REALLY nasty looking. Which makes me question how clean the sheets are.

My conclusion, if you are here for business and are used to the standard hotels. Don't stay here. It'll disgust and shock you. I have never left a hotel without finishing my stay and I moved.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ahkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taoyuan hotels
6.3 mi away
Hotel Kuva Chateau
Hotel Kuva Chateau
#4 of 136 in Taoyuan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Novotel Taipei Taoyuan International Airport
9.8 mi away
Hotel Orchard Park
Hotel Orchard Park
#6 of 136 in Taoyuan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taoyuan
7.9 mi away
City Suites Gateway
City Suites Gateway
#30 of 136 in Taoyuan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fullon Hotel Taoyuan
Fullon Hotel Taoyuan
#15 of 136 in Taoyuan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Chine Hotel Taoyuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Chine Hotel Taoyuan

Property: Chateau de Chine Hotel Taoyuan
Address: No.107 Minsheng Road, Taoyuan 33041, Taiwan (Formerly Taoyuan Chinatrust Landmark Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taoyuan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 136 Hotels in Taoyuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau de Chine Hotel Taoyuan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Taoyuan Train Station in the bustling business district, Chateau de Chine Taoyuan best meets the needs of the business traveller. After extensive upgrading of hotel Lobby, the hotel now boasts magnificent crystal chandeliers, ornate mirrors, and a collection of fine antiques in the main lobby. On a par with the new decor, the catering service has also been meticulously refined. - Convenient location - Luxurious themed wedding receptions - Multi-function banquet hall - Open-kitchen buffet - Restaurants: Chinese, Western - Special features: Conference Rooms, Gym, Banquet Hall, Business Center, Complimentary Self-Service Laundry, Complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel, parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Chateau de Chine Hotel Taoyuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing