We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room with breakfast”
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #35 of 279 Hotels in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I booked the standard single room quite early so I got about 30% discount.
Location : Great Great Great location! locating just next to taichung railway station. It's easy to find and I can just get on a bus to go anywhere.
Size : may be a bit small but was organized well enough so you still have some space
Cleanness : The room is quite clean but you can see that it's old. The rug is discolored in some area , probably due to the humidity.
Service : The staff at both check-in counter and the restaurant was very nice and willing to help you with you trip.
Facility : the room is provided with TV (only chinese channels), fridge, hairdryer, the free wifi is not bad
I think it's worth the price I paid. The only complain I have is that the wall is quite thin. I can hear people talking or sneezing in the room next to mine.

Room Tip: The breakfast period is 7.00 - 10.00. You shouldn't get there too early. It will be very crowded...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank Yui912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
達欣商務精品飯店, 客房部主任Angel Lu at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Yui,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this review.

We are highly appreciate your feedback and delighted that even though you find the room you stayed in small but you still find the room adequate.
Most important, we are appreciate your good comments to the staff's service and it is really support them to become better at what them do.

Thanks to your good comments again and it is really support us to become better at what we do.
We look forward to welcoming you anytime to Plaza Hotel and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 223 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was there in Mid-Dec for 3 nights and I've booked Deluxe Suite with 2 single bed in room. Suite room in this hotel is only a hotel room with private bathroom and toilet. It's clean and tidy, but the room size is a bit small. However, it is value for just HK$6xx per night with breakfast.

It's next to Taichung Train Station where you can catch a bus to anywhere you want within 5 min walk. Very convenient location.

The staff in reception as well as those in restaurant are so friendly and nice. They are very patient and giving us direction on how to catch bus to get to the scenic spots.

The breakfast was just so so. We had it anyway because it's already included in the room rate paid.

Room Tip: They have rooms without windows at lower room rate. Make sure you booked the room that you wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janetteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
達欣商務精品飯店, 客房部主任Angel Lu at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Janetteng

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this precious review.

We are deeply sorry that our breakfast was not good enough for you, we will definitely improve our breakfast and provide more fresh and tasty breakfast for all the guests.

We are happy that we could offer the city information to help your tour, and we appreciate your comments and I will share it to our team and it is really support us to become better at what we do.
We look forward to welcoming you anytime to Plaza Hotel and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Plaza Hotel Taichung has one of the cleanest rooms amongst the hotels I stayed during my trip to Taiwan. I love the modern and practical light controls in the room. The toilet was spacious with minimalist design - white and bright. I had enough space to place my toiletries and enjoyed nice showers in the bathroom. Breakfast was decent too with a variety of porridge, side dishes and also western fare. At about SGD40 per person per night, it was really value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mskmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
達欣商務精品飯店, 客房部主任Angel Lu at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear mskmouse

Thank you for writing this very positive review, we truly appreciate your comments and we are very happy that you like our breakfast、room design and the facilities we offered.

We will keep our service quality and do our best to get better.
Hope to serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Had a very pleasant stay at Plaza hotel , Taichung for one night.
Counter staffs were friendly and professional, rooms were big, spacious, clean. Beds were comfortable.

Breakfast was decent , simple, Chinese fare.
Location was great as it is situated beside the train station, good if you will be taking early morning train rides to somewhere else.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeraWan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
達欣商務精品飯店, 客房部主任Angel Lu at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear VeraWan

Thank you for writing this very positive review, we truly appreciate your comments and we are delighted that you like our room and breakfast.

Most important, we are so happy that your good comments to the staff's service and it is really support them to become better at what them do.

We will keep our service quality and do our best to get better.
Hope to serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Checked in around afternoon after travelling down from Ching Jing. Counter staff are friendly to give directions and guidance on places to visit. Was overwhelming when I first opened the door of my room, it was so beautiful, spacious, clean (including the bathroom). However, I cannot accept a room without a window. Our room was without a window, travelling with 3 other friends, I just make do with it since we are just staying for a night. Due to it's location, transport to anywhere is almost as easy with Taichung Railway Station just beside and a small bus interchange infront. Travelling time to the Earthquake museum is about 50mins by public bus. 7mins rail ride to Taichung HSR station, 15mins bus ride to Feng Jia Ye Shi. Breakfast is served on the 2nd level, small area but variety of food is ok, decent.

Room Tip: Do remember to request for a room with window if you mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shun821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
達欣商務精品飯店, 客房部主任Angel Lu at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Shun,

Thank you for writing this very positive review, we truly appreciate your comments and we are delighted that you like our room.

We are deeply sorry for the room that you booked is no window as all of our prestige room are no window. If you don’t mind you can choose the room with window and we can arrange it next to each other.

We will keep our service quality and do our best to get better.
Hope to serve you and your friends in the near future.

Sincerely yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My room was facing the train station/bus terminal near the main road. The window was thin and we can hear all sorts of noise that affected our sleep including sound of a women moaning loudly was audible from my room. I have no idea if it came from the level above or below us or next to us and we didn't bother investigating anyways.
We tried to catch some sleep as we had sightseeing to do, and so we had to rely on our trusty ear plugs.
Apart from that, I only have praises for this small but adequate hotel which has fantastic location but quite far away from the famed fengjia night market which will cost NTD 250 each time you wish to travel to and fro the night market.

Very helpful front desk staff who gave us alot of useful information that helped us commute alot easier in Taichung.

The complimentary breakfast was simple fare but decent and so no complaints about it.
I will recommend this hotel to anyone who wish to visit taichung.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatgirl_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
達欣商務精品飯店, 客房部主任Angel Lu at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Fatgirl

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this precious review.

We do deeply apologize for the noise that affected your sleep and as you point out we are very near the main road , we have installed the airtight window already at each room .We suggest you that you can inform us while making a reservation ,you would like to have a high level room and don’t want to face the main road.

We hope you will re-visit Taichung again, and look forward to welcoming you back to Plaza Hotel.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I was on a business trip. Selected Plaza hotel on basis of reviews and location. Was not disappointed. Nice ,clean and modern rooms with very cooperating front desk staff specially females which seem to know English better. They helped me in selecting rooms,finding places,bus routes etc. Specially Angel and her partner were very helpful.I stayed in two different rooms,one with window and one without. The one with window has a beautiful view of train station. Breakfast is tailored towards Taiwanese people more but for me it was OK.
Booked two city tours as well,one to lugang temples,one to sun moon lake. There is Mod Mall nearby hotel as well with Careffore in basement and Viewshaw Cinema in upper floor. The movies are in English with Taiwanese subtitles so no problem in seeing movies. Two night markets are nearby as well, but best of all is FengChia which is at least 10-15Km from Hotel
Being near to train station with bus stations nearby was a blessing. Once you understand bus routes you can explore nearby easily(Fine Arts Gallery, Science Museum, Sogo Shopping Mall etc to name a few). You just buy a yo-yo card from nearby 7-11 store with 100NT balance. Upto 8 Km travelling in buses is free after that amount is deducted from yo-yo card.Their is an electronics market nearby as well worth exploring.Many shops sell travelling bags etc with competition between them so bought a trolley bag as well at very good price.
Overall had a great trip.

Room Tip: Although 200NT expensive and on weekends 450NT but window rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ammad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
達欣商務精品飯店, 客房部主任Angel Lu at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Ammad

Thank you for writing this very positive review, we truly appreciate your comments and we are delighted that you like our room and breakfast.

Most important, we are so happy that your good comments to the staff's service especially Angel and it is really support them to become better at what them do.

We will keep our service quality and do our best to get better.
Hope to serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.1 mi away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch
0.1 mi away
53 Hotel
53 Hotel
#21 of 279 in Taichung
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
SSBHotel-Shin Sei Bashi
SSBHotel-Shin Sei Bashi
#25 of 279 in Taichung
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park City Hotel-Central Taichung
0.4 mi away
Kiwi Express Hotel – Chenggong Rd
0.0 mi away
Chance Hotel
Chance Hotel
#39 of 279 in Taichung
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: No.180 Jianguo Road, Central District, Taichung 400, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 279 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range: $43 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing