We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sun Hot Spring Resort
Ranked #91 of 273 Hotels in Taichung
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was the first time we visited Taichung with kids. We heard good experience of hot spring in Taiwan from our friends, so look forward to trying it ourselves. The Sun Hot Spring is 30-40mins away from down town. Located in middle of hill, quiet and away from the crowd. We booked a family room for 4 persons. Good check in experience and warmly welcomed. The room was good in size, with private hot spring and tub for cold water bath in balcony. Nice green view outside, good for get away.

The public hot spring was also nice. With jacuzzi, fish pool. The only thing is they require everyone to wear a swimming hat to enter. But we were not being told and prepared. Ended up we bought swimming hats at kiosk (at 50 Taiwan dollar, reasonable).

Dinner was average. Service at restaurant reception was poor. Not many choices.

Overall, good experience and great value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank April_RRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 128 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

It's a great place to stay, the staffs are very friendly, informative and helpful.

We had a very good experience, as we checked-in at a very late evening, we were informed there was a free dinner included in the package, although the kitchen was closed, but they still prepared a very nice and traditional Taiwanese dinner for us.

The room is also excellent, very spacious, nice decor plus a private Jacuzzi in the room.

Their rate is reasonable, so I will definitely recommended to my friends if they travel Taichung.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve_hph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

the hotel is just 5 yr-old... so all things are so new... we are in the deluxe family room... which is a hugh one... hugh living room area... hugh washroom with separated tub and toilet... having a semi-open hot spring bath... so u can enjoy the hot spring in ur room... u will be assigned to a designated housekeeper upon check-in... so all the service are very personal... their bed is big and good... just the pillow is a bit hard for me... we are on the 6th floor (top floor) with great view... there is a public spa bath area... swimsuits are required... i booked directly from the hotel as there are always special offers... we've got 30% off... so it is TWD 8,400 for 4 ppl with set dinner and buffet breakfast... their food is good but yet to improve their quality and selection is limited...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ccherman1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 小雪 顏
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorischuang1213, 業者 at The Sun Hot Spring Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Puki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorischuang1213, 業者 at The Sun Hot Spring Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank 依婷許
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorischuang1213, 業者 at The Sun Hot Spring Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorischuang1213, 業者 at The Sun Hot Spring Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
10.6 mi away
Freshfields Resort & Conference
6.9 mi away
Millennium Hotel Taichung
Millennium Hotel Taichung
#12 of 273 in Taichung
877 reviews
4.8 mi away
Maison de Chine Hotel Taichung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Windsor Hotel Taichung
Windsor Hotel Taichung
#28 of 273 in Taichung
255 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tempus Hotel Taichung
Tempus Hotel Taichung
#41 of 273 in Taichung
292 reviews
6.4 mi away
La Vida Hotel
La Vida Hotel
#4 of 273 in Taichung
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Hot Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Hot Spring Resort

Address: No.78 Guangxi Ln., Sec. 2, Dongshan Road, Taichung 406, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 273 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range: $114 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sun Hot Spring Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Sun Hot Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing