We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Basic, nothing fantastic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Suites Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Suites Gateway
Ranked #15 of 125 Hotels in Taoyuan
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Basic, nothing fantastic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Only stayed a night here for a stopover before our tour started. There is absolutely NO amenities around that area, so if you don't wanna eat at their restaurant, you can call a cab to go somewhere else. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly.

Lots of tours start from this hotel it seems. Because of that, some groups tend to become really boisterous, even late at night. I was unfortunate to be on a level where people were yelling across to one another along the corridor.

The room was rather clean, but there was no view. The TV was the old boxy kind. The toilet was clean but poorly lit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cescajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    92
    83
    23
    17
See reviews for
61
46
46
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Yes, it's near to the airport. The next stop you will see some peoples is about 10 minutes walk away passing through rows of wooden shop lots, car workshops, and abandoned land.
There is absolutely nothing outside the hotel. The breakfast is by far, the worst I have ever encountered, for the price that I paid.
The room boasts two double beds, which none of us know. Otherwise we would've shared 4 pax in a room. Poorly informed, such a waste. Go to other hotels. Don't waste time here.

Room Tip: The rooms are big and ok. Just check if you have two double beds, then 4 people can be in a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jTwT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taoyuan hotels

Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

stayed on this hotel because the flight my families is catching is very early and since the nearest economical hotel is here. i'm staying in a two double bed room. room is considered nice, not too tiny with a window. the bathroom is clean,shower is fine. beds are OK,with old fashion TV .there is a place u can fill in with hot and cold drinking water on every floor.there's also a seven eleven five min walks away

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank elwintai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

On a recent holiday in Taiwan, on the 2nd last day we travelled from Kaoshuing back to the north to catch our flight home. After much thought, we decided to get off the High Speed Rail (HSR) at Taoyuan station rather than go further to Taipei as our flight was early on the next day. This turned out to be a good decision as the airport was only 5 mins away by cab. Cost of cab was TWD200 for the short ride.

The hotel was however very tired and the room I got smelled of cigarette smoke although I specifically asked for a non-smoking room. The bathroom was clean but also looked very tired. For dinner, we took a cab into Zhongli town which costs us TWD500 each way.

The complimentary breakfast was crowded with tour participants and we had trouble getting into the limited lifts. Food at the buffet was way below expectation.

Not the best of hotels but the proximity to the airport for our early morning flight out weighed the other factors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is near the airport (10 minutes), relatively cheap ($82.00) and my room was nice. It goes downhill from there. They announced a surcharge for airport transportation. Translation: take a taxi. The rooms are cold and the "suite" consists of a small room with two chairs and a t.v. It was so cold that I would have preferred watching t.v. in bed. I finally got into bed with a book to get warm, although it was a balmy day when I arrived. The service is indifferent at best and, at least on my floor, there was no wifi. When I went into the lobby, where they do have wifi, it was so slow that I gave up before I finished downloading the files I wanted. At present the exterior is covered in scaffolding and I thought it was a construction site. There is nothing nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventuress_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had an early international flight the next day and I usually spent my time in Southern Taiwan. The price was reasonable and it was close to the High Speed rail (225-250 NT) and close to the airport (200 NT and ~ 7 minutes to the airport).

There were several downsides:

After the short night I stayed there, I had several bug bites around my neck and legs. This gave me a lot of concerns about the cleanliness.

Another is the construction and the noisiness. Of course the hotel cannot do anything about the construction and the view of their place, but they could do something about doors that they use. For my stay, there were extremely inconsiderate people on the same floor yelling. I also think someone was lost and kept saying someone's name. This lasted for about an hour (on and off) before I went out to tell them to be quiet at 11 PM.

As for the breakfast, it was an in and out thing. I ate some eggs and had some water. Took me 5 minutes before I ran out from the place to catch my flight.

One upside was the bathroom. I likes the rainshower head, which made my mood better along with the temperature control on the water. The bathroom was quite small, but it ended up being the best feature of the room. Sad.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are meant for people to stay for one night and catch a flight. Just basic things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ges T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I would not put a dog in this hotel we stayed for 3 days. Bad attitude at front desk no heat anywhere internet goes off widow putrid in midst of construction and we paid over $100 a nite OUTRAGEOUS ! WE have lived all over the World and my folks were hotel managers, I am a foreign correspondent
so I tell it like it is !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taoyuan hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Novotel Taipei Taoyuan International Airport
2.2 mi away
Hotel Orchard Park
Hotel Orchard Park
#6 of 125 in Taoyuan
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taoyuan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Taoyuan
6.5 mi away
Hotel Kuva Chateau
Hotel Kuva Chateau
#5 of 125 in Taoyuan
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
8.0 mi away
Luckynews Classic Hotel
Luckynews Classic Hotel
#17 of 125 in Taoyuan
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Suites Gateway

Property: City Suites Gateway
Address: No.442 Zhongzheng East Road, Dayuan Town, Taoyuan 337, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taoyuan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Taoyuan
#9 Best Value Hotel in Taoyuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Suites Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your City Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Suites Gateway Hotel Taoyuan
City Hotel Taoyuan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing