We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and staff”
Review of 53 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
53 Hotel
Ranked #12 of 263 Hotels in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
244 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and staff”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Room clean, bright, simple and useful layout etc. I prefer not to shower in a bathtub so great. Very handy to the train station and the bus that we arrived on from Sun Moon Lake, but the immediate area is short on shops and restaurants. Once we discovered the underpass to the other side of the railway station we found a mall and lots of great little restaurants.
Caught the bus to go to Lugang, great day out..
A hotel map which indicated bus numbers to attractions would have been helpful. Very little English in this town.
Free washer and drier in basement was just great.
Had an ice-cream from across the road, but hey we are New Zealanders so less that impressed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    111
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
103
68
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

It's near Taichung train station so we could travel to Taichung attractions by train, bus or taxi easily.

The service of staff is very nice and I am satisfied with their airport delivery service.

Our room has no bathtub and no wardrobe, but it's tidy and clean. Free wifi is available in the room and common areas.

24-hour gym room and laundry room also impressed us. But in the laundry place there is only one washing machine and one drying machine. You may need to wait for long.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bunlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Highly recomended ! Most of people prefer stay at 逢甲 Feng jia night market area, but we choose here as location much convenience for us travel to other area frm Taichung railway, Less than 5mins away from Taichung railways, most taxi driver known this as 寶島(baodao) hotel. Hotel was so clean, bright, spacious for three of us, very comfy bed and cool aircon ! we didn't took their bfast, there is a lot local bfast next streets. Will definitely back, if price is still reasonable. P/S they have travel adapter attached in room as well.

Room Tip: There is a lot food option across streets, take a walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

My girlfriend and I went to Taichung for a short trip. This hotel is within 1 minute walk from Taichung train station and nearly all the buses go pass it - brilliant location. The staff are very friendly and keen to show us places to visit. There are 7-11 and family mart nearby where you can buy travel cards/ food etc.
We had a superior room, it is very clean and spacious. Wifi cover is very good in all areas of the hotel. Breakfast time is very good for people who sleep late and wake up late, I think from 6:30 - 10am. There is also a small gym, which may be a good idea after a day of delicious street food!
I am very impressed and will definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenC326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Spacious and nicely decorated. Everything is new and clean. The staff is very helpful and courteous. What's more is their attention to details. They have free toothpastes and toothbrushes, which are mysteriously absent in US hotels. And the toothbrushes are in different colors so that you know which is which when you travel with your family!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 days. What surprises me is that despite the room is really small, I actually enjoyed my stay so much because it is really clean. You can literally feel the cleanliness right after you step in the room. During my 1st stay of stay, I bought many clothes at fengjia night market and left them in a messy state on the bed on the next day. When I came back, I realise the chambermaids actually folded the huge pile of my clothes for me and placed them on a chair!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank smilingstars93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stay there for two nights, it is really value for money!

53 Hotel is just located at the Taichung Railway Sation, so if your are travelling by the "Normal" railway (not the Express Rail), you can just walk to the hotel for 3 minutes.

Check in/out is fast and without any trouble, receptionists are very professional and polite. Very good customer orientated.

They gave me the top floor with a very big window that I could look over the rooftops of surrounding buildings, so nice.

The best is, the day when I check out was my birthday, they gave me a birthday present! What a surprise!

Stay there, you won't regret.

Room Tip: Upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluesMan2047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.2 mi away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch
1.1 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taichung Zhongkang
3.6 mi away
La Vida Hotel
La Vida Hotel
#4 of 263 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Maison de Chine Hotel Taichung
0.7 mi away
RedDot hotel
RedDot hotel
#5 of 263 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 53 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 53 Hotel

Property: 53 Hotel
Address: No.27 Zhongshan Road, Central Distrcit, Taichung 400, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 263 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 53 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Taichung City Center, 53 Hotel is an ideal spot from which to discover Taichung. Just 3 minutes walking from Hotel to Taichung Railway station. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. Visitors to the hotel can take pleasure in touring the city's top attractions: First Square Shopping Building, Taichung Railway Station, TADA Center. 53 Hotel also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Taichung. For the comfort and convenience of guests, the hotel offers business center, safety deposit boxes, laundry service/dry cleaning, coffee shop, elevator. All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. The hotel's recreational facilities, which include fitness center are designed for escape and relaxation. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Taichung, make 53 Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your 53 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing