We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always been here every month” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Splendor Hotel Taichung

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Splendor Hotel Taichung
Ranked #30 of 262 Hotels in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
Calamba, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Always been here every month”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

When you visit Taichung, Taiwan. There are couple of hotels at the the heart of the city, there are expensive ones, and there are value for the money.

The Splendor Hotel is one of my favorite Value for the Money.

Always booked on this hotel every month, or at least twice a month for 10 months now. I love the place, and the people are very warm and accomodating. Most of the people here speaks english. Morning breakfast buffet is what I enjoyed much! there are lots of options to choose from. Korean, to Japanese, to Western and European breakfast, Asian meal is also available. There are three Starbucks coffe shops nearby the hotel, there is a big mall across the street (Sogo Hotel, and what I love most are the Steak Restaurant Shops.

Room Tip: The rooms between 19th floor and 21st floor are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    145
    40
    3
    7
See reviews for
82
39
24
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed for four nights in April. Overall, the hotel is in a great location, right in the center of actions. My room was on the 22nd floor, which was pretty decent, with good mountain views. The hotel is clean, well kept throughout, from room, fitness center, to restaurant. The ground floor has a small lobby. The real hotel lobby is on the 12th floor, which is somewhat unusual, but I have stayed in such hotels before, all are more upscaled, e.g., Conrad in Tokyo. The 12th floor lobby is wide open. When I was there, there were very few guests in and out. The restaurants and bars are mostly empty. I had a beer at the bar and the price was quite reasonable. Three of us shared a 750ml bottle of Taiwanese beer for $7, with peanuts.

The room was very new and modern, very clean, with a big screen HDTV. The hotel provides everything you need from combs, toothbrushes and toothpaste, big bottles of shampoos, conditioners, lotion, etc. Wired and wireless internet access was fast. The breakfast buffet at the 12th floor is one of the best that I have ever had. It has too many to choose from Western, Taiwanese, and Chinese, including an area that served Taiwanese style noodle soup and freshly boiled leafy greens. The same restaurant also served dinner buffet, which was also one of the best with high quality sashimi, roast beef, steak, crabs, many different seafood and meat selections, plus a great collections of vegetables, greens. Beer and drinks are included. The service is fast and efficient. As soon as you were done, the dirty plates and cups were taken away. The price is quite reasonable. For one lunch, we tried out the Chinese restaurant on the 15th floor, on the same floor as the fitness center. To our surprise, dim sum is also on the menu. We tried some chinese dishes and some dim sum. Overall, the food is very authentic and of good quality. And the best part is, the price is very reasonable, comparable to many smaller places that we tried outside the hotel.

Overall, the stay is a very good one. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor, facing south or the main street. You will be amazed by the view on a clear day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TCDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in Taichung. Although the location is good but I will not choose this hotel again for my next visit to Taichung. The service & food are just average as a five star hotel, you can tell from the details like deco, food ingredients and the products. Basically, five star rate with four star quality!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Splendor hotel in Taichung have 2 wings , one is specially for business travelers , quite economical according to Taiwan inflation . Located in hart of city opposite to SOGO departmental store , Near by surrounded with a lot of Indian for international cousins.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
812 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Before making a reservation with the Splendor Garden Restaurant at the hotel I decided to check out the place and ended up discussing the menu for three with the chef that afternoon.The Peking Duck menu ended up being superb and the service attentive and charming. The bill ended up very reasonable after receiving a discount for being an attractive person.Where do you get treated this way these days?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T-Bird1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Went here for a corporate function and it was distinctly average. The food was rather disappointing and overall a bit tasteless. The hotel was generally very well kept however, and very clean.

Staff seemed to be quite efficient and not overly friendly for an upper class hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilomc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is very centrally placed in Taichung. It is easy to get to from the HSR as there is a courtesy bus. I did not use this as had a taxi booked from Taipei airport. This was organised through the hotel. It was not that cheap, about £85, but it was about a 1-2 hour drive.

The hotel is a little odd in that the reception is on 15th floor, but do not let that put you off. The reception area is not particularly notable. The members of staff are very friendly, helpful and speak good English. They were very good at helping you find places, and would recommend places to you if you asked.

I was lucky in that my room was on the 23rd floor. This was the top floor of the hotel, and the view over Taichung was wonderful, particularly at night. My room was large and included a lounge area. The bathroom was well appointed and large too. I found that the room was very comfortable. The air conditioning worked well. I did not get any noise from adjoining rooms.
One thing that I was pleased about was that the items in the bathroom were fully replenished every day. Too often I have been in hotels where you have to make it blatantly obvious to the staff you need more items.

The hotel is well located near the centre of Taichung, and is directly opposite the SOGO department store. Getting around the city from the hotel was easy. The door staff would get you a taxi, or help you find the nearest bus stop. The work colleagues I was with were adventurous too and we braved using buses as well as taxis. One thing you need to know is that outside the hotel, English is rarely heard or spoken. Don’t let that dissuade you from going out and trying the local restaurants. It’s rather Russian roulette as ordering from a totally Chinese menu (food and writing) can get you good food.

The breakfast was really rather good. There was a choice of western, Chinese and Taiwanese food. It is mainly a buffet, but there was an area where food was cooked to order too. The head chef was often out talking to residents. I cannot say what an evening meal was like as we always ate out. This is no reflection upon the hotel, just we wanted to sample as much as we could.

Whilst we were staying, the restaurant was in a temporary position on the 11th floor. This was not a problem at all.
The hotel is very good to stay in, but I cannot say that it was really that special. If I were to be back in Taichung, I would be very happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 23rd floor. The view of the city is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Quiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.4 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#27 of 262 in Taichung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tempus Hotel Taichung
Tempus Hotel Taichung
#33 of 262 in Taichung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel One Taichung
Hotel One Taichung
#5 of 262 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Taichung
Millennium Hotel Taichung
#10 of 262 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taichung Zhongkang
2.4 mi away
Maison de Chine Hotel Taichung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Splendor Hotel Taichung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Splendor Hotel Taichung

Property: The Splendor Hotel Taichung
Address: No.1049 Jianxing Road, West District, Taichung 403, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taichung
#5 Business Hotel in Taichung
#6 Family Hotel in Taichung
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Splendor Hotel Taichung 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendor Hotel—Taichung is located in the hub of Taichung’s most prosperous commercial district. No matter where you come from, please allow us to provide you with our excellent services to help you enjoy your stay in Taichung, a city filled with creativity and cultural attractions!With 222 refined and comfortable guest rooms, 3 international gourmet restaurants, a coffee shop, a cigar bar, a multistoried large banquet hall, an eastern club that cost tens of millions of dollars to build and an outdoor, temperature-controlled sky pool, the Splendor provides you with the carefree comfort of being at home as well as all kinds of fine services to create an unforgettably happy living and dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA and Travelocity so you can book your The Splendor Hotel Taichung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendor Hotel Taichung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing