We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Excellent Service”
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #29 of 263 Hotels in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Location and Excellent Service”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A few minutes walk from the train station and coach terminals. Very convenient. New decor, clean and tidy, very comfortable overall. One downside is that at one of the rooms that we stayed the wind from the air-conditioning blowed straight to our head during sleep. No more such problem after moving to another room. The computers at the business centre are unstable, suddenly stopped several times. Most impressive is the good service sense of counter staff. For those whom we came across, they're all very patient and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamfamilyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
達欣商務精品飯店, 主任 at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear lamfamilyhk

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this comment. We do deeply apologize for both of things, we will definitely improve our facilities that as you pointed out.
Most important, we are appreciate your good comments to the staff's service and it is really support them to become better at what them do. Hope the Plaza Hotel Experience could make the good memories in your Taichung trip.
Thanks to your good comments again and it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. We look forward to welcoming you anytime to Plaza Hotel and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    117
    23
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
34
68
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Location: Plaza Hotel in situated in the main downtown area of Taichung City. It is just a stone throw away from Taichung TRA Station and the bus terminal. Night markets are very near to the hotel as well.

Room: Our room was of a decent size. Everything worked well in the hotel and free wireless internet is provided.

Meals: Our room package came with buffet breakfast and it was a very decent breakfast after all.
There are MANY eateries around the hotel and one does not need to walk to far at all.

Laundry: Self washing facilities are available in the basement

Transportation: Just right beside Taichung TRA station, and bus terminal. You can travel to many locations from here as the base.

Overall: I just stayed a night here, and I am starting to fall in love with Taichung. I will definitely come back again when time permits.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silentscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
達欣商務精品飯店, 客房部主任Angel Lu at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Silentscope,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this review.

We highly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you like our facilities and breakfast.Hope the Plaza Hotel Experience could make the good memories in your Taichung trip.

Thanks to your good comments again and it is really support us to become better at what we do.
We look forward to welcoming you anytime to Plaza Hotel and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

When we came down from Cingjing to Taichung, we were quite disappointed because the streets looked really empty as compared to Taipei. When we reached Plaza hotel, all negative feelings were gone! The place looks not so new but the rooms were one of the best! Yummy breakfast was also provided at the restaurant at level 2! Great place and it's conveniently next to the train station (not the MRT) and the kuokwang bus terminal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank almightydubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
達欣商務精品飯店, 客房部主任Angel Lu at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear almightydubu,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this comment. We are delighted that you like our room and really appreciate your feedback.

We hope you will re-visit Plaza Hotel again, and look forward to seeing you and your family soon.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here in end January. This hotel is conveniently located next to Taichung Train Station, just a stone's throw away. Facing Jianguo Road, turn right when you exit the station and you should spot the hotel. Barely 5 minutes walk away. :)

I booked myself into the exquisite suite and the room that I've got has no windows. I have already been informed when I made the booking. So do take note to read the description when you are making your booking. Room is generally clean and adequately furnished. THe hotel provides free wifi too. Downside - there is no safe in the room and I find the pillows a bit flat for my personal liking.

Staff at the reception was friendly and helpful. The hotel rate includes breakfast, which I find is generally ok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msiainsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
達欣商務精品飯店, 客房部主任Angel Lu at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear msiainsg
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this precious review. We are really happy that our exquisite suite were not disappointed you even it is without window.

As you pointed out there is no a safe deposit box in the room and the pillows are a little bit flat, We do deeply apologize for both of things, It is our mistake that we should have mentioned it while you check in. We provide a safe in the lobby and more pillows, you can ask for it from our staff anytime.
Most important, we are appreciate your good comments to the staff's service and it is really support them to become better at what them do.

We hope you will re-visit Taichung again, and look forward to welcoming you back to Plaza Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I booked the standard single room quite early so I got about 30% discount.
Location : Great Great Great location! locating just next to taichung railway station. It's easy to find and I can just get on a bus to go anywhere.
Size : may be a bit small but was organized well enough so you still have some space
Cleanness : The room is quite clean but you can see that it's old. The rug is discolored in some area , probably due to the humidity.
Service : The staff at both check-in counter and the restaurant was very nice and willing to help you with you trip.
Facility : the room is provided with TV (only chinese channels), fridge, hairdryer, the free wifi is not bad
I think it's worth the price I paid. The only complain I have is that the wall is quite thin. I can hear people talking or sneezing in the room next to mine.

Room Tip: The breakfast period is 7.00 - 10.00. You shouldn't get there too early. It will be very crowded...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Yui912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
達欣商務精品飯店, 客房部主任Angel Lu at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Yui,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this review.

We are highly appreciate your feedback and delighted that even though you find the room you stayed in small but you still find the room adequate.
Most important, we are appreciate your good comments to the staff's service and it is really support them to become better at what them do.

Thanks to your good comments again and it is really support us to become better at what we do.
We look forward to welcoming you anytime to Plaza Hotel and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was there in Mid-Dec for 3 nights and I've booked Deluxe Suite with 2 single bed in room. Suite room in this hotel is only a hotel room with private bathroom and toilet. It's clean and tidy, but the room size is a bit small. However, it is value for just HK$6xx per night with breakfast.

It's next to Taichung Train Station where you can catch a bus to anywhere you want within 5 min walk. Very convenient location.

The staff in reception as well as those in restaurant are so friendly and nice. They are very patient and giving us direction on how to catch bus to get to the scenic spots.

The breakfast was just so so. We had it anyway because it's already included in the room rate paid.

Room Tip: They have rooms without windows at lower room rate. Make sure you booked the room that you wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
達欣商務精品飯店, 客房部主任Angel Lu at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Janetteng

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this precious review.

We are deeply sorry that our breakfast was not good enough for you, we will definitely improve our breakfast and provide more fresh and tasty breakfast for all the guests.

We are happy that we could offer the city information to help your tour, and we appreciate your comments and I will share it to our team and it is really support us to become better at what we do.
We look forward to welcoming you anytime to Plaza Hotel and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Plaza Hotel Taichung has one of the cleanest rooms amongst the hotels I stayed during my trip to Taiwan. I love the modern and practical light controls in the room. The toilet was spacious with minimalist design - white and bright. I had enough space to place my toiletries and enjoyed nice showers in the bathroom. Breakfast was decent too with a variety of porridge, side dishes and also western fare. At about SGD40 per person per night, it was really value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mskmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
達欣商務精品飯店, 客房部主任Angel Lu at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear mskmouse

Thank you for writing this very positive review, we truly appreciate your comments and we are very happy that you like our breakfast、room design and the facilities we offered.

We will keep our service quality and do our best to get better.
Hope to serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.1 mi away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch
0.1 mi away
53 Hotel
53 Hotel
#13 of 263 in Taichung
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chance Hotel
Chance Hotel
#38 of 263 in Taichung
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park City Hotel-Central Taichung
0.3 mi away
Kiwi Express Hotel – Chenggong Rd
1.1 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taichung Zhongkang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Property: Plaza Hotel
Address: No.180 Jianguo Road, Central District, Taichung 400, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 263 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing