We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in Taichung.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch
Ranked #2 of 279 Hotels in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights. Lovely rooms if rather compact. No wardrobe. Good sized bathroom. Comfortable bed. WiFi available everywhere. Great staff. Free laundry. Free condom everyday!
Not really very central being on the rear side of the railway station, but near the Mode Mall which has shifted up-market since my last visit.
All the high praise for this place is true. Good bargains available if booking early. Would happily go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotama, Supervisor at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear nzbear:
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this comment.
It was our pleasure to receive you. We highly appreciate your feedback and we are pleased to know that you like our room and public facilities and staff's service.

It will assist us in becoming better at what we do and thanks to your good comments again.

We look forward to accommodating you again and see you in CityInn Plus Hotel-Taichung Station Branch next time~

Warm regards
Jenny Ou Yang
Supervisor
CityInn Hotel Plus Taichung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel corridor is covered with pretty wall mural and so is inside the double room we booked. The room is not big but sufficient although it does not have a wardrobe but only a small hanging rack . The room give a comfy feel and the bathroom is clean.

It's a cosy little hotel with laundry and dryer which are (it's seldom free) free for use. They also have computer with internet access and hot beverages in the lobby. Wifi is definitely available in the room.

It's just next to the train station but there's no noise at all. It's about 10 mins taxi ride from the Taichung HSR. You can reach here by train via the Taichung HSR which are link together, but it's more convenient to take the taxi with the luggage and relatively cheap.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnVacationSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea C, Deputy Manager at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear OnVacationSg,
Thank you for choosing CityInn Hotel Taichung and taking the time to write this kind review.
We are delighted that you liked our floor design and find the room comfy. washing machine and dryer are free of use for 24hr and Wifi everywhere hope to meet the needs of our precious guests.
We do suggest our guests to take taxi instead of train from high speed rail station as it can get really crowded during busy hours and weekends.
Thank you again and hope to serve you in the near future.
Best regards,
Tea Chen
Deputy Manager
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just returned from Taiwan. This is the best accommodation experience I had for my entire trip. The hotel is clean, modern and value for money. Besides being clean, new and modern, the hotel is just a stone throw away from Taichung TRA station (Rear Gate).

In addition the hotel comes with laundry service which allows for washing, drying and ironing.
The customer service is good and always ready to assist.

Will recommend this hotel when in Taichung.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvin-Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea C, Deputy Manager at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Alvin-Journey,
Thank you for choosing CityInn Hotel Taichung and taking the time to write this review.
We are delighted that you find our hotel clean, modern and value for money.
Staff would be delighted to know that you find them good service and always ready to assist.
Thank you again and hope to serve you in the near future.
Best regards,
Tea Chen
Deputy Manager
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

It is a very chic and clean hotel. We stayed on 24 to 26 Nov in the triple room for 2 adults and 2 kids. The bathroom comes with bath tub and separate shower stall, which is quite impressive for a budget hotel and best of all, do not need to stand inside the tub to shower.

We have a separate study area in the room and is just nice to for opening up our largest luggage. I like the room lights switches a lot. Breakfast is decent too except that the variety is quite limited, but it’s probably just me. It should be consider quite fanciful for the budget price we are paying.

Hotel common area is NICE. I love the feel of it, just sitting there feels very relaxing. The laundry room at the same level is also world class. Spacious, 4 washers/dryers, and even steam iron.
Staff are also polite and helpful. Just have a bit of patience if they are busy with other customers, it’s the same everywhere. They gave good advices on nearby eateries. We went to忠孝路夜市 which is just 10mins walk from hotel and it has some very nice yummy food.

Overall this hotel is nice and I will highly recommend if staying in Taichung.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliffapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea C, Deputy Manager at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear cliffapple,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this lovely comment.
We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.
Regarding the breakfast variety is limited, we will discuss with our chef to see if anything can be improve with the same budget.
We are delighted that you like the setting of our triple room, common area and the laundry room.
There is another night market not too far away called chung hua night market other than chung shaio night market with lots of nice tasty food which you could check out for your next stay.
Our staff would be delighted to know that you find them polite and helpful and they thank you for been so understanding about how it can get very busy sometimes.

We will keep our service quality and do our best to get better.
Hope to serve you in the near future.
Tea Chen
Deputy Manager
CityInn Hotel Plus Taichung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed two nights in this hotel. As akin to the previous Cityinn Hotel Taipei Branch 1(separate review on this), the booking via their website was smooth. The staff called up personally within 2 hours after I submitted my booking to double check and called again days before my check-in.

Location was great! Located 3 minutes away from Taichung Railway Station (Rear Exit). Walk a couple of steps and turn left upon exiting the rear exit. You should see a bright orange wall a few shops down. We followed the directions given by the hotel and it was wrong. Seriously?? Who would have thought that the directions given by the hotel (via email) would be wrong??
Quoted from their email : 從台中車站至新驛旅店-台中車站店: 經往20號倉庫經由地下道路走至後站出口右側步行約3分抵達。Ignore Stock 20 aka 20號倉庫 and the silly right turn(右側). The bus stop at the front of Taichung Railway Station was a stepping stone to all the places that we visited. Yizhong Street, Fengjia Night Market and Carton King.

Bad start. Yes. It was after 12pm when we reached and despite having four staff behind the counter, none bother to acknowledge our presence. One was on the phone, another checking in another couple in front of us, and the other two was facing the computer. Well...this was a total difference from Cityinn Taipei Branch 1, where the staff greeted us with a genuine smile and welcomed us. So we made ourselves known and the basic admin work was completed and we had to leave our luggage at the lobby as the official check-in time was 3pm. And then we were left on our own again. None of the staff bothered to help us tie our luggage together and we had to ask if we just leave our luggage together with the rest of the tied and labelled luggages from other guests. And then one of the staff scrambled to help us. Phew. Another bad start. Well, I give them the benefit of doubt. Benchmark was lowered and they do deliver good service after that.

Room, though small and cramped, was sufficient with all the necessities. There's only just enough room outside the bathroom for us to place our luggage. Breakfast is buffet-styled and tasted quite good with an average variety. Be sure to have breakfast early to avoid crowds.

In all, a good and modern hotel. I would definitely consider staying with them again but perhaps would pay for a bigger room the next time round.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloversze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin P, Manager at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Cloversze,

Thank you for choosing CityInn Hotel Taichung and taking the time to write this review.
As you pointed out, we are conveniently located in the heart of Taichung City, approximately 3 minutes by foot from the train station, serviced also by city and shuttle buses connecting major cities.
We are deeply sorry the reception did not attend to you in a timely manner. While our staff are well-trained to respond swiftly to customer needs, we do occasionally encounter peak traffic where the wait may be slightly longer than average. We have also stepped up our training to ensure that such incidents do not reoccur.
Should you have further advice on how we may better our service, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Thank you once again for your patronage and we look forward to serving you in the near future.

Warm regards,
Kevin Peng
Manager
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just returned from my short stay in Taichung, Cityinn plus. We booked a cityinn standard room and it was really small. Cannot open the luggages fully in the small space we have. But since we only stay for two nights, it was pretty ok. The room, though small, was cosy and we had good night sleep. I like the idea of having modern switches for different lighting in the room. I am not used to having total darkness in a foreign room so having the control for "sleeping light" is comforting. We also like the idea that we can use the washing machines and dryers provided for free, they have 4 sets so we did not have "congestion" problem. It is a short bus ride to Yizhong street but need to take a cab to Fengjia NM. Taking bus to Fengjia will take quite a while. Overall, it was a good stay =)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea C, Deputy Manager at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear lovetto,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this lovely review. We are delighted that even though you find the room you stayed in small but you still find the room cozy and had a great night sleep. However we still suggest you to book a bigger room with just a slight more budget next time for an even more comfortable stay.

Thank you once again. We hope Taichung has left a good impression on you, and we certainly look forward to welcoming back soon!

Best regards,
Tea Chen
Deputy Manager
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We originally booked the cheapest room and had requested for a room with window as many reviewers had suggested. We then got an upgrade upon check in to the #13 room of the floor, which is the only room of the floor with no window except in the bathroom. But since it's a bigger room with a bigger bed, it's totally fine with us.

We did enjoy the free in-room video-on-demand even though I think no major blockbuster is available. But the movies were quite updated. We watched Hunger Games and Mirror Mirror.

Considered its location being right next to the 台鐵台中站 (Taiwan Railway), we took the 台鐵 after we arrived in Taichung by 高鐵 (High Speed Rail). However, the Taiwan Railway train was delayed for 30 mins and it was so crowded when it arrived that we were willing to pay a triple of the cost to have taken a taxi instead. It was a waste of time and not really necessary.

Room Tip: On the 8th floor, we saw that from the fire escape plan on the back of the room door that room 813 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea C, Deputy Manager at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear SKW66,
Thank you for choosing CityInn Hotel Taichung and taking the time to write this review. We are glad that you are happy with the room upgraded and enjoyed the in-room video-on-demand system during your stay.
We do strongly suggest our guests to take taxi from high speed railway station to our hotel than take train, as taxi fee in Taichung are not expensive at all and with out the hassle of walking and carrying language in between.
Thank you again and hope to serve you in the near future.
Wish you the very best,
Tea Chen
Deputy Manager
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
1.3 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taichung Zhongkang
4.2 mi away
Kun Hotel
Kun Hotel
#8 of 279 in Taichung
1,404 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Vida Hotel
La Vida Hotel
#7 of 279 in Taichung
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park
0.8 mi away
RedDot hotel
RedDot hotel
#9 of 279 in Taichung
548 reviews
4 mi away
Maison de Chine Hotel Taichung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch

Address: No.133 Section 4, Fuxing Road, East District, Taichung 401, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 279 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range: $52 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience hospitality reinvented with Cityinn Hotel Plus, a newcomer to Taichung with all the requisite bells and whistles. Located in the Eastern district, a burgeoning arts and cultural hub with a rich sense of history and place; the artistically inclined will feel right at home with Stock 20 and the Taichung Creative Park, right at our door step. Or cut loose among the cake stores and night-markets, reputably the island's best, located just minutes away. Those travelling from afar will find comfort in our proximity to Taichung station, that provides easy train/bus linkage to high-speed rail and major cities. Enjoy a red carpet welcome replete with all the creature comforts, connectivity, and convenience that will cater to your every predilection. Whether you are here for business, for friends, or simply to getaway, we've got a slice of Taichung for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing