We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Stars Hotel, Five Stars Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Prince Hotel Taichung
Ranked #44 of 262 Hotels in Taichung
Singapore
Level Contributor
144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Five Stars Hotel, Five Stars Standards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Location is perfect with all the tourist must-have amenities nearby. The supermarket and starbucks a stone's throw away are perfect and very convenient. The rooms are well furnished with everything you need and spacious. Furniture are a little worn, but within acceptable standards. The mineral water in the room is free-flow and the hotel was polite and efficient when I asked fo more mineral water to be sent to my room in the middle of the night.
The traffic around the hotel is light, so it is pretty quiet at night.

There is a reasonable selection for breakfast, and this hotel is not crowded like most others in Taiwan where you have to fight for tables and food, and most notable queue for coffee. Here, the waiters will allocate a table for you and there are plenty more to go around. There are sufficient coffee machines to serve all guests without the need to queue more than a minute. Cars cannot enter the lobby here, so no worries about tour buses crowding the entrance in the morning. I service and comfort I received in this hotel was definitely more than what I have paid for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    55
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
17
6
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Howard Prince in general is a decent hotel, but it is marred by some glaring issues:

1) the location is a bit in the middle of nowhere. There is a convenient Starbucks and Family Mart (As well as McDonald's), but otherwise decent restaurants and cafes are far away in town.
2) the bathroom, while large, seems a bit old and moldy. My bathtub had problems draining,
3) Everything is a bit old-fashioned, from the lobby to the hallways. Even the lounge seems more like a relic of the 80s.

Otherwise the room is very large and decently comfortable, and the staff are professional and nice. The breakfast also deserves mention since the selection is very large (and they have quite delicious Meiji ice cream!). But the hotel needs some sprucing up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Werckmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I really like this hotel as there is all the things I need to work, workout, and chill out. There is a very extensive gym layout and certainly great!

Good morning spread with a lot of food from western to Chinese.

Good clean and big room, very excellent place to stay.

I will continue with my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benetay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel and rooms are in very good condition and service is quite good. But probably the real reason to stay here is the location for transit - it's close to the high speed rail station and one of the closer hotels to the airport. Otherwise the immediate area is a bit desolate for an urban location in Taiwan and it can be a long wait for a taxi to an area with more restaurants, etc. (seems not enough taxis in Taichung) though free parking is provided. There is a playground next door. The hotel website doesn't mention, but there's also a decent outdoor pool.

Quite pleased when front desk offered to provide a 'boxed breakfast' for our early departure (though wasn't anything too appealing ultimately).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YonHither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohmar, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was quite happy with his hotel

I have given this place 4 stars but some people will say it was over the top

I gave 4 stars because

Reception friendly and very efficient
Rooms very large and well equipped with a good internet connection, a good TV and a really good bed. What really impressed me was while the hotel is old, the carpets, furnishings and decor is really in good condition. Moreover it is very clean

The bathroom was a bit old but again works perfectly and clean.

Breakfast was more Taiwanese than european which was the only fault I could find.

Price was also fine

I would return willingly to this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The Howard is a reasonable place to stay in Taichung, quite close to the science park for business travelers. The place has a little bit of a dark feeling and the decor is a little outdated. But all is clean and well maintained.

The breakfast buffet is not good and I can't comment on the restaurant. The rates are good for a western style hotel in Taichung.

The hotel is very convenient for the THSR station, less than 15 minutes by taxi. Should cost about 10$US.
Like all Taiwan hotels the taxi drivers don't seem to know the English name for the hotel so take a print out of the name or practice calling it the Fu Hua.

This is a very reasonable place to stay, but if you can afford a little more then try the Windsor Hotel next door. That place is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlantheRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The location of the hotel is a bit distant but still convenient, about 10mins taxi to High speed rail station. There are convenience store nearby. The hotel staff are very nice. However, the hotel is a bit old. The room size is good, but the sofa, the quilt and other facilities in the room are a bit worn out. The breakfast place is a bit small so at peak hour there is a long queue. Breakfast options are average. Nothing exciting. There is free spa and gym, but we didn't have a chance to use it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursulaliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
2.5 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#30 of 262 in Taichung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maison de Chine Hotel Taichung
3.7 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taichung Zhongkang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tempus Hotel Taichung
Tempus Hotel Taichung
#34 of 262 in Taichung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel Taichung
Windsor Hotel Taichung
#26 of 262 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fushin Hotel Taichung
Fushin Hotel Taichung
#42 of 262 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Prince Hotel Taichung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Prince Hotel Taichung

Property: Howard Prince Hotel Taichung
Address: No.129 Anhe Road, Xitun District, Taichung 407, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Taichung
#13 Business Hotel in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Prince Hotel Taichung 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This business hotel is located just 35 minutes from the Taichung Airport and is seven minutes from HSR Taichung Station (High Speed Rail). The high-tech hotel features 168 elegant and spacious guest rooms that are stylish and well appointed. Modern telecommunication equipment within each room means guests have easy access to anywhere in the world at all times. The hotel’s fine restaurants offer consummate dining for the most discerning of traveler. The Mirage, Le Chateau, Yangtze River and Ocean Reef restaurants serve up the finest in French, international, Shanghainese and Cantonese cuisine. Reservations at Howard Prince Hotel are simple via our secure online booking form. Just enter your desired dates and submit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Prince Hotel Taichung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taichung Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel Taichung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing