We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 10th stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Splendor Hotel Taichung
Ranked #49 of 279 Hotels in Taichung
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Rooms and bathrooms are big. all between 15 th and 22nd floor. prices are very reasonable. I like gym, spa and outdoor pool on 15 th floor especially after a long hot day in Taichung. On the first five floors of the building a trendy shopping center has been opened with lots of restaurants! Free WiFi!! in this hotel. breakfast used to be better. I missed free OJ and fresh yoghurt. Anyway would go there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeroen111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 363 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is excellent.. nice rooms.. courteous & friendly staffs. Excellent service, good food. Excellent location.. the hotel has bicycles free if you wanna go for a ride. Overall a recommended hotel in taichung..

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElmoY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is an ideal hotel for a visiting North American. The Euro Breakfast Buffet is really a US or Canadian buffet. It is often included with the room and is a wonderful way to get your day started. Just get your own orange juice because theirs is Honeydew. If you want familiar in the morning then you can venture to local cuisine for the other meals. There is, however, Chinese and Japanese food there as well in the buffet.
The rooms are impeccable and modern, the service is like nothing you get in North America - they will always be there to help. The location is kitty-corner to Sogo, a major Dept. store and there is a small but enjoyable mall next door.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to a king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edmon2nian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Best feature of this hotel is the room, large comfortable and quiet. Bell staff good. Our request for late checkout was greeted with the receptionists sour face and begrudgingly we were given one hour! As our flight was late evening I think they could have been a bit more accommodating. Restaurant food mediocre in variety and quality. Only good feature of breakfast was a wandering chef who spoke to everyone in English recommending various foods. They should promote him.
If you book tours through the hotel, be careful. We booked a tour and paid extra for an English speaking guide and he proceeded to describe everything in Mandarin! Rip-off!
Location good. Science Museum and Botanical Gardens worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is quite and calm Studio Apartments type Hotel. Room on 17th Floor are new and well design in comparison to 24th and 26th Floor. Good View from Rooms, There is no wifi but cable internet is available. Business Center is good and Free Internet available. Three lifts are less waiting time for Lifts is more. Breakfast is OK. You have to ask for Indian Om-late. Staff is courteous.

Room Tip: Select 17th Floor Pool Side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkwalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

For some reason, we got upgrade from a normal room to a suite (which was a surprise!)

The check-in staff were polite and helpful in giving us the direction to the room. The staff at the entrance gave good suggestion when we asked where we could buy the "sun cake" as souvenir.

The room is very spacious. It is clean and tidy. The bed was huge and comfy.

The stay includes breakfast. It got a variety of food serves in buffet style. However, the waiters / waitresses looked like student interns and they were not very skillful in their service.

The location of the hotel was not very close to the town centre. It takes about 15 minutes to walk to 經國綠園道. The only big shop near is SOGO (Japanese department store).

At the time we went there, there were construction / renovation taking place in the building. It was okay in the room (not nosiy at all). However, it was a bit messy when you walked out the building coz even the main entrance of the hotel building was hard to find. There wasn't a proper place for the taxi to stop.

Hopefully the construction / renovation will end soon. It seems that there will be new floors for shopping within the hotel building which will then be convenient to those who stay here.

By the way, remember to check out the promotion packages at it sometimes comes with good value. For example, this time we chose the package which includes the one-way taxi fare to the night market at 逢甲夜市.

Room Tip: Check out the package promotion (e.g. including a free taxi to the night market)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel is situated in the centre of town about a 10 minute taxi ride from Taichung railway station, and 20 minutes by taxi from the HSR station. I stayed in the Splendor Inn which is part of the main hotel, but accessed by a different entrance. The rooms are surprisingly large, and are well equipped, although the fixtures and fittings were looking a little tired. The bathroom was slightly small compared to the size of the main room. The rooms and bed linen were clean, and the beds were comfortable. The staff in the hotel were very polite and helpful, and deserve full marks. One evening I tried the global A buffet on the 12th floor. It is a set price, 'eat all you can' buffet, and I must say that I was very impressed by the quality and the quantity of the food available. I would definitely recommend this.

Now the less good things. Wifi is not available in the rooms, it is only available in the foyer of the main hotel. However, a cable LAN is available in the room. This is slightly disappointing as this hotel is supposed to to cater for business travellers. Secondly, there was very unpleasant smell in the atrium of the upper floors. It was a peculiar mixture of sewage, tobacco smoke, and paint. Perhaps there was ongoing maintenance work, but I found it unacceptable. The rooms themselves did not have the same odour, it seemed to be concentrated in the public access area of the hotel on the upper floors. Thirdly, the A/C unit in my room was noisy. There was an irritating start up rattle which sounded like the alarm on my mobile phone, so my sleep was disturbed.

Overall it is quite a good hotel, and I would stay here again; but I would like the hotel management to do something about the smell.

Room Tip: Unpleasant smell in some parts of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.5 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#29 of 279 in Taichung
385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tempus Hotel Taichung
Tempus Hotel Taichung
#40 of 279 in Taichung
296 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Taichung
Millennium Hotel Taichung
#14 of 279 in Taichung
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Maison de Chine Hotel Taichung
0.7 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taichung Zhongkang
2.9 mi away
Howard Prince Hotel Taichung
Howard Prince Hotel Taichung
#57 of 279 in Taichung
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Splendor Hotel Taichung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Splendor Hotel Taichung

Address: No.1049 Jianxing Road, West District, Taichung 403, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taichung
#5 Business Hotel in Taichung
#6 Family Hotel in Taichung
#9 Luxury Hotel in Taichung
Price Range: $103 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Splendor Hotel Taichung 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendor Hotel—Taichung is located in the hub of Taichung’s most prosperous commercial district. No matter where you come from, please allow us to provide you with our excellent services to help you enjoy your stay in Taichung, a city filled with creativity and cultural attractions!With 222 refined and comfortable guest rooms, 4 international gourmet restaurants, a coffee shop, a cigar bar, a multistoried large banquet hall, an eastern club that cost tens of millions of dollars to build and an outdoor, temperature-controlled sky pool, the Splendor provides you with the carefree comfort of being at home as well as all kinds of fine services to create an unforgettably happy living and dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Splendor Hotel Taichung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendor Hotel Taichung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing