We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How things have changed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Ranked #28 of 288 Hotels in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My, my. I hadn't been to TaiChung forr about 10 years. How things have changed. What used to be a reasonable quite main street, had exploded! Back to the hotel. Great location, walking distance to great local hole-in-the-wall eateries where no-one speaks English :-). The hotel itself was very clean with reasonable prices and access to business amenities. The staff is very helpfull and friendly. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a place to stay, long or short term.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony-deWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 408 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

A great place to stay with reasonable prices and access to business amenities. The staff are always friendly, always looking to make your stay as great as it can be. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Taichung for business or vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I'm currently staying here on a long stay for business.
I've stayed in an Evergreen hotel before (Tainan) but this one is much better.

Room in massive and very good value.
Big TV with lots of channels.

Well equipped gym, decent breakfast.
The staff are genuinely friendly and will go out of their way to help you.
Fast laundry service too.
They even give you a free drink at the bar every day.
Small touches like that all add up and make it a great place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for 15th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spartakk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

After 2 flight delays causing a missed flight on my last connection, further causing a run through the Hong Kong airport with a Dragon Air ground staff assistant to meet the last leg, getting to the Evergreen Hotel in Taichung was much anticipated.
The staff at check in we're fantastic, courteous and friendly.
The room is spacious with every possible amenity. I stayed in an executive suite with a lounge, desk and more robe space than usual. Bathroom is beautiful, but the toilet takes some getting used to for travellers not used to electronics and bottom washes, but that's adventure I guess. The hotel is very well located with Taichung Park, the Science Centre and night markets within easy reach.
Happy trails

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marko100Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was amazed by the service of this hotel, top notch, on a par with or better than the Shangri-La and Regent in Taipei. Check-in was fast and professional, luggage delivery very prompt. Rooms are good, but nothing great. View was pretty poor as my room faced the rear and I was on a lower floor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is my 3rd time at the Evergreen. It's a very nice hotel, with attentive staff and a great breakfast buffet. I always look for a good breakfast to get me through most of the business day. This one has lots to offer, plus made-to-order eggs, lots of fruits and other western type foods, plus typical chinese breakfast items as well. I selected a room rate that included breakfast.

Internet service was included and access was good. The lobby area is comfortable and there is a nice lobby bar and cafe to relax and have a drink. I always like hotels that provide foam slippers so you don't have to walk barefoot on carpets.

Overall a very good hotel at a very good price. I will certainly stay there again on my next trip to Taichung.

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet room on an upper floor. I've never had a bad room. They provide coffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CopperTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

i stayed here for one night, stay were very pleasant at check in, giving me a map of the area and suggesting areas i may like to visit.

The room which was a good size with a kingsize bed which was extremely comfortable. There was fruit in the room, banana, oranges, kiwi and bizarrely baby tomatoes! included in the rate was one soft drink from the mini-bar, a discount on laundry and several other items which i cant remember.

the soundproofing between the rooms wasnt too good & i could hear the people in the rooms either side of me.

The bathroom was a reasonable size with a walk-in shower cubical & a multi-function toilet. There were plenty of towels and the both the room and the bathroom were spotlessly clean.

There was free wifi in the room which was ok, but not quick enough to run Skype.

There is a swimming pool which is outside and not heated, it was absolutely freezing, there is a life guard on duty. The gym was a good size with a good selection of machines to use.

Breakfast was a real let down, both the content and the service, I'd been staying at the same hotel brand in Taipei and there was a marked difference between the two. The restaurant was extremely busy & the tables were almost grouped in what can only be described as a canteen style, pushed up together in rows, the staff were very slow at clearing the tables and getting drinks. A lot of the food need replenishing, but wasnt replaced quickly. They run a funny system for getting eggs etc cooked, which nobody bothered to explain, you have a peg on your table and have to go up to the counter and just your peg in the bowel for the type of egg you want and then some time later (much later) your choice appears on your table. The staff here really let what was a nice hotel in stay in, down.

A little disappointed with this hotel to be honest so i dont think I'd stay here again on my next visit to Taichung

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Taichung
Millennium Hotel Taichung
#16 of 288 in Taichung
993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tempus Hotel Taichung
Tempus Hotel Taichung
#42 of 288 in Taichung
304 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maison de Chine Hotel Taichung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Howard Prince Hotel Taichung
Howard Prince Hotel Taichung
#59 of 288 in Taichung
133 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Landis Taichung
The Landis Taichung
#13 of 288 in Taichung
628 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taichung Zhongkang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Address: No.666 Sec. 2 Taiwan Boulevard, Taichung 407, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taichung
#7 Business Hotel in Taichung
Price Range: $106 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Laurel Hotel in Taichung is the most luxurious international hotel in central Taiwan. There are 354 guestrooms and a well-equipped gymnasium. Its high-class restaurants offer both Chinese and Western cuisine. The hotel also boasts the finest multi-function banquet hall, meeting rooms and business center in central Taiwan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Taichung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing