We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will think thrice in staying again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eiffel Tower Hostel
Ranked #40 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Taichung
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Booked a night's stay in Jan 2013. Had a little trouble identifying the hostel as there were no signages, It was a private apartment with no intercom system at the entrance and the gate was passcode locked. I had to call whom I assumed was the reception to open the gate.

Was given the first room on the first floor, right next to the washing machines and water station. I wasn't asked to produce any form of identification or reservation confirmation and there was no formal check-in procedure. The guy who let me in only told me the price for the room and to pay in cash.

The room was small but it did not bother me. Had a terrible shock though when I first entered the toilet. The WC was choked with someone else's waste. Previous tenant did not flush, nor did the care taker of the hostel. This made me wonder if the room was even cleaned and if the bed sheets were changed. Door of the toilet was just a curtain and there was no where to hang your clothes. Walls of the room were thin, I could hear loud footsteps everytime someone walks past or if someone was using the washing machines. I was glad that a notice was placed near the machines stating to be considerate and use the machines tilll 10pm.

Wifi signal was zero in the room and poor along the corridor. Overall, I felt ripped off for the price I had to pay for such standard. I stayed in much better hostels at much cheaper rates. The only plus point about this hostel is the location. It is within walking distance to the Feng Jia Night Market. For me to stay there again, the rate I have to pay would have to drop by at least half.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank roundest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 45 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

It might be named a hostel more it's more a smallish hotel. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. They have a washing machine on the rooftop you could make use of and the views from the rooftop was spectacular.

It was a very short walk to the main street where all the food stalls were as well as to Fengjia night market. If you are inclined to explore the area, you'll find some nice eateries selling freshly cooked yummy breakfast where the laundry shops are. That's where you bring your clothes to dry after washing them. It's also a short 5min walk away. The receptionist will point the way out to you if you ask.

Although there is no receptionist at night, you'll feel really secure as you need a passcode to get into the hotel. Wifi reception was good too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank icepeachtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed in Eiffel Tower Hostel (New Building) on the 28th Nov 2012. About 5 minutes walking distance to FengJia night market. It is a queit place and safe to stay. Room is very clean, got hair dryer, wi-fi is excellent, only NT900 for one double room. Family room with 2 double beds cost NT1350. Can view the rooms through their web site. To me, no difference between Eiffel Tower Hostel and a hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SooYinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

With the price we paid for, the place is clean, safe & value for money. Feng Jia night market is within 10 minutes walking distance. The place has washing machine & dryer for you to do your own laundry and it provides hot & cold drinking water, tea, coffee & free wifi access too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jennysll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MilkB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Scheng05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: 除了双人房,它有3人房,4人家庭房。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phineyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.5 mi away
ICASA Hotel By Cosmos Creation
0.5 mi away
La Vida Hotel
La Vida Hotel
#7 of 288 in Taichung
1,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taichung Fengjia Green Hotel
Taichung Fengjia Green Hotel
#12 of 288 in Taichung
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Maison de Chine Hotel Taichung
0.1 mi away
KUN HOTEL
KUN HOTEL
#8 of 288 in Taichung
1,525 reviews
4 mi away
Kiwi Express Hotel - Zhanqian Branch II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eiffel Tower Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eiffel Tower Hostel

Address: No.35 Fuxing North First Street, Xitun District, Taichung 407, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Taichung
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Eiffel Tower Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing