We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent quaint hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 52 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
52 Hotel
Ranked #35 of 261 Hotels in Taichung
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent quaint hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

I stayed here for one night and the staff were amazing. All speak English very well. I noticed this hotel is very Japanese orientated. Lots of Japanese visitors. Room was big with 2 single double bed. You get all the main English TV Channels, CNN, Discovery, HBO, etc..
Location is near the shopping centre, SOGO, LV, etc.
Taichung is a small city, I didn't get to see much but overally a nice city. Located about 20 mins taxi ride to the High Speed Rail station.
Need to take taxi around as there are no metro here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    82
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
43
47
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

This was a very nice and convenient place to stay. The location is very good, the design is very nice and the staff is very friendly and professional. Rates are interesting too.
A little bit more variety in the breakfast would be great but everything else was very good.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fred_Muga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

My wife and I always stay in this hotel when going to Taichung. It has nothing fancy and is more of a business hotel but it's absolutely clean, the rooms are large and well furnished and they have a small lounge with complimentary items where it's actually enjoyable sitting after a day out or just playing pool. The price is pretty good for such convenience or quality of rooms and we never had anything to complain about. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mesmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for my business trip in Taichung. It is located just few minutes walk to the SOGO department store, and also many other Western and Japanese restaurants. The staffs are friendly and professional too. Best of all, the rate I got is one of the best among the hotels in Taichung. I am highly satisfied.

Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank Lanosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2008

Excellent staff! It was my first time to Taichung. Without much preparation before the trip, hotel staff was very helpful in providing excellent travel information!

Room is very clean and size is very decent. Location is ok: 5-10 minute walk to Sogo, and around 15-minute bus ride to Taichung Train Station

Will definitely stay again on our next visit to Taichung!

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank syyeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

O.k., the other guest who wrote e recession before was disappointed for whatever reason, but his comment is simply a lie! I stayed in this hotel in May 2007 and will be there next week again. The buildung is old but renovated in a way that it appears almost new and very modern. The staff is really taking care, the hotel is always clean and I enjoyed my stay.

The only thing I disliked is the bar. Maybe the hotel was not fully booked during my last stay but the bar is always empty. No fun to sit there and have a drink...

Summarized a good place to stay and therefore I will come back.


  • Liked — good cost-performance ratio
  • Disliked — no restaurant and a poor bar
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank oli0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
2.0 mi away
53 Hotel
53 Hotel
#14 of 261 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airline Inn Green Park Way
Airline Inn Green Park Way
#17 of 261 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Day Plus Taichung
Hotel Day Plus Taichung
#27 of 261 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Maison de Chine Hotel Taichung
1.0 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taichung Zhongkang
1.4 mi away
RedDot hotel
RedDot hotel
#7 of 261 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 52 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 52 Hotel

Property: 52 Hotel
Address: 52, Jhong-Ming Rd., West Dist., Taichung City, Taichung 40341, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 261 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 52 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
52 Hotel bases its business philosophy on "happiness, creativity, pragmatism and integrity", and vows to provide a "different aesthetic business hotel". Its uniqueness makes it stand out from traditional hotels. Minimalist design Comfortable and spacious, relaxing ambience Pleasant and caring service Providing business travelers with a peaceful and secluded accommodation separated from the hustle and bustle of the urban jungle. Regardless of whether you are a tourist or on a business trip, you can always enjoy the simple and relaxing homely environment. 52 Hotel continues to proactively cater to guests' needs, to provide quality service, and to upgrade its software and hardware facilities. Since its operation in 2006, it has been favored by local and foreign tourists as well as business travelers. 52 Hotel will continue to expand and invest capital and manpower in Taiwan's hotel industry in order to provide tourists and business travelers with increased quality services. 52 Hotel awaits you with 164 uniquely decorated exquisite hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your 52 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing