We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think I will return..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch
Ranked #1 of 284 Hotels in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were given free upgrade of our room which we were thankful for, but even the upgraded room was so small we barely had enough space to pack our luggages. We wore the bedroom slippers provided in the room but occasionally when we stepped out of bed onto the carpet barefooted, the soles of our feet turned BLACK!!! This proved how dirty the carpet was even though on the surface, the entire room seemed clean.
Another thing that bothered me was the the door of the bathroom. It was not a "full" door and hence there was a big gap between the top of the door and the ceiling. I'm sure your partner lying in bed right outside the bathroom can smell what you are doing in the bathroom. Maybe this doesn't bother many others but it did put me off.
Breakfast-very limited variety. Scrambled eggs were pre-cooked.
Location-wise, it is near the train station but around 15mins taxi ride from fengjia night market.
We stayed only 1 night here, fortunately, and I think I can stay at somewhere better the next time I visit Taichung.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin P, Manager at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear pinkDu,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are deeply sorry your stay with us was less than pleasant. We take the cleanliness of our rooms very seriously and try our utmost to maintain each room in immaculate condition. I have sent you a private message and hope that you will spare a few minutes to let us know the specifics of your stay, I will be sure to look into the lapse in service to ensure that this does not reoccur.

The breakfast buffet is usually well received with local delicacies and western choices, as well as seasonal highlights. I do apologize it has not lived up to your standards, and we will continually see to its improvement with a bigger variety.

We hope you will re-visit Taichung soon, and look forward to welcoming you back to CityInn Hotel Taichung.

Best wishes,

Kevin Peng
Manager
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

It's spotless clean & comfortable hotel.
Room is small but well equip with all the amenities
Buffet breakfast is great & with good range of choice.

Location is far from the famous night market (Feng Jia).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanskyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen7737, Supervisor at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear alanskyeo:

Thank you so much for taking time to write the review for Cityinn Plus Taichung Station Branch,
we are delighted you like us.It was our pleasure to receive it from you. We highly appreciate your feedback and we are very happy that you like our breakfast and the facilities we offered.

We hope you will re-visit Taichung soon, and look forward to welcoming you back to CityInn Taichung in the near future!

Best Wishes

karen Chu
Supervisor
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for 08/04/13~ 10/04/13 and I LOVED it. Sure the rooms are small but for $65AUD/night this is the five star out of budget hotels. Our elite twin room was very clean, well organised and amenities provided were excellent. The hotel has a nice layout in the public areas and feels very modern & cozy throughout. Washing machines, dryers and even laundry powder are provided for free. You can sit & use their public computers and drink unlimited coffee/tea provided in the lounge.

For something that comes included in the price, they definitely put a lot of effort into preparing the breakfasts. There was a nice variety (eastern & western) and the food tasted fresh.

If I had to pick bones from an egg...
- mattress is a tiny bit too hard
- there's no milk for tea/coffee or during breakfast, but soy & rice milk are provided.
- the toilet paper holder in our room was a little shakey

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coko_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin P, 經理 at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Coko_o,

Thank you for speaking so highly of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed our self-service pantry and 24-hour washer/dryer, as well as the breakfast, which we continually update to provide seasonal dishes and delicacies.

We do apologize for the shakey toilet paper holder and have sent our engineering team to have it fixed right away. We have also noted your preference for a softer mattress and will have that ready for you upon your next visit, as well as milk during breakfast.

We hope you will re-visit soon, and very much look forward to serving you again at CityInn Taichung.

Best wishes,
Kevin Peng
Manager
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

It was a pleasant surprise when a staff from the Hotel made a courtesy call to me in Singapore, 2 days before our stay. Besides confirming our booking, she asked if we needed a twin or double bed room. How thoughtful!

During our stay, we found the Hotel staff very polite, helpful and friendly. Each time, I walked past the counter, they would greet me.

The room is very new and clean. With the bedsheet being very white and crispy, we were able to catch a nap upon checkin - much needed after our night flight.

Room is also very well design - lighting at the base of wash basin cabinet provides sufficient light when all lights are off. (a problem we faced with other hotels). A very good idea!

Buffet breakfast was quite a good spread. It includes salad which is very much needed after a night out eating fried snacks at the night market.

Another plus point is the availability of washing machines and dryers. Besides washing powder, sticky note pad is available to indicate one's name and room number.

We will gladly recommend this Hotel to friends visiting Taichung. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZhaoXiuMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin P, 經理 at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear ZhaoXiuMei,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this favorable review.

We appreciate you taking the time to mention the service of our staff, who are invaluable to providing the level of service you experienced during your stay. Thank you too for noting the night-light fixture which can be turned on to provide adequate lighting during the night.

Should you have further suggestions on how we may improve on our facilities and service, please do not hesitate to contact us.

We hope you will re-visit soon, and look forward to serving you at CityInn Taichung.

Best wishes,
Kevin Peng
Manager
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent two nights with cityinn and were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to the doubles room. Staff were awesomely obliging. Very helpful and patient, and seem to compliment the already cheery colors of the hotel.Location is great if you are travelling via the train as it is a 5 min walk from the station and is walking distance of the shopping mall. There is also a bus stop diagonally opposite the hotel.

Room space is not to be raved about but was comfy for two and was extremely clean and pleasant. Bed was great and bed sheets were clean. Modern and clean, room was fitted with touch screen switches and nice cable tv! well ... and complimentary porn if any is interested.

Loving the lobby, we enjoyed the 4 or 6 speedy (huge, 21 inches i think) touch screen desktops and a nice cozy pantry corner. Washrooms were Super, bidet style with warm seats and massage options. But what wow us was laundry! There were 3 or 4 washing machines coupled with dryers and washing powder! It was great as Taichung was our last stop.

Breakfast was faultless too. Dining was nice and cosy despite being at the basement. There was a mixture of western (salads, bread, ham, cereals and canapes), taiwanese (porridge, soy milk, and a couple of daily specials like chicken and vegetables), fruits, beverages (coffee, hot cocoa) etc.

For their price, cityinn has far exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joolene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin P, 經理 at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Joolene,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing this favorable review. We are delighted you found our hotel to your liking with free WiFi, pantry and 24-hour self-service washer/dryer.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast, which, with a variety of Western and Taiwanese selections (hotplates as well as canapes), is a highlight reviewed favorably by many guests. Recent additions will include an expanded bread and croissant area.

We hope you will re-visit Taichung soon, and look forward to welcoming you back to CityInn Hotel Taichung.

Best wishes,

Kevin Peng
Manager
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

服務也不錯,Amber 更是不辭辛勞,為她服務的客人,總是有一個笑臉,即使是忙碌的人群。
24小時洗衣服務是優秀的,可以利用它的方式入住時間為下午1點半前.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bee Hua A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHARON811, 副理 at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013
Google Translation

親愛的貴賓您好:

首先,感謝您選擇您入住新驛旅店台中車站店,給予我們為您服務的機會,並在此留下了對我們最棒的支持與讚美。

很開心您對於我們的服務人員Amber及24小時的洗衣設備表示肯定,能夠讓您感受到新驛旅店貼心美好之處,並讓您此次的台中之旅留下一個美好的回憶。再次期待您光臨台中以及入住新驛旅店,也謝謝您推薦新驛旅店給所有正在瀏覽此網站的旅客。

全體員工都誠摯期盼期望在不久的將來很快地有為您服務之機會,我們下次見囉!!

李怡萩 Sharon Lee
Deputy Manager
CityInn Plus Hotel- Taichung Station Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Location was excellent, transportation hubs are quite nearby (Taichung TRA Station & Bus Stations). Place was quite modern and quite clean, free Wifi in all areas, free laundry, free coffee @ lobby, free use of computers in lounge. Rooms though are small, I booked an Elite Room, so I imagine those regular rooms are smaller, but for the price, no complaints, plus am out most of the time anyway. Bathroom quite nice and roomy, nice shower, free toiletries (toothbrush, comb, shaving kit, soap ... condom), shampoo and shower gels are on a dispenser.

Will definitely stay here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen7737, Supervisor at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Nick J:

Thank you for choosing Cityinn Hotel Plus TC for your staying,and taking times to write this review.
It's our pleasure to have an opportunity to serving you,and we are glad that you like the amenities we provide,we are looking forward to serving you next time.

We hope you will re-visit Cityinn soon, and sincerely welcoming you back to CityInn Taichung .

Best Wishes

karen Chu
Supervisor
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park
4.2 mi away
Kun Hotel
Kun Hotel
#8 of 284 in Taichung
1,484 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taichung Zhongkang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Maison de Chine Hotel Taichung
3.8 mi away
La Vida Hotel
La Vida Hotel
#7 of 284 in Taichung
1,104 reviews
1.4 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#2 of 284 in Taichung
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch

Address: No.133 Section 4, Fuxing Road, East District, Taichung 401, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 284 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range: $52 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience hospitality reinvented with Cityinn Hotel Plus, a newcomer to Taichung with all the requisite bells and whistles. Located in the Eastern district, a burgeoning arts and cultural hub with a rich sense of history and place; the artistically inclined will feel right at home with Stock 20 and the Taichung Creative Park, right at our door step. Or cut loose among the cake stores and night-markets, reputably the island's best, located just minutes away. Those travelling from afar will find comfort in our proximity to Taichung station, that provides easy train/bus linkage to high-speed rail and major cities. Enjoy a red carpet welcome replete with all the creature comforts, connectivity, and convenience that will cater to your every predilection. Whether you are here for business, for friends, or simply to getaway, we've got a slice of Taichung for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing