We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of 53 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
53 Hotel
Ranked #20 of 288 Hotels in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel location is close to Taiwan rail station and major bus stop. It is very convenient.
the room size is spacious for 2 people. room is clean. All staffs are friendly.
we arrived hotel at 11.30 pm. the receptionists were so helpful as we were so hungry. They suggested a local night market which is walkable from hotel about 15-20 minutes.
The famous Taichung bakery shop is right across the hotel. We had nice white chocolate with raisins (highly recommended) and pineapple cakes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarawutnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 330 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by Taichung on our way southwards and we were lucky to have found this place. It's very close to the Taichung station (not the high-speed railway station) where you can enjoy walking in the downtown. The family room is nice and tidy, recently renovated. The staff has been friendly and helpful. The breakfast is pleasant. I would recommend this place.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank CSI-TJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Spent 1 night in their family room on 2 July 2013. 3 of us.

We arrived the hotel early, hence left our lugguages and bags with the reception and headed off to shopping. Since we are only staying in Taichung for a day, we decided to continue with our shopping and called the hotel to inform that we will be coming back at night instead. When we reached at night to do the formal check in, we were delighted to know that all our baggages have been delivered to the room.

As for the room, it is more spacious than expected. Clean and tidy with two queen sized beds. Water and tea bags are provided. There is also a mini fridge. Toliet is clean and spacious too. We were all satisfied with the modern setting of the room and hotel, it looks new and clean. No problems encountered with regards to air-conditioning, shower and comfort of bed.

Location wise, the famous yi zhong street is within walking distance but it is recommended to take a taxi if your stay in Taichung is a short one. For Fengjia night market which is quite a distance away, take a cab. The trip cost less than 300 TWD. Nearby, just next to the hotel's entrance, there is a 24 hours convenience store. Opposite the hotel (just 30 steps away) is the famous gong yuan yan ke (dawncake). If you plan to go to Taipei after Taichung by bus, the terminal for Taipei buses is just a stone's throw away. The train station as well. Both are only 5 minutes walk away, just ask the hotel reception for directions. The hotel also has their own map which is easy to understand and the main shopping areas and sightseing places are stated. Remember to ask for one.

Just a night of stay in the family room cost us slighty above S$100, including breakfast buffet for 4 (though we have 3 pax, we were given 4 as family room is meant to take 4 people). Choice of breakfast is limited, which explains why I didn't give the hotel full marks. Another not-so-nice thing is the estimated time quoted by the reception staff. We realised that it will only take us 5 to 8 minutes walk to Sunshine Plaza when the staff told us it is a very far walk which resulted us in taking a taxi instead. Apart from these minor imperfections, it's still worth it with the service and room you get at such good value.

I wll defintely return if I go to Taichung again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cashewnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We chose 53 Hotel from the list offer in Cathay Pacific travel package. A bit disappointed when we checked in. A small reception counter with 3, 4 staffs, yet they all looked super busy and took quite some time handled every check in. No one was able to help off load the luggage when we arrived. Unable to locate our booking, forgot to return passport after registration.... a bit chaotic. Yet the staffs were polite along.

Room is neat and tidy. Comfy though not really spacious. No closet in room, just two hooks on wall for hanging clothes! Breakfast was average, not many choices, food quality so so.

Good location though, with convenience stores and tourist spots nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank April_RRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Group of 7 stayed at this hotel for 2 nights from July 3 -5, 2013. Great location, a lot of restaurants near by, walking distance to Tai Chung Train Station, a 7-eleven store right next to the hotel. Just wonder why they do not provide a wardrobe but only hangers (2 only in our room). Bed was a bite hard and bathroom was clean but need more lighting over the shower area. Many toiletries available and complimentary bottled water with a mini fridge and kettle for tea/coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 52Boulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed in the Double Bed Deluxe Room @ early July 13. Very New and modern Design Hotel. Best Location, walking distance within 3 minutes to TaiChung Train Station, 7-eleven stall right next to the hotel. Very Spacious and clean room , Hugh Double Bed, Well functioning in-room A/C, windows are able to be open which allow fresh air if required. Bright and well lay-out bathroom area.
The best part I would like to mention is the service. The small team of staffs are built up with nice young person whom are all smart, energetic and very helpful. Spoken English is good and the room service is prompt (they will turn-up to your door with the appropriate within 2 mins after your call with no fussy at all). For the front desk and the bell service, its really impressed that they remember each of the guests will pro-actively offer assistance or advice about traveling plans or how to get to your desire restaurant. If you want to take taxi, they will call those reliable cabs, arrange you to take a seat in the comfort sofa, inform you about the approx. arrived time of the taxi (normally within 5 -10 mins.), give you information for duration of the ride as well as the approx. charge. When the cab arrived, they will brief the driver in Mandarin for your designation, than greet and wave goodbye to you. All these Five stars arrangement are free, also no extra calling/ booking charge are ever requested from the either the driver or the Taxi console. Furthermore, they even arrange the shipment for my Sun Biscuits parcel after I check-out and left town. Its my first choice of stay in TaiChung .

Room Tip: Deluxe are fine enough!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mcmagmcmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have stayed in 53 Hotel three nights on May. Great Location, close to bus terminal and also Taichung rail station, within 5 mins walk. Clean and fashioned hotel with excellent breadfast. It's also very convenience to take bus to/from Airport to nearby bus stop and it's only taken 45 mins. Staff are nice and helpful to provide transportation for us. Nice stop for you to take a rest before you go to Chingjing/alishan or sun moon lake.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amigo_Amigo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
3.9 mi away
Maison de Chine Hotel Taichung
0.2 mi away
Park City Hotel-Central Taichung
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
KUN HOTEL
KUN HOTEL
#8 of 288 in Taichung
1,524 reviews
0.7 mi away
RedDot hotel
RedDot hotel
#9 of 288 in Taichung
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 53 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 53 Hotel

Address: No.27 Zhongshan Road, Central Distrcit, Taichung 400, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 288 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range: $58 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 53 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Taichung City Center, 53 Hotel is an ideal spot from which to discover Taichung. Just 3 minutes walking from Hotel to Taichung Railway station. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. Visitors to the hotel can take pleasure in touring the city's top attractions: First Square Shopping Building, Taichung Railway Station, TADA Center. 53 Hotel also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Taichung. For the comfort and convenience of guests, the hotel offers business center, safety deposit boxes, laundry service/dry cleaning, coffee shop, elevator. All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. The hotel's recreational facilities, which include fitness center are designed for escape and relaxation. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Taichung, make 53 Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 53 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing